We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a warm welcome”
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
Ranked #524 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Patrice! That is the name you need to know in Marrakech. We loved the location and the price of this charming riad, but what really makes it is the owner, Patrice, who shows you the ropes of the city, and takes you around on a perfect tour to get you oriented from the first second you arrive. The riad itself is perfect, with an enchanting roof garden perfect for the gazing around in every direction, and seeing the wonderful city. Plus, it's right in the medina. It feels like a home away from home, and Patrice is really like family.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Kerry ! Patrice blushed by reading your friendly review ! Thank you so much for having described your stay in Marrakesh, and we wish to see you again in the following months, and since we're family, Patrice wants to tell you that he's coming to visit you soon - for one or 2 months inch'allah ! Kind regards from dar Tiflet's team, Marc, Patrice and Rachid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar Tiflet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 270 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

We say in that riad with a couple and two single persons for one week dec/jan 2013. We have a lot of funf in the sun, but not in the shadow. The riad was very nice in the center od medina / marrakech. It is a save area, our girls are not realy afraid to walk alone through the city.

Patrice become to a friend in that time. He and the other people who help him, support us all over the days much more we expect. Not only in the house he was our guide.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelSusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We choose Dar Tiflet because of the great reviews and it certainly lived up to expectations.

We spent a few days in Casablanca before getting the train to Marrakesh. We'd booked a pick up from the station but our plans had changed but it was no problem for Patrice. When we arrived, we had a lovely air conditioned car to take us to the edge of the Medina where Patrice was waiting to pick us up. We check in (we booked a cheaper room but as it was free, Patrice gave us the en suite room for the first few days) and Patrice gave us all the information we needed to get around, he then very kindly gave us a tour and told us of the good places to eat (beware of places that haven't been recommended). The next day, he took us out again which was great as we discovered places that we just wouldn't have found on our own. If you don't know where your going it can be very easy to get lost. So stay at Dar Tiflet or get a good recommendation for a guide.

Dar Tiflet itself is very nice, the rooms are traditional and comfortable the roof top terrace is big and inviting. The breakfasts are really good to get you started for the day. All in all, Dar Tiflet and Patrice really made our trip. We will definitely be going back and recommend that anyone stay.

Room Tip: The yellow room is lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you're looking for a base from which to explore Marrakech at a reasonable price and with the most helpful of landlords then you would be hard pressed to find anywhere better than the Riad Dar Tiflet. The rooms are individually decorated in traditional Moroccan style and, although basic compared to European hotel standards, are perfectly adequate. The rooftop terraces are a wonderful place to partake of breakfast and to relax in the evening after tackling the souks.Patrice and Marc will do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasure and are a font of useful local information. We would recommend trips to the Jardin Majorelle and it's Berber Museum as well as the Ensemble Artisanal for hassle free shopping for all the handicrafts available locally.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meldruas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hello there ! Thank you so much for writing this helpful review and giving your tips for the next travellers ! You came in the "low season" and as we said to each other, you're right,; in this case, the official handcrafts' shop (ensemble artisanal) is a comfortable solution for easy and comfortable shopping, if you're strtessed by the souks ! I remember you found treasures there ! And we give the restaurant you recommended us close to Jardin Majorelle to our new guests, it seems to be a very good adress ! Thanks for all and for you open minded way of discovering Marrakech, hope to welcome you back ! Very kind regards from Dar Tiflet's team, Patrice, Marc, Rachid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were told by another couple this riad was decent, so we thought we would try our luck (the current one we had wasn't good). We arrived at the riad without a booking, hoping there would be a free room, but unfortunatly it was full! The people running the place kindly let us use the internet and a map to try find somewhere else to stay. My tip, book in advance, there is a reason why it was full!!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nadie688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The best thing about staying in Riad Dar Tiflet is having Patrice on hand to help you get oriented in Marrakech. Staying in the medina can be a little daunting at first but is definitely worth it and Patrice made a huge effort to look after us (collecting us from the taxi, taking us to our restaurant on the first night and taking us on a tour of the medina in the morning).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thanks to Patrice and Marc, our wonderful hosts, my husband, myself and our 10 month old baby could not have wished for a better experience in the medina of Marrakech. Their kindness, attention to detail, and friendly assistance, which included a walking tour of the medina, were second to none. Marrakech is an amazing city, and this riad is the perfect place from which to visit - really close to the main square, but quiet and secluded. Safe, peaceful, with a beautiful roof terrace, their rooms are lovely, cool and a welcome refuge from the heat and bustle of the city! Can't recommend them highly enough. Really hope we can come back and see you soon guys! x

Room Tip: We had the red room as its the largest and we needed room for a cot. The yellow room was next door a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 502 in Marrakech
1,267 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#239 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#203 of 502 in Marrakech
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#76 of 1,160 in Marrakech
305 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#447 of 502 in Marrakech
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $33 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing