We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An authentic haven set close to the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
Ranked #318 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An authentic haven set close to the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you're looking for a base from which to explore Marrakech at a reasonable price and with the most helpful of landlords then you would be hard pressed to find anywhere better than the Riad Dar Tiflet. The rooms are individually decorated in traditional Moroccan style and, although basic compared to European hotel standards, are perfectly adequate. The rooftop terraces are a wonderful place to partake of breakfast and to relax in the evening after tackling the souks.Patrice and Marc will do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasure and are a font of useful local information. We would recommend trips to the Jardin Majorelle and it's Berber Museum as well as the Ensemble Artisanal for hassle free shopping for all the handicrafts available locally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meldruas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello there ! Thank you so much for writing this helpful review and giving your tips for the next travellers ! You came in the "low season" and as we said to each other, you're right,; in this case, the official handcrafts' shop (ensemble artisanal) is a comfortable solution for easy and comfortable shopping, if you're strtessed by the souks ! I remember you found treasures there ! And we give the restaurant you recommended us close to Jardin Majorelle to our new guests, it seems to be a very good adress ! Thanks for all and for you open minded way of discovering Marrakech, hope to welcome you back ! Very kind regards from Dar Tiflet's team, Patrice, Marc, Rachid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
101
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were told by another couple this riad was decent, so we thought we would try our luck (the current one we had wasn't good). We arrived at the riad without a booking, hoping there would be a free room, but unfortunatly it was full! The people running the place kindly let us use the internet and a map to try find somewhere else to stay. My tip, book in advance, there is a reason why it was full!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nadie688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The best thing about staying in Riad Dar Tiflet is having Patrice on hand to help you get oriented in Marrakech. Staying in the medina can be a little daunting at first but is definitely worth it and Patrice made a huge effort to look after us (collecting us from the taxi, taking us to our restaurant on the first night and taking us on a tour of the medina in the morning).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thanks to Patrice and Marc, our wonderful hosts, my husband, myself and our 10 month old baby could not have wished for a better experience in the medina of Marrakech. Their kindness, attention to detail, and friendly assistance, which included a walking tour of the medina, were second to none. Marrakech is an amazing city, and this riad is the perfect place from which to visit - really close to the main square, but quiet and secluded. Safe, peaceful, with a beautiful roof terrace, their rooms are lovely, cool and a welcome refuge from the heat and bustle of the city! Can't recommend them highly enough. Really hope we can come back and see you soon guys! x

Room Tip: We had the red room as its the largest and we needed room for a cot. The yellow room was next door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hosts, Patrice and Marc, are what make Riad Dar Tiflet such an amazing place to stay. Upon arrival we were met by Patrice and taken to the riad and once settled he took us on a tour of the Medina and provided the most detailed directions of how to make our way around the area without getting lost-fantastic! The riad is conveniently located very close to the main square, jama el fina. The rooms we stayed in were nicely decorated and clean and breakfast on the roof terrace was just lovely. Marc and Patrice recommended all the best sights and restaurants and even helped us organise our day trip to Ourika falls. Thank you gentlemen for making our Christmas in Marrakech so special!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RifathS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Dar Tiflet over Christmas for 5 nights.

Patrice and Marc were absolute gems, we've never had such friendly hosts!
Thanks to their directions we never once got lost within the medina, they helped us plan day trips and recommended wonderful restaurants. As two females on our first visit to Morocco we had been a little apprehensive but thanks to all Patrice and Marcs help we felt safe and streetsmart.

The riad itself is very stylish and comfortable, we stayed in the blue and then the yellow room both of which are lovely. Breakfast on the terrace every morning was delicious. Its in a brilliant location, about five minutes from the main square and five minutes in the opposite direction to the Medersa and museum of Marrakech.

In summary, SUPERB!
Thank you Marc and Patrice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseG710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've never had a better hotel! If this trip advisor would let me I'd ray dar tiflet 6 stars!
Marc the hotel keeper offered us a free 3 hour tour that brings out the best of the city that is never put in guide books or arranged tours. Breakfast is delicious, and the building is beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abchesworthrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#7 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#145 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#93 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Property: Riad Dar Tiflet
Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing