We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
Save
You added Riad Dar Tiflet to your Saves list
Ranked #299 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best service I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've never had a better hotel! If this trip advisor would let me I'd ray dar tiflet 6 stars!
Marc the hotel keeper offered us a free 3 hour tour that brings out the best of the city that is never put in guide books or arranged tours. Breakfast is delicious, and the building is beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abchesworthrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
101
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Patrice and Marc were so welcoming and friendly! They really make this Riad stand out from the rest. Patrice takes time to go through the area, and is on hand at all times to answer any questions. He will even take you around the souks if you want. They got us our bus tickets to go to Essouira (Fantastic place), took us to a restaurant on our first night when we arrived late, to a pharmacy when my husband got ill, and even bought a bottle of gin for us at the supermarket! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The rooftop is a lovely place to relax. We had a wonderful time at dar Tiflet, and used it as our base to come back to whilst visiting other places in Morocco. Can not recommend enough, we will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the Red Room in Dar Tiflet. The first thing I noted was how well-located the riad is – just 5 minutes or so from the main square, but tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac enabling you to get away from the hustle and bustle. Our host, Patrice, went out of his way to welcome us to Marrakech and gave us two guided tours, pointing out useful landmarks to help us make our way back to the riad without getting lost! He also advised us on where to eat, what to see, what to avoid and on tipping etiquette, and was happy to answer all of our questions. It was great to stay in a converted riad and the room was very clean and comfortable. There was also a terrace which had views over the city, sun loungers and a shaded area (as well as a collection of cats!). Breakfast was included on the first morning and Patrice gave us the option of earl grey or local tea. I would highly recommend Dar Tiflet as a friendly, inexpensive, quiet and comfortable place to stay in the centre of Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello Robert E, thank you so much for having taking time to write a wonderful review about us, and thank you for writing all these details..including the cats ! Here we live with birds on terraces, or cats, rarely both at the same time indeed... we chose the less noisy finally ! It seems that you had memorable holidays including your trip to South Atlas, we are very happy that our guests discover Morocco for it's best, as we did a decade ago. Have a wonderful time back in London, see you maybe later for another exploration of our country. Kind regards from all DarTiflet'team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Dar Tiflet for 4 nights in September. Marc met us at the post office in Place D'Jeema el Fna and it was a short walk to the riad. We were fresh off the night train from Tangier and in need of reviving. Marc brought us tea on the terrace and allowed us to use the showers whilst our room was being prepared.

Marc took us for a tour on 2 occasions with nuggets of facts and recommendations to point out how to get to the places we wanted to visit. .I was surprised at the peacefulness of Dar Tiflet considering its proximity to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It was a welcome oasis from the hectic streets. Another useful bonus was being able to use the kitchen,so eating in was an option.

Dar Tiflet represents fantastic value for money in the heart of the medina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello Charlotte, thank you for this fantastic review and especially for Marc, who, like a lot of French people, is always anxious to speak english with Brits ! We are really proud to read that the tours with him were helpful. Dar Tiflet received recently a lot of guests from Bristol, we wonder why (are you frequent travellers around there ?) so we think about developing the links with the brilliant city from Massive Attack and Tricky ! Have a very nice time back in Europe, Kind regards from DarTiflet's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Superb budget accommodation. Clean rooms, very helpful owners Marc and Patrice. Great location, but a little hard to find, even with a map! If you are looking for a cheap alternative in Marrakech, you can’t go wrong with this place. Thank you for being so hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hello Gemma ! Thank you so much for your friendly review written so quickly after your stay in Dar Tiflet ! You're right, at the arrival we always recommend to organize a meeting each other to reach the Riad together, it's easier to remember the referent points after.
Hope you enjoy a lot your travel in Morocco. Very kind regards from DarTiflet'team, Marc, Rachid, Patrice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Riad Dar Tiflet is amazing! We took a long time looking for a riad in marrakech which was in a good location and within our price range and we found exactly that with Dar Tiflet. This place far exceeded our expectations.
We stayed in the Red Room (bathroom inside) and it was perfect. Air conditioning was much appreciated after a hot day walking around and as the week progressed, it wasn't needed as much as the walls became "fresher" and cooler.
When we arrived in Marrakech we were greeted from the taxi by Patrice and given mint tea and biscuits which we were so grateful for after a long day of travelling. After resting up and unpacking, Patrice took us out on an amazing tour of the souks, introducing us to all of his friends in the Place des Epices and the local hammam. This first tour was invaluable to our trip because it really gave us a good grasp of the area.
Patrice gave us another tour of the north to find the Musée de Marrakech, Maison de la Photographie and Ben Youssef. We then walked back through the souks with him where he took us to the fabric dyers and helped haggle our first purchase.
The next day Patrice personally drove us out to the countryside to visit a small hotel with a swimming pool. After this he then picked us up and drove us to The Palmeraie for a camel trek. This day was one of the best days of our holiday and we wouldn't have had it if it weren't for Patrice. He is truly amazing. We could not believe the amount of effort and trouble he was going to for us and is an outstanding host. He helped us everyday with directions on the map he provided us with, giving us recommendations for the places to eat and visit and even organising our day trip to Essaouira.
On top of all this the breakfasts were amazing, Patrice even got us 'prickly pears' (Figue de Barbarie) when we said we had never tried them.
The riad itself is great as well. We spent many hot afternoons sunbathing on the roof terrace or just relaxing in the breakfast area reading and enjoying the company of Beldi the cat.
Thank you Dar Tiflet for making this a holiday we shall never forget. Do yourselves a favour and stay here for a perfect holiday in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hello Ellie and Co! Thank you so much for this very complete and awesome review...and the cats of the terrace are so happy to become famous on internet now !! We were lucky to have enough time all together for visiting some places - I was very curious to see camels of the Palmeraie again, and the pictures there are very funny ! A long stay of 9 days like you had allow us to have a great moments, you are lucky to be students with huge holidays in September ! Take care and have a wonderful time back at the University. Kind regards, from Patrice and DarTiflet Team, Marc and Rachid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We chose this riad carefully after reading through many tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Dar Tiflet is a little gem of a place, made really special by the hospitality of its lovely owners, Marc and Patrice. They made our visit to Marrakesh comfortable and fun, and helped acquaint us with the medina, even taking us on a 2-hour walking tour through the souqs (at no extra charge). The wifi and in-house laptops were also really appreciated, as were the laundry machine and the kitchen where we could cook a meal and enjoy an evening at home (a rarity while travelling!). Thanks to them also for helping us find a bottle of wine for my birthday!

We really appreciated the cleanliness, calm, and comfort of Dar Tiflet -- and most of all, the dedication of Marc and Patrice to making their guests' stay as pleasant as possible. We hope to visit you again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms: Bigarree, Yellow, and Red. While all rooms have private bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you, GuiAnna, for your wonderful review ! It took some time for me to understand who you were, I'm very sorry, "guianna" reminded me French Guyana and I could'nt realise it was our brilliant Africa-tour travellers ! So I know you're safe now somewhere South of Mauritania, and hope your next stop in Togo will be as good as expected. Thank you as well for the details about the 3 rooms you had during your several stays in Marrakech ! We wish you the best for your continental Big Journey, we hope to welcome you back ! Kind regards from Patrice - Marc - and Rachid !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Wiam
Riad El Wiam
#164 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#8 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
#16 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#15 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Property: Riad Dar Tiflet
Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing