We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you love life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
Save
You added Riad Dar Tiflet to your Saves list
14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay here if you love life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Dar Tiflet was an absolutely amazing place to stay! Great central location in the medina, about 5-10 mins from all the great stuff around, and in a really interesting part of the city. Really cool rooms with great bathroom and air conditioning, along with free wifi, shared laptops and a beauty of a terrace...all with great authentic Moroccan interior. And if this doesn't convince you, you need to know about Patrice and Marc: THEY ARE THE MOST AMAZING HOSTS!! Showed us around when we were dazed and confused by the city, treated us with real kindness, and helped us do things in Morocco that we had never thought were possible - truly great people. STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Ha ha ! Thank you Matt-L for your lovely-life review ! Our future guests may ask us more and more after reading you, hope we can cope with this ! We just try to solve any question you may have as travellers, like we were before deciding to live here totally. I was very glad to have time to go with you and friends in the South and be back for your taxi booked at the worst moment (day of the end of Ramadan) ! Good job of everyone indeed ! Have a nice year in Winchester and see U next year for a new trip ! Best regards - Patrice and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you are one of the lucky travellers who has stumbled upon this gem on the internet, and you are questioning whether the shear amount of excellent reviews can be possible, DO NOT QUESTION IT, EVERY CLAIM ON THIS PAGE IS TRUE. I can vouch for that. Thank you Marc and Patrice for a truly unbeatable place to rest. Do not hesitate to book your stay and you will not regret. Honest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Honestly, dear SamP, I'm afraid the readers will think we paid you for that review! We were very proud to receive British people during the opening of Olympic Games in London, you made the best choice since you could see finally the opening on live..and the pray of Ramadan in la Koutoubia at the same time ! We will remember your stay and friendship for a very long time. Kind regards from DarTiflet team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

In all my travelling I have never stayed anywhere this special. Nothing is too big or small for Marc and Patrice, and they really do have your best interests at heart. We travelled around Morocco in a rented car and they sorted out the rental for us, as well as checking in every now and then to make sure we were well and safe and meeting us to both pick up and drop off the car. I cannot speak highly of them enough - I really think Dar tiflet is a special place and to stay somewhere else would be an error. By staying at Dar Tiflet you have invaluable support in Morocco, which I found made our trip more successful than it would have been without them.
They were so helpful that when we worried about our luggage weight restrictions they brought around a set of scales so we could make sure we were within our limits. I don't know what I would have done without them. The reviews don't lie! Thank you Marc and Patrice (from the cougar xxx)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasminspooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hello dear yasminspooner, we blushed reading this amazing review! Thank you so much for all the moments we spend together, and your last minutes on the weight scales with half of the souqs as "souvenirs" was such an exciting theater stage ! We also will remember for a very long time your love for cats and kitties, it's hard to save them all you know... Have a wonderful time back in your country, see you soon inch'allah.. Greetings from DarTiflet Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at Dar Thyca but also toured Dar Tiflet during my time in Marrakech; both properties are comfortable, clean, safe and charming. Dar Tiflet has more authentic Moroccan character (many beautiful tiles); Dar Thyca is larger and a little more deluxe. Either way you will be happy with your accommodation. Patrice and Marc could not be friendlier. A taxi was arranged to pick me up at the airport, and when I arrived at Dar Thyca, Marc's tour of the medina was incredibly useful -- tips like "turn right at the tree" and "walk toward the iron roof" ensured that I could find my way around with confidence. Both riads are located in the heart of the medina, just a few streets from Jemaa el-Fna.

I speak some French (very bad French; sorry, Marc and Patrice!) but English was also fine with my hosts. I was a solo traveler and had privacy whenever I wanted, but also felt that someone was looking out for me. Each day, breakfast was fresh and delicious, and if Marc was not showing me some new part of the city, he was drawing maps for me so that I would never be lost. If not for his help, I might easily have found Marrakech overwhelming; thanks to him, I had a wonderful time in a vibrant, lively city. I would stay at Dar Thyca (or Dar Tiflet) again, and hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in May 2012. Could not have asked for more. 5 min walk from place Jamal el fnaa. Lovely, abundant homecooked breakfast served on roof terrace. Big room with private bathroom (we stayed in the red room), nicely furnished and decorated. Very hard beds, though. The riad is really charming and quiet, hidden at the end of a tiny pedestrian street (derb). Very reasonably priced too!!!

Mark and Patrice are adorable hosts who go out their way to help and - time permitting - will literaly show you around to make sure you do not get lost in the Medina. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (eg: rainbow) are fresher in the summer (but noisier if riad is full).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although we haven't stayed anywhere else in Marrakech, next time we come we'll stay at Riad Dar Tiflet again! :D

It is a calm oasis in the busy medina - and the combination of those two made our trip to Marrakech unforgetable!

That, and our wonderful host Patrice who really made us feel like at home or like visiting an old friend. He took us to the souks, teached us how to bargin, showed us many crafts, told us where to eat and drink, offered to make hammam reservations for us.

The riad itself is more than beautiful: we listened to some oriental music, had breakfast on the roof-tarace. There are some books and maps you can borrow, board games you can play, movies to watch if you like.

Our room (the Red room) was big enough, bathroom was great. Everything is very clean and decorated with much care.

Marrakech has really been something special for us, and we will be comming back again to it and to Riad Dar Tifflet!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank vedrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We remember you ! Especially I (Patrice), it was a great pleasure to take time with you and see you becoming independant and accustomed to the moroccan way of life in 1 or 2 days ! You are great travellers, you even found the riad on your own (well, after 1 hour stress and with the help of a young hustler) and explored our excentric city with a lot of curiosity and kindness towards its people. I wait for you and next time I hope you'll discover Atlas mountains and deserts ! Best regards ! Dar Tiflet Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messina, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you ever go to Marrakesh, I implore you please please stay at Riad dar Tiflet. You will definately not be dissapointed. Not only was the Riad very well priced, the services of Patrice as your own professional guide, friend and host make this Riad simply a must for travellers. As a group of one male and 3 young females from Australia, we were very unprepared and unfamiliar with the differences of a large, bustling muslim city. Patrice (who is French yet speaks perfect fluent English) made us feel so comfortable and relaxed from the moment he collected us. He took the afternoon to show us around the city and reccommended us some of the places we should/shouldn't visit. Without his help we would have been completely overwhelmed by the city. On a separate day I expressed interest at visiting some of the museums of the city without the others, and Patrice again gave up his time to personally escort me to the attractions.

We had already made plans to visit Essaouira and the Sahara and so our stay at Dar tiflet consisted of a few intermittent days scattered across 2 weeks. Patrice was more than obliging in allowing us to do this, and allowing us to keep our larger bags at the Riad while we travelled around the country. He seemed genuinely interested is our plans and experiences, and gave us valuable advice for not only marrakesh but all others destinations around Morocco.

The Riad itself was stunningly authentic, with ensuite bathrooms and air conditioning. The breakfast was delicious on the large upstairs terrace which offered both shaded areas and sunbaking lounges. Patrice and his associate live around 100 metres away, so most likely you will have the riad to yourself, to enjoy its free wifi and cooking fascilities if you wish. Its location is fantastic and very easy to locate, although Patrice will personally give you a map and foolproof directions in case you ever get lost.

Riad Dar Tiflet for us was so much more than a great priced room at a fantastic location - it was a real travel experience thanks to the genuine warmth, friendship and hospitality of Patrice, where nothing was to much to ask. None of us have ever encountered such a fantastic host. Thankyou so much Patrice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesTravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello dear Aussies ! thanks a lot for writing so quickly such a friendly and complete review ! We were much impressed to receive guests from 16000km away, and impressed to see such open-minded travelers like you. That helped much to give you some advice for the rest of your moroccan trip, and we travelled a lot through your experience. We are happy to see that you survived properly now in Sicilia, please write us about your European tour, I'm sure that will be an awesome trip. Take car, dear "downunder" guests, and stay exactly as you are ! All the best from darTiflet team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#51 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing