We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful, friendly, relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon Oriental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Pavillon Oriental
Ranked #377 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lots of good comments on Tripadvisor made us (me and 5 friends) go and we were not disappointed. You feel at home right away and they really care. Getting there is, like most Riads, a bit difficult (from your taxi dropoff its a 5-10 min walk) except late at night when cabs can use the Rue Riad Zitoun Lakdim (its closed for cars during the day). La place is a 15 min walk.
Inside the Riad a heaven of tranquillity, rooms beautiful, the rooftop terrace spectacular.
Anytime again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    13
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The location of the riad is in the back-streets: we were picked up at the airport by a taxi, which we had the riad arrange, this delivered us to the square at the end of Rue Riad Zitoun el Kdim; where upon one's suitcases were placed into a barrow and trundled off up Zitoun el Kdim. This is a narrow market street (too small for the taxi) full of bustle with scooters beeping their way along the cobbles, which when we arrived in the evening has not yet been swept by the cleaners (the next morning it was spotless). Our porter skampers off up the rue, then turned right down a short alley, finally right, back down the adjacent alley (don't worry about the cats - they are very placid and quiet). After a total journey of less than about 5 minutes we arrived at a large wooden door with impressive brass rivets, the bell ringing. One will become familiar with this: the front door is always locked and one has to ring the bell to gain access: great security, and their rapid response means we were never kept waiting.

Our other summarised thoughts about the riad are:

- The room was quiet, private and peaceful, with plenty of plugs, but note that the locations can be a little curious!
- The terrace was large, private and comfortable with plenty of large parasols, sun-loungers and sun-hats and a tented area that was a good sun or wind-break. A higher terrace has a fine view over the roof-tops of the city, with the snow-capped Atlas mountains in the distance.
- A pleasant, fresh, but plain breakfast.
- A family-run riad, who were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with lots of advice on where to go and what to see, and how to get back to the riad!
- Useful advice on the local costs such as taxis and some items from the souk, which helped assure one of one's haggling skills!
- A lovely calm retreat from the hustle and bustle of the vibrant souks and city.
- The wifi was very effective: we used it successfully on my Samsung Galaxy SII with Skype to call home from all around the riad (though we didn't try it on the terrace).
- Their advice that the pool would be chilly in early March was spot on: very bracing!
- Note that Google Maps is generally not good in Marrakech: perhaps due to the myriad of little alleyways, some of which have street names, but many are not marked on Google. Nor was the GPS on my Samsung Galaxy SII, but the location of the riad on Google Maps is accurate, as of writing this review.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet, with some on the ground floor, others upstairs above (there is no lift).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
294 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I chose this Riyad based on the excellent reviews that I read on Trip Advisor! I experienced the same extraodinary charm, warm hospitality from Kawthar and her family. Nothing was ever too much for her, her parents from the moment I arrived to the moment I checked out five days later. When I commented about a couple of things missing from my room (a box of Kleenex and a shaving mirror), they appeared in my room that same afternoon. The breakfast with fresh home local bread accompanied by a jug of fresh orange juice and ofcourse all other breakfast items is a treat that one cannot find in luxury hotels.....I used the lounge for breakfast as well as watching the TV (which had a fire place with a fire) instead of the space on the open air terrace as both mornings and evenings especially were cool. The location in the middle of the Madina is a leisurely walk from the Place Jemaa El Fna and La Koutoubia; the building is a typical moroccan stone family home which is built around a courtyard with a pool in the middle ideal for the warm months of the summer and rooms beautifully decorated in the local style! Highly recommended if you wish to experience the local culture, experience an outstanding hospitality and be away from the big impersonal five star hotels

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year. Kawthar, her family and staff couldn't have made it a more enjoyable experience. Particular highlights were -
Pleasing and peaceful ambiance, perfect location in the heart of the old town
Thoughtful and thorough briefing on the delights of Marrakech
Dinner on our arrival, and on our return from another long day in the Atlas Mountains
Home cooked breakfasts on the roof terrace
Help and advice in booking trips and visits
Hamman and treatment using the Riad's facilities

We have no reservations in recommending this family run Riad to other prospective travellers to Marrakech

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very comfortable. Next time we'll aim for something overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nacoleborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place, fantastic location. Hosts address your every need with outmost care. Couldn't expect more ;) Very quiet and intimate, yet a few minutes walk to Medina. Would highly recommend for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarangForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The oriental team has redefined the meaning of hospitality. Would recommend anybody staying here. Rooms are very nice, roof terrace is great, pool is refreshing. The service is top. Road is 7 minutes away from main square in small alley. Feels cosy and save.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnknownAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful riad for a week and were made to feel welcome and at home. The owners were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for us, giving advice on where to go, which restaurants to visit, how much to tip taxi drivers etc. I was poorly for the last couple of days and they were so kind, I really felt as if I was being looked after by my family. It was lovely to come back to the peace and calm of the riad, after the madness of Marrakech. It was pretty hot while we were there, so we did sight seeing stuff in the mornings and spent the afternoons relaxing by the pool, and sunbathing on the terrace once the real heat of the sun had gone. The airconditioned rooms were a god-send. We had a meal there one evening and it was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. My husband had a hammam and massage and loved it. I wasn't well at the time so missed out :(. I highly recommend staying at Le Pavillon Oriental and wouldn't hesitate to go back, if ever we make a return trip to Marrakech.

Room Tip: If I were to go again, I"d try for a room on the first floor rather than the ground floor. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexthesec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#131 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Olema & Spa
Riad Olema & Spa
#109 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Oriental

Property: Le Pavillon Oriental
Address: 54, derb Jdid, Riad Zitoun Kadim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxury Riad Le Pavillon Oriental is a great Riad with swimming pool. Le Pavillon Oriental of Marrakech is ideally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech, in a real neighbourhood near Jamaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Le Pavillon Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing