We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must.”

4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is a full day outside the chaos of Marrakech to discover Moroccan and Berber culture. After a 9am pickup from your hotel we head up towards the mighty Atlas Mountains taking scenery roads. First stop is the local weekly farmers market, described as a colorful and lively experience where besides the usual fruits, veggies and meat stalls you also have the hairdresser, dentist, chiropractor. If you fancy a camel ride we can stop at a trusted place where after the ride we share a mint tea under a Berber tent. Then in the next valley we visit the women organ oil cooperative to discover how this special nut from Morocco is processed. The cooperative also provide living wages for single women.Then we carry on driving on various mountains roads,stopping whenever you want and having the chance to distribute school furniture or small items of clothing to local children. Lunchtime is spent at a Berber family house for an organic lunch often voted as the best one from the holidays .
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having read the very positive reviews, we sought to enquire further on what the trip entailed by contacting direct through TripAdvisor. Adil replied within half an hour of us emailing, and described the trip well, detailing what the day trip would consist of. We're extremely happy to have chosen this trip, rather than those you can book through the holiday reps.

We were picked up by Yahya at 9am on the dot, who drove us out of Marrakech and stopped off at a market in a small town. This was a real eye opener, and showed us a traditional market, which is a contrast to those you see in the medina in Marrakech.

Next we travelled up into the High Atlas Mountains. Yahya was extremely knowledgable, and told us everything we needed to know, ranging from information on Berber culture, music, geography and much more. We stopped on the way, taking pictures and having a small walk up the mountain itself.

The Argan Oil co-operative was excellent - we had a tour from a very knowledgable guide, who showed us the way the different types of Argan Oil products were produced, as well as allowing us to try samples (both cosmetic and edible!).

We then travelled over to the 2nd mountain. One thing I would suggest to bring on the trip is a bag of sweets and/or pens and pencils for the children in the villages - Adil mentioned this in his email to us, and it's a nice touch.

The camel ride was great! We were taken on a twenty minute ride on 'Aisha' and 'Shakira', whilst having the opportunity for pictures to be taken, a great experience and one that provides many photos for when you get home.

The meal with the Beber family topped the trip off. We sat on an open terrace in the middle of an absolutely stunning landscape, eating the freshest food you could imagine. Having mentioned that me and my partner are vegetarians, Adil and Yahya organised a vegetable tagine to be prepared by the family, which tasted better than anything we tried in the Jemaa El Fna. By the end of the meal, we were very well fed, the meal included a delicious starter and the main course (tagine) was followed by fresh watermelon and mint tea. After this, we had a relaxing drive back into Marrakech, with a small sleep on the way.

We can only thank Yahya and Adil for being such gracious hosts and for providing us with the highlight of our holiday. I can highly recommend this trip to anybody that is travelling to Marrakech. This trip will take you away from the hectic centre of Marrakech, and show you a completely different side to an already beautiful country.

2  Thank caidavies37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adil M, Owner at 4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to write such a detailed and comprehensive review. Not much to add from . I hope this will inspire fellow travellers, and we hope to see you on another visit . Best regards from 4x4 Camel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"berber market"
in 179 reviews
"argan oil cooperative"
in 99 reviews
"local children"
in 53 reviews
"berber children"
in 39 reviews
"atlas mountains"
in 368 reviews
"school supplies"
in 26 reviews
"day trip"
in 217 reviews
"tagine"
in 87 reviews
"family home"
in 39 reviews
"mint tea"
in 73 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 50 reviews
"via email"
in 41 reviews
"land cruiser"
in 20 reviews
"melon"
in 13 reviews
"traditional lunch"
in 15 reviews
"take photos"
in 45 reviews
"co op"
in 15 reviews
Filter

775 - 779 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was made aware of 4X4 Camel through someone we met and befriended at the Tikida Garden Hotel. I must say that it was the right decision not to book through Thomson, as it was not only cheaper, though Adil and his colleague(profuse apologies as I cannot remeber his name) were both fantastic guides. The information was excellent, the pace of the trip just perfect. We had a number of stops along the trip, and it became apparent that Adil really has a strong interest in trying to support real local people benefit from the advantages of tourism. We stopped at a womans co-operative where they produce a wide range of argan oil goods - The range was fantastic and in fact I've tried these at home and they are just delicious! This is done in a way which is sympathetic to the local people and I never feel pressured into buying anything. We also stopped at a Berber market which was an expereince in itself. The sights, sound and smells are incredicle, though the meat section was quite a sight! You do have to ex[ereince all of this to get a real feel for how the Berber people live. The lunch with the Berber family was just the icing on the cake...The food was out of this world, the service great, laid back and extremely friendly. My 16 year old son and 17 year old daughter thought it was a fantastic day, so take from that what a superb trip this was. We actually went on the trip with a family we met from the hotel, Terry, Helen, Lexi and Ellie....this just made the trip even better. It was lovely to share such a unique experience with another family. I could not recommend this trip highly enough. The guides were great, the views were simply breathtaking. In summary a fantastic day for all sorts of groups and suggest that you consider using Adil and 4X4 camel as this is not only business for him, though it is also clearly contributing to the real indigenous people of Morroco...a must for anyone going to Marrakesh. Please do not listen to any negative reviews, as this trip was just fantastic!!!

3  Thank pmcg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adil M, Owner at 4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to write a detailed review about your day with 4x4 Camel. Thanks to point out that your teenager children had a wonderful time and discover a lot . We always aim to provide a memorable day . We hope to see you on another trip to Morocco . Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a really great day at the Berber markets, on the camel ride and up the Atlas Mountains. Lots of amazing views and the guide could not be more helpful. Thoroughly recommend!

Thank Lisa_Raye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adil M, Owner at 4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Many thanks for posting your recommendation about 4x4 Camel and you , or your friends , are always welcome on a future trip to Marrakech . Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We read the very positive reviews on TripAdvisor on this adventure and were not disappointed on our trip to see three different valleys in the Atlas Mountains. Adil's colleague who himself comes from a Nomadic family living near the Mauritanian border took us to visit the Barber market, ride a camel, tour the women's coop producing Argan oil and have lunch with a Berber family in the Atlas Mountains. Definitely a day to remember and its quality was much enhanced by the knowledgeable background information in excellent English by our guide who was ill but would not want us to even know that until late in the afternoon. The booking was uncomplicated via email and everything worked precisely as planned despite the start of Ramadan. We highly recommend Adil's services - a great day!

1  Thank riikkaahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adil M, Owner at 4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to describe your day with 4x4 Camel. We are glad you had a fantastic day and very grateful for your recommendation. We hope to see you on another trip to Marrakech . Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this on the back of very good reviews. Things started out well, our driver, a colleague of Adil arrived in good time to pick us up from our hotel. We were given a brief itinerary of what was in store for us and our first stop was a small town about half an hour outside Marrakech.

The market turned out a little more than a car boot sale. Our tour guide simply walked us through the market, including some areas where cruelty to animals was very much evident. Once he did his shopping we turned around and went back to the car.

The next stop was nearer to the Atlas mountains where we went on a camel ride (not included in the tour). This was fun, but not as some as the pictures on here suggest. Not much else to say about this really, it was a camel ride for 20 minutes and we took a few photos.

We then headed towards a place where they produced argan oil. There was a brief talk about what argan oil is and how it's made. After this we were shooed into their store and had one of their sellers follow us around. We felt very pressured to buy something and it wasn't cheap either. So we headed back to the car.

The next couple of hours we drove upwards into the Atlas mountains, and our driver gave us a chance to take some pictures. Our driver also had some cold water, which was nice. He explained to us about the colours of the rocks and the layouts of some of the villages.

Our final stop was at the L'oliveraie de marigha. They had a swimming pool with a beautiful view which we could have used. Sadly neither Adil nor our driver explained to us in our email correspondence or before the tour began, to bring our swimming costumes, which was a shame. We both ordered steak and fries but could not enjoy this for two reasons. First the steak was full of gristle and tough even though we ordered it medium rare and secondly, flies were landing on our food and buzzing around our heads. In the end neither of us ate the steaks or fries and left it to the flies. We had sorbet for desert which, as sorbet tends to be, nice and refreshing, but let's face it, it's hard to get it wrong. I think Gordon Ramsay needs to pay this place a visit on his kitchen nightmares programme. There's no point to al fresco dining if you're not going to do anything about the flies

The tour ended with a fairly quiet two hour drive back to Marrakech.

I suggest to anyone looking to do a tour of the Atlas mountains (if you're not afraid of heights) to hire a car and do it yourself.

17  Thank sw879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adil M, Owner at 4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thanks for writing a lengthy review about a trip you do not like and was obviously not your taste.
We provide day trips which are genuine and offer a glimpse of rural Morocco and a break from the hustle of Marrakech.
All the places you described have been praised by other travellers for the main reason that for most of them they are a real discovery .
The market is a genuine farmers market where locals come and sell their produce. This is also the place where you can find local barber or dentist . For most people from the surrounding villages this is the day were they “come to town” , and for all our customers this is an eye opener .
The women argan oil cooperative is also often a discovery for most . Argan trees only grown in Morocco and the oil fabrication process is labour intensive and interesting to learn . The fact that afterward you can by their produce is totally an option and reading previous reviews you will see that it is absolutely not an obligation
Camel rides is clearly stated as an option in our program , but most visitors choose it as it is a fun experience and , read the previous reviews, they often recommend it.
Lunches are set in a traditionnal Berber village and unanimously people voted it the best lunch of their entire holidays. However we always give option to people and you choose not to have lunch at the berber family but instead at a local restaurant where food is more is more ordinary .
About the swimming pool I guess this was not your priority given the fact that you were staying at the Sofitel where there is one of the largest pool in Marrakech, and I would imagine you were not waiting for a trip to the mountains to dip in the water !.
Anyway we do provide genuine discovery trip around Marrakech , and we do give information and itinerary prior to booking with flexibility and choice for customers. We do like feedback and comments and I remember that you do not say much on the day beside asking for the air conditioning and where to buy sweets for the local children.
Great to recommend to people to travel on their own and many have not waiting for your review to do so . Lots of visitors hire a car but you have to feel confident to drive on mountains road in Morocco and then being able to interact with people who don’t speak English or French, as well as finding the right places to go in a short time.
We do offer insight knowledge and always do our best to make sure people have a great day, but people also need to want to discover.
Best regards and good luck on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to 4X4 Camel - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing