We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NiceNiceNice!!!”
Review of Auberge Riad Douzi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Riad Douzi
Ranked #907 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Düsseldorf
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“NiceNiceNice!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This beautiful Riad is the nicest place I´ve seen in Marrakesh!
Our host Abdul was so nice, warm and welcoming and gave us helpful information for our stay.
The only people I wolud not recommend this place to are light sleepers

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This riad upon arrival seems ideal warm and friendly. Abdul and the reception staff are lovely and accommodating. However during the night the cats on the roof fight all through the night and make theist unbearable noise ! So much that Abdul threw a tagine at one and I chased two more. All this at 2:45am ! When I was finally dropping off to sleep, the speaker from the nearby mosque started at 5 am so never slept at all !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinmarley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This riad upon arrival seems ideal warm and friendly. Abdul and the reception staff are lovely and accommodating. However during the night the cats on the roof fight all through the night and make theist unbearable noise ! So much that Abdul threw a tagine at one and I chased two more. All this at 2:45am ! When I was finally dropping off to sleep, the speaker from the nearby mosque started at 5 am so never slept at all !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walnutwhip68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed here at the beginning of July. We stayed in the 4 bed female dorm and for the entire week bar one night we had it to ourselves!

The riad itself is really beautiful but it would probably be quite hard to find without the airport transfer, however once you know where it is you're set.

For the price you can't expect anything fancy (it's way cheaper per night than you'd pay on a campsite in Britain!) but what we did get was perfectly adequate for our weeks stay.

All the staff were really friendly. When we arrived the first thing Salma did was give us a map each and circle the best things to see in Marrakech. Abdul is a great guy! He will sit and talk to you for ages and is always ready to top up your mint tea, he even sorted out bus tickets to Essaouira for us which was really kind of him and very helpful.

The breakfast was great and its included, they serve it every morning between 8 and 10 on the roof and it consists of Moroccan pancakes which are like a flatbread with butter and syrup and mint tea. They also cooked cous-cous and a tagine on Friday night which was really nice and it's one meal in the week that you don't have to think about.

We went on one excursion organised by the riad which was reasonably priced. It was to the Cascades d'Ouzoude, I would definitely recommend this although it's quite a trek!

The only bad point was the airport pickup, we ended up waiting 2 hours for them to arrive! Which, after an extremely long night and the shock of the Moroccan heat we really could have done without so I would say definitely confirm your pick up the day before as this is something I didn't do!

Lastly, (this relates to places to visit in Marrakech) we were really impressed with the Jardin Majorelle it's one of the best places we visited in Marrakech, so if you can I would go there, its quite amazing!

So, back to the Riad! Overall, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay then I would definitely recommend Auberge Riad Douzi, we both agreed that we'd got more of a taste of the "real Morocco" by staying here, it's like staying with old friends in there home as opposed to a hotel where yes, you may get a better standard of room but you certainly wouldn't get the friendly atmosphere and the feeling that you're part of their family during your stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lucejuice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Riad is a little bit hard to find the first time...but once you arrive there, it's very easy to come back again. It is located in a very busy street, but with shops nearby. It's a very friendly place, were you can meet people from everywere...and the staff are amazing, especially Majid and Abdul. The free mint tea they offer us is wonderful. Not to mention the hot fresh bread in the morning, for breakfast. If you are looking something cheap (with only bread, butter,/jam and tea for breakfast), clean, with a very nice staff, I recomend this Riad. I would come back...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hostel is truly this best hostel i have ever been to. It was located in a renovated beautiful ancient mansion in downtown Marrakesh. The staff were the friendliest people I have ever met. The hostel was impeccably clean. It was simply perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I would love to recommend this property completely. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. The location is excellent and the free wifi is great to have. Unfortunately, out of our party of 4, one person experienced bed bugs. The rooms are also very cramped and poorly ventilated. If you are a good sleeper and want to take your chances with the bed bugs, this is a great place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpackerireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,146 in Marrakech
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#100 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Riad Douzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Riad Douzi

Property: Auberge Riad Douzi
Address: 5 Derb Boulmlouj | Quartier Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #907 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing