We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for our first visit to Marrkech”
Review of Riad Rafaele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Rafaele
Ranked #28 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Riad Rafaele was the oasis we were looking for after a long drive to Marrakech. Didier gave us a phenomenal welcome and an excellent recommendation for dinner. Our room was Suite Rafele which was very roomy and comfortable. The shower and bathroom were great too, and one of those things that varies a lot across riads.

The hotel has a beautiful rooftop terrace and orange trees growing in the courtyard. We were also able to get some alcohol at this riad. Many of the riads we had stayed at were run by Moroccans so they didn't offer any alcohol. After a long drive on crazy Moroccan roads a glass of wine was most welcome.

Room Tip: Suite Rafaele is very roomy for 3 people. It has a double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrianLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 613 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful Riad in a great location within the Medina only a minute from the busy Souks and a 10 minute walk to Jamal F'na square.
I have visited twice this year I love it that much!
The hosts and all their staff are incredibly hospitable - always there if/when you need them or not if/when you prefer to be left alone.
All rooms are beautifully decked out in traditional style - as their website shows - a truly amazing palace within the busy Medina.
There is a hammam within the Riad should you choose to have a (highly recommended) treatment massage or traditional hammam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in 5 riads all over Morocco, and this was certainly the most beautiful! Spacious, lovely rooms around an exceptional patio. Once you know the way to the location of the Riad in the medina you will find it very easily, thanks to the help of the two hosts. Furthermore, their Moroccan personnel is VERY good and the breakfast is nice. We also tried the hammam and massage, and would certainly recommend you try out the little hammam where they scrub you after applying black olive soap! For us catlovers, an extra plus was the queen of the Riad, the cutest and most beautiful cat ever! Ps. Wakey wakey at 5h30 you will hear the mosque calling! Greetings from Belgium

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luwtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautiful Riad, which, as other reviews suggests is an oasis hidden in the hectic medina. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we couldn't ask for anything more from our stay. We opted to have our last evening meal in the Riad and I must say the food was excellent, and I would highly recommend that you try it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cecilia_hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Riad Rafaele is an exquisite place, restored and furnished with fine taste by its owners. Our room was light, spacious and comfortable, with ample room for the 3 of us. The staff were all charming and most helpful without being too intrusive. We also had a fabulous meal in the courtyard one evening. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and am looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Suite Rafaele is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Katherine900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The riad common areas and rooms are beautiful and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. They helped us with all sorts of trip planning, and Hakim was so pleasant and helpful. They helped us out with souk purchases and finding restaurants late at night during Eid. The lunch on arrival (moroccan salads) was perfect. They also have some good wines!

We only speak English, so communication with the owners was a bit challenging for arranging airport transfers and meals. The riad, like most things in the Medina, can be difficult to find, especially if you wait until dark to find it. The directions they give you are very good though. It is very close to the sites, but the Ben Youssef mosque is across the street, which has a fairly long and loud call to prayer early in the morning (5am while we were there).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Riad Rafaele has been beautifully & authentically restored by it's owners, Didier & Eric. When passing through the front door from the busy & noisy streets of the Medina, it is as though entering another world. The enclosed courtyard, with it's central fountain, plunge pool & orange trees, although open to the heavens, is a tranquil oasis. The owners & staff were friendly & helpful, even providing a remedy & tablets for a stomach upset. We arranged to eat there one evening, along with a German couple we had befriended, and the three course dinner, including Eric's chicken tagine as main course, was excellent. Eric also arranged for us a one day trip to the Ourika Vally, with a Berber guide to take us to the waterfalls. It is the attention to detail which sets Riad Rafaele apart. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,170 in Marrakech
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#11 of 1,170 in Marrakech
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#23 of 1,170 in Marrakech
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#15 of 1,170 in Marrakech
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,170 in Marrakech
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,170 in Marrakech
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Rafaele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rafaele

Address: derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $87 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Rafaele 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is located in the medina of marrakech at the northern edge of the souks, 10 minutes walk from the jema el fna square.We have 4 rooms from 20 to 25 sqm²(one at the ground floor is specialy dedicated to persons with mobility reduced) and two great following at the first floor. The terrace covers 250 sqm². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Rafaele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing