We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sensational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Rafaele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Rafaele
Ranked #32 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have just spent a wonderful and exciting week at this Riad open the main door and walk into a beautiful oasis and be greeted by the charming hosts Gidier and Eric who cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. The Riad is beautifully decorated, Moroccan style, of course, the bedroom I had slept three, was roomy, very clean with a great bathroom . The staff are exceptional and , dining in the Riad was a culinary delight, I tried many Moroccan dishes always followed by a stunning dessert. The Riad was very quiet considering outside the front door the activity never stops, the buzz of the markets and the rambling streets down to the Medina.
There is much to see in this exciting city. A memory I will keep for a long time.
Jan H.

Room Tip: You could really choose any room they are all lovely and on the first floor with the exception of on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    39
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
202
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An intimate, friendly, beautifully restored Riad where no stone is left unturned to make one's stay a truly enjoyable experience. Our enquiry about the possibility of having the seldom available traditional dish - Ravisa - for dinner, was met with an enthusiastic response to immediately set about making it happen. Which it did; to the delight of all concerned!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my first time in marrackech and was not too sure what to expect. From walkking through a dark tunnel at night wondering where we were, entering into the riad was like being transportedd to somewhere completely different , tranquille, beautiful , quiet and inviting..
The owners couild not be more welcoming and helpful.
Rooms were very clean tidy and spacious. There is attention to detail in this riad. take a look for yourself.
This riad is right in the heart of the madina and when you leave the riad, it can be quite dauntin and confusing, however just ask the owners if you are unsure and they will help you on your way personally.
What I found great about this riad is when the day can get hot , hectic , busy and noisy, it is just an absolute oasis to return to to recharge the batteries and ready to go out for the evening.
I could not fault this place whatsoever and would definetelky return and would highly recomment..
Thank you for a great friendly stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday-brid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First Impressions - Idyllic, beautiful, warm and friendly, peaceful, a romantic little retreat in the heart of the medina area. We stayed for 2 nights and were welcomed into the owners home. There are so many personal touches that made our stay first class and without doubt we will be back to stay again next time. Customer service is second to none and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were large, very clean, cool and quiet which was ideal for sleeping after a hetic day outside in the medina. I'm very fussy when it comes to choosing accomodation and spent weeks researching before choosing which Riad out of the many hundreds to choose from. Having worked in the travel and tourism industry for 20 years I've experienced many places but what made this little Riad special and stand out, you were made to feel like their friends rather than just another customer. Thank you Didier, Hakeem and all the other staff. Lucy and David

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Amidst the noise and haste of the Old Medina lies a truly remarkable Riad. After navigating down the dark passageway you are greeted with an old wooden door. Behind it lies your oasis. As soon as we went through and got to the traditional square at the heart of the Riad our stresses melted away. It was a feast for the eyes. I saw: orange trees which produce marmalade for the guests, an inviting pool to escape the baking heat, the beautifully restored architecture surrounding. After coming out of my daze I settled down in a seat with my girlfriend. In front of me was Didier who made our stay, along with Hakeem, so special. Didier was a relaxing character where no job was too big. Our room was a delight and peaceful. We would both come back in a heartbeat. Many thanks.
Fran and Rob

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow - we stumbled across this beautiful Riad by chance and stayed for 3 nights at the end of April.
Didier & Hakeem were fantastic hosts - showing us around the neighbourhood and recommending good restaurants etc.
The theme here is tranquil relaxation - truly calm - a complete reverse from the chaos outside!

Great location within the medina walls and just north of the souks.

We are going again in a few weeks time,
I don't really want to post this review - I want Rafaele to be my own little secret paradise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is wonderful! It's like being at home - only way more beautiful and peaceful than our home! Didier and the staff made us so warmly welcome, the food (breakfast every day and dinner one night) was gorgeous, and I've honestly rarely been anywhere more exquisite than this.

It is (as our guide to the mountains told us) a proper riad, built around an inner courtyard with 4 trees growing around a fountain. Sitting and relaxing there was a complete treat.

We treated ourselves to a hammam experience at the riad on our final afternoon - thoroughly recommended, ending with one of the best massages ever.

A word of caution: You are deep in the medina and outside can be rather mad and very confusing, so this location wouldn't be for everyone. However, Didier and the staff do everything to make you comfortable, including organising airport transfers and giving great advice about how to behave and get the best out of your time in Marrakech. We loved it.

We can't imagine anywhere better to have stayed and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Ours was the ground floor room, which we loved for the views and direct access onto the courtyard. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#30 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Chergui
Riad Chergui
#28 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#12 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#5 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#22 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Rafaele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rafaele

Property: Riad Rafaele
Address: derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Rafaele 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is located in the medina of marrakech at the northern edge of the souks, 10 minutes walk from the jema el fna square.We have 4 rooms from 20 to 25 sqm²(one at the ground floor is specialy dedicated to persons with mobility reduced) and two great following at the first floor. The terrace covers 250 sqm². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HRS, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Rafaele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing