We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Rafaele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Rafaele
Ranked #32 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my first time in marrackech and was not too sure what to expect. From walkking through a dark tunnel at night wondering where we were, entering into the riad was like being transportedd to somewhere completely different , tranquille, beautiful , quiet and inviting..
The owners couild not be more welcoming and helpful.
Rooms were very clean tidy and spacious. There is attention to detail in this riad. take a look for yourself.
This riad is right in the heart of the madina and when you leave the riad, it can be quite dauntin and confusing, however just ask the owners if you are unsure and they will help you on your way personally.
What I found great about this riad is when the day can get hot , hectic , busy and noisy, it is just an absolute oasis to return to to recharge the batteries and ready to go out for the evening.
I could not fault this place whatsoever and would definetelky return and would highly recomment..
Thank you for a great friendly stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday-brid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
228
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

First Impressions - Idyllic, beautiful, warm and friendly, peaceful, a romantic little retreat in the heart of the medina area. We stayed for 2 nights and were welcomed into the owners home. There are so many personal touches that made our stay first class and without doubt we will be back to stay again next time. Customer service is second to none and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were large, very clean, cool and quiet which was ideal for sleeping after a hetic day outside in the medina. I'm very fussy when it comes to choosing accomodation and spent weeks researching before choosing which Riad out of the many hundreds to choose from. Having worked in the travel and tourism industry for 20 years I've experienced many places but what made this little Riad special and stand out, you were made to feel like their friends rather than just another customer. Thank you Didier, Hakeem and all the other staff. Lucy and David

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Amidst the noise and haste of the Old Medina lies a truly remarkable Riad. After navigating down the dark passageway you are greeted with an old wooden door. Behind it lies your oasis. As soon as we went through and got to the traditional square at the heart of the Riad our stresses melted away. It was a feast for the eyes. I saw: orange trees which produce marmalade for the guests, an inviting pool to escape the baking heat, the beautifully restored architecture surrounding. After coming out of my daze I settled down in a seat with my girlfriend. In front of me was Didier who made our stay, along with Hakeem, so special. Didier was a relaxing character where no job was too big. Our room was a delight and peaceful. We would both come back in a heartbeat. Many thanks.
Fran and Rob

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow - we stumbled across this beautiful Riad by chance and stayed for 3 nights at the end of April.
Didier & Hakeem were fantastic hosts - showing us around the neighbourhood and recommending good restaurants etc.
The theme here is tranquil relaxation - truly calm - a complete reverse from the chaos outside!

Great location within the medina walls and just north of the souks.

We are going again in a few weeks time,
I don't really want to post this review - I want Rafaele to be my own little secret paradise!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is wonderful! It's like being at home - only way more beautiful and peaceful than our home! Didier and the staff made us so warmly welcome, the food (breakfast every day and dinner one night) was gorgeous, and I've honestly rarely been anywhere more exquisite than this.

It is (as our guide to the mountains told us) a proper riad, built around an inner courtyard with 4 trees growing around a fountain. Sitting and relaxing there was a complete treat.

We treated ourselves to a hammam experience at the riad on our final afternoon - thoroughly recommended, ending with one of the best massages ever.

A word of caution: You are deep in the medina and outside can be rather mad and very confusing, so this location wouldn't be for everyone. However, Didier and the staff do everything to make you comfortable, including organising airport transfers and giving great advice about how to behave and get the best out of your time in Marrakech. We loved it.

We can't imagine anywhere better to have stayed and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Ours was the ground floor room, which we loved for the views and direct access onto the courtyard. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I, like many others, booked this riad based on excellent reviews and it surpassed my expectations.
You won't believe what an oasis of calm it is from the madness outside, its unbelievable!
Do view all the rooms available on the website, all lovely and spacious with excellent (and much needed in July) aircon. Id suggest a balcony room for a tad more privacy.
The riad has been lovingly brought back to life by Diddier and Eric and what a sublime job they have done, take time to look at the little details.
We ate in the riad twice and the food was excellent - do make sure you have dinner there at least once, the setting can't be beat.
The real secret to this riads success is with Diddier and his staff - so friendly, helpful and relaxed (Eric was away during our stay but I look forward to meeting him next time).
And yes, Bejia the cat is Queen of the Riad and the most loving ball of teddy bear fluff on earth, gorgeous. Be preppared to do some kitty belly rubbing!
Cannot recommend Riad Raffael highly enough - gorgeous, convenient, friendly, laid back and well ran.
Heaven.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missyedwardsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We decided upon this Riad because of the good trip advisor reviews it had received and it really surpassed our expectations during our four day stay. Didier was a very warm and welcoming host, spending some time with us upon our arrival and provided some useful advice about the city; he always had time for a small conversation. Hakim was very attentive and always smiling and Queen Beija is one of the most friendliest cats I have ever come across. The food prepared for us was the tatsiest we experienced during our stay, when compared to the restaurants and stalls we tried at the place Jemaa el Fna. It was always such a pleasure to be able to come back to the serenity and peacefulness of the Riad after a trip through the hustle & bustle of the the souks and kasbah. There is a lovely plunge pool to cool off in, Orange trees to relax under and enjoy a good book, living areas to escape the heat and our room had a really tall ceiling, plus good air conditioning which made the July night heat bearable. Our goal going to Marrakech was to relax, take things slow and enjoy what the red city had to offer. Riad Rafeale is a charming tranquil oasis located slap bang in the midst of the exotic and alluring chaos that is Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank amcha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#47 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#4 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#14 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#34 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#16 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Rafaele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rafaele

Property: Riad Rafaele
Address: derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Rafaele 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is located in the medina of marrakech at the northern edge of the souks, 10 minutes walk from the jema el fna square.We have 4 rooms from 20 to 25 sqm²(one at the ground floor is specialy dedicated to persons with mobility reduced) and two great following at the first floor. The terrace covers 250 sqm². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Riad Rafaele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing