We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, friendly and helpful”
Review of Riad Khol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Khol
Ranked #224 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly and helpful”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the most welcoming and friendly places we have ever stayed. Staff made us feel a valued part of a family. Hamid was always cheerfully at hand to answer questions, suggest and organise restaurants etc, and provide information. Fatah was the same although we saw a bit less of him. Both patiently tried to understand my exceedingly elementary French and spoke a reasonable amount of English. Thank goodness we opted for an airport pickup, as we would never have found the Riad, situated within the Medina. The courtyard was as beautiful as the pictures show. Be aware that room lighting, as seems common in Morocco, is low. Our room was black which made it even dimmer. We would certainly stay there again. Thanks Valerie and Fred for your organisation.

Room Tip: Avoid black rooms like Datura Noir if you want better lighting at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lachlan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    60
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
26
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This riad is beautifull! We enjoyed seven days here,and we had one of the suites and our own private terrace. The staff is friendly and the owner is very helpfull..we enjoyed one dinner at the riad and it was delightfull and very tasty. At new years eve we had to iron some shirts which was no problem at all. We also ate a berber omelett for lunch two times at the roof top terrace,recommended! The neighbourhood is in the old city, safe and seem like a typical marrocan neighbourhood with all types of people. Only draw back was the moské right around the corner which wakes you up every morning 5.30 with an extremely long and loud pray...

All in all, thank you so much for a wonderfull stay to the staff and owner at Riad Khol

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theacaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Riah Khol is hidden in the maze in the Medina, difficult to find. Luckily it had included pick-up at the airport, good service. We arrived in the evening, the meal we had booked in advance was prepared and served in a neighboring Riad. Delicious, thanks Valerie. Also, very good service at the Riad. Hamid was very helpful and gave lots of useful information. We arrived in the evening, the meal we had booked in advance was prepared and served in a neighboring Riad. Delicious, thanks Valerie. Riad Khol has an awesome interior and decoration, both in the rooms and the patios. Nice and clean room. Only minus is that there were no door or curtains between the room and the bathroom/toilet. Breakfast served at the roof terrace in splendid surroundings. If you´re lost in the Medina late in the evening, it might be difficult to find your way back. Recommend to take a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audun1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Located in a quiet alleyway in the northern reaches of the medina we found it extremely difficult to find initially. Even the taxi man couldn't locate it with the address after asking around and this lead to him wanting more than the agreed price for the fare. The riad has a real charm even if our room was a bit cramped, we only slept there as were out sightseeing all day. Loved the design of the roof terrace and the courtyard, the only common areas. The pool is more of the plunge pool variety. The petit dejuner is a wee bit excessively petite for my liking and is served on the roof terrace.
The man from Agadir who works there is most helpful, he showed us to the taxi rank the morning of our departure which was a nice touch. Djemaa El Fna is a 10/15 minute winding walk away through a residential neighbourhood of the medina, is actually good to see the real living breathing area as opposed to a staged tourist trap.
Liked Riad Khol without falling mad in love with the place !

Room Tip: Ground floor bedrooms can become noisy at night time if people are coming in chatting etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonallO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A truly beautiful and peaceful escape form the bustle of the souks, but still with the atmosphere of the Medina. My partner and I stayed for 5 days and as a gay couple we were completely welcome. Hamid the assistant was very attentive and Valerie the French manager was charming.

Our room was so romantic - a four poster bed with Maroccan lamps hanging from the ceiling. The bathroom was black marble with gold fittings and flower petals strewn over numerous soft towles. It was like a film set! Buddha Bar music is played low in the lobby and I sat there in the mornings after breakfast planning our day's itinerary.

The whole riad feels like a beautiful private house you've been invited to as a friend. Breakfast is served on the terrace which has a great view of the rooftops of the whole Medina. Coffee could have been hotter (some days it was luke warm) but it was good coffee and the breakfast was served with beautiful Maroccan silverwear - tranditional breads and local preserves as well as a delicions home made Madeira cake.

The location seems difficult to find at first but it is really 1 minute from a main road, so good for catching taxis. Just remember to turn left, right, left then right - the door to the riad is then on your left. Not that difficult really and all the taxi drivers know the mosque Sidi Ben Slimane, which the riad is near to.

And in terms of value, very hard to beat. I have stayed in 5 star hotels with much less charm and beauty and been less welcome and paid 10 times as much.

One last note, when we left, Hamid carried my heavy suitcase from the riad to the taxi on the main road (he insisted!). I very much felt this was going the extra mile and he didn't have to do this. Riad Kohl is a one off and a very personal service. I can highly reccomend it and will return with my partner and hopefully some friends and family who we can share it with. Thank you Hamid and Valerie - Shukran and merci!

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar to each other but choose your room according to the bathrooms which do differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This Riad was definitely not as advertised! We were asked to pay in full, up front, as soon as we arrived!! Room was very small, dark and dingy.. When we stated that is was not the room we booked, we were told that they had just changed the decor, we do not think this was the same riad we originally booked. We were told the same thing by other travelers Bed was rock hard, breakfast was bad, hard stale and cold. Orange juice was off, smelled bad! And we had to go across street to have breakfast. Besides all of this... We asked the owner how much it would cost for a petite taxi to the train station and were told he would arrange one for 30 euro, we got our own for 50 dirham! The manager was not helpful and not at all concerned about us..... Not a pleasant experience..... Definitely not recommended!

Room Tip: It is very hard to offer a tip to fellow travelers when the reviews seem ok and you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShawnJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Riad is in a great spot, near the El Badi Palace and walking distance to the square. We arrived at night and had arranged an airport pick-up which was good as it would have been difficult to find on the first night. We were led down an alleyway until we reacher an arched wooden door in a high wall. It opened up into a lovely candlelit courtyard with a small pool. I had the pool to myself and every evening at sunset I swam and floated on my back watching the storks that nested in the giant nests on the palace walls circle above me. After my swim I was offered mint tea by the friendly lady staff or Hamid one of the managers. All the staff were lovely.The first 4 nights we stayed in a suite on the first foor. It was a nice room with a comfy bed but the airconditioning didnt cool it down enough. After our few days away we stayed in a rooftop room. This was smaller but still lovely and the airconditioning was better. Hamid was a mine of information , he spoke some English and with my very few words of French we got by, his recommendation of a restaurant was just right and we had a great night. Our last night was lovely.We arrived back in the evening from Essaoira. I had my swim and we had booked a meal at the Riad which was great. All the food was fresh and specially prepared for us by the cook.We had a lovely meal followed by mint tea by the pool. I would stay here if I ever visit Marrakech again.

Room Tip: rooftop rooms are cheaper and have better airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#64 of 500 in Marrakech
438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#142 of 500 in Marrakech
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#67 of 500 in Marrakech
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.2 mi away
Riad le Perroquet Bleu
Riad le Perroquet Bleu
#170 of 1,139 in Marrakech
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Khol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Khol

Property: Riad Khol
Address: 121 derb Sidi Ahmed Soussi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Khol 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Khol is located in the heart of Marrakech’s old Medina, a 10-minute walk from Jamaâ el Fna Square and has a panoramic terrace overlooking the Medina and Atlas Mountains. It offers a hammam, sun terrace and a private swimming pool. Free Wi-Fi is available.The air-conditioned rooms and suites at Riad Khol surround the interior patio. They feature Moroccan details and furnishings and are equipped with a private bathroom.Guests have access to 2 salons and Riad Khol serves traditional Moroccan cuisine that guests can enjoy in the dining room or on the patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Khol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing