We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad”
Review of Riad Khol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Khol
Ranked #200 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Riad is in a great spot, near the El Badi Palace and walking distance to the square. We arrived at night and had arranged an airport pick-up which was good as it would have been difficult to find on the first night. We were led down an alleyway until we reacher an arched wooden door in a high wall. It opened up into a lovely candlelit courtyard with a small pool. I had the pool to myself and every evening at sunset I swam and floated on my back watching the storks that nested in the giant nests on the palace walls circle above me. After my swim I was offered mint tea by the friendly lady staff or Hamid one of the managers. All the staff were lovely.The first 4 nights we stayed in a suite on the first foor. It was a nice room with a comfy bed but the airconditioning didnt cool it down enough. After our few days away we stayed in a rooftop room. This was smaller but still lovely and the airconditioning was better. Hamid was a mine of information , he spoke some English and with my very few words of French we got by, his recommendation of a restaurant was just right and we had a great night. Our last night was lovely.We arrived back in the evening from Essaoira. I had my swim and we had booked a meal at the Riad which was great. All the food was fresh and specially prepared for us by the cook.We had a lovely meal followed by mint tea by the pool. I would stay here if I ever visit Marrakech again.

Room Tip: rooftop rooms are cheaper and have better airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    60
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
134
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Friendly staff an d very attentive to all our needs. Very good food, although the breakfast turned out to be a little too repetitive.
After leaving to our country, i was contacted by the Riad's manager because i paid more than the account for several expenses (in fact... 900 eur instead of 90 eur!). They quickly solved the error with their Bank and i promptly received the 810 eur. The best part is that all this was done before i even had the opportunity to aknowledge the error. Many thanks to all the staff and the management.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisbonjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place is a pain to find - taxi's had no clue and we ended up just exploring the medina until we stumbled on the door through a series of quiet alleys. The staff were very welcoming. The pool is really just a plunge pool (don't let the wide angle photo deceive you) but provides a refreshing break all the same. The hotel staff recommended a restaurant and a trip to the hammam. The Hammam was very good and seemed pretty authentic. The restaurant was a little more aimed at tourists - belly-dancing and traditional musicians while you eat. Nice but something you maybe only want to do once. They were keen advise us away from eating in the main square though - having spoken to people who've experienced food poisoning from eating there this seemed like sound advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shovelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We're currently starting at the Riad Kohl which is beautiful, has a central plunge pool and is in a great location in the old town.

Our stay has been ruined however by the manager of the hotel.

Since we arrived we have been nagged about playing about our bill even though the manager dues not make this easy by offering credit card facilities and insists on payment by either cash or 'internet' which turns out to mean international bank transfer which of course is very expensive and far less convenient that other methods like PayPal.

He also suggested we hire a guide he recommended to help us navigate the souks, negotiate better prices and keep us safe from scams run by local gangs. The guy who eventually rocked up refused to take its where we wanted to go and only took us to prearranged sales opportunities for rugs and spices which we expressly said we didn't want. We felt totally scammed.

The manager has now tried to a arrange a taxi to the airport for 30 Euros = 35 AUD = 300 MAD which is about 6 times what the fare actually is in a petit taxi.

This evening he has just refused to provide its with an earlier breakfast at 8 am so that we can catch a 10 am flight.

To be honest you expect to get ripped off in Morocco but not by the hotel in which you're staying.

My advice - avoid this place like the plague and you'll have a far happier stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bc0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A beautiful riad giving you a real sense of authentic Moroccan living. I would recommend getting Hamad to organise a lift from the airport as you will struggle to find this little hotel but once you do it is simply stunning! Staff really helpful and very central location but at the same time very quiet and peaceful and not full of noise from busy street like other Marrakech riads. Definitely recommend this riad to all. Great breakfast. Dinner was lovely but not great value for money

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was the most pleasant place to stay and so memorable. THe staff was kind, professional and helpful with everything and anything. I stayed with my husband and 21 yr old daughter who all felt the same. The roof top deck is beautiful and tranquil. The food was great and location could not be beat. The riad is beautiful decorated and we would all strongly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann-1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at the Khol for three great days. Hamed is an awesome person, helpful, nice and will help you any time of the day or night. The riad is quiet so when you wake up you are not pushed around by room service or eating at certain times. Everything works according to your pace and not the other way around so I enjoyed my stay. Khadija cooked for me, a tajin which was great and refreshing along with enough salad to feed five people together!
The rooms are beautifuly furnished and the bathroom is a haven all on its own...
I highly recommend this Riad for a stay, it is in the city but so far from the noise and the alley ways leading into it are just magical.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karineataya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#73 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#37 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#41 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar El Aila
Riad Dar El Aila
#262 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Khol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Khol

Property: Riad Khol
Address: 121 derb Sidi Ahmed Soussi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Khol 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Khol is located in the heart of Marrakech’s old Medina, a 10-minute walk from Jamaâ el Fna Square and has a panoramic terrace overlooking the Medina and Atlas Mountains. It offers a hammam, sun terrace and a private swimming pool. Free Wi-Fi is available.The air-conditioned rooms and suites at Riad Khol surround the interior patio. They feature Moroccan details and furnishings and are equipped with a private bathroom.Guests have access to 2 salons and Riad Khol serves traditional Moroccan cuisine that guests can enjoy in the dining room or on the patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Khol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing