We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Next time we'll stay in another place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad ABHAR
Ranked #69 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Next time we'll stay in another place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Riad is very beautiful and well located, but we have a lot of remarks that could have been better. We stayed there for 4 nights

- we had to stay in another riad for 2 nights (with a smaller room, though we paid for a 'superior room'). This is a comment that I have read several times here and I think they do this on purpose. It's not ideal to change rooms and building in the middle of your holiday.
- Breakfast was in the other riad, so we had to cross the street and wait until somebody opened the door in het morning. One morning we had to wait for 15 minutes, because the person who had the key was gone.
- We wanted to do the guided tour, fixed 9 o'clock, but in the morning apparently the guide would come at 10 o'clock. So we waited for another hour. When the guide still wasn't there at 10h30, we left, pissed off, because it was already getting really hot and we lost practically whole morning. They never gave us a rain check for the guided tour.
- We had several things included in our voucher, but half of them we didn't do: guide didn't show up, we couldn't go to the hammam,...
- We had two dinners included. First night, we only got some chicken (no vegetables, no couscous) and only water. Second night was better.
- Breakfast was horrible, old bread, no fruits, coffee and juice were ok
- in our first room there was almost no water in the shower and it was cold
- we only got a small piece of soap. When you think that the price is 75€/night, you'd expect at least some shampoo
- The staff was always friendly, but very slow to make arrangements and gave us several times wrong information

Some positif points: beautiful riad, in the other riad there was a turtle living in the patio.

Even when you go with a grouponvoucher, you'd expect some of these things being better. I prefer staying in a riad instead of a hotel outside the medina, but we will never come back to this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    88
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in two owned by the same people after booking into this one - we didn't know about this but it was not an issue - both were stunning and I think we were moved to give us an upgraded room that became available - the rooms were gorgeous, the building was gorgeous, both had roof terraces with amazing views, and both were right in the souks.

Staff were lovely, particularly the cleaning staff.

Breakfast was great - dinner was good but not really for me as a vegetarian - there was little variety and one night it was just some chopped up salad as the main. This really is a minor quibble though.

I got this deal on groupon for about £160 for 4 nights, between 2 people, with breakfast, dinner, transport from the airport, a hamman each, and a massage.

Amazing value and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newport.david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 4 people at the Riad in January, we were picked up at airport which was great, as i think we would of had terrible trouble finding the place its not well sign posted but once there, its great and a great easy walk back to the main square, rooms were good but i was very cold i did ask for another blanket but the next day it was taken back so had to ask again, but otherwise was fine as pervious said the shower is funny but we managed and we also had breakfast in the deal which was fine. We took 2 trips organised by the lady there in a private taxi which was good no problems, being 4 of us it was easier. Would recommend to anyone but if you go in Jan take extra clothes it was cool especially the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlassSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our experience at Riad Abhar was pleasant enough: the staff were helpful, the place was clean and peaceful and location was good, very close to the square Djemma-El Fnaa. There were a few things that could have been better such as:

Food choices - We went as part of a kgb deal and we had breakfast and either lunch or dinner included in the package. Breakfast was good but for lunch/dinner, we ate tajine everyday, which is a fantastic dish and was very well cooked but it would have been nice to have some variety such as couscous, kefta or pastilla. There wasn´t an option to choose other dishes so if you wanted to go vegetarian you couldn´t. As you have breakfast on the courtyard, you need to be careful not to raise your voice as all other room are facing it and you can easily wake up other guests (we were awoken by a very loud group one morning)

Room - the room was on the small side but as there was only two of us, it wasn´t a major problem. I understand that the bathroom was in original Moroccan style but the shower would splash water all over the floor to the flooding point! the toilet wasn´t fixed to the floor and the pipes kept making a loud bleeping sound throughout the day.

Service - we never received our complimentary welcome pastries as 'it was too late´, the jacuzzi was supposed to be opened until 16.00 but the day we wanted to use it wasn´t working and the restaurant didn´t have any other drinks other than water (which is fine but we requested other drinks and even though they told us would be made available, never came)

The place it´s difficult to find at first but we were picked up from the airport (A great advantage) and once you a shown the way it is easy to go from and come back to. The morning tour that was included in the deal was great and the guide (Fatima I think) was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaiza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in March and were very happy with our choice. It is initially VERY difficult to locate(took us over half an hour), but once you know where it is you realize the location is actually perfect. Djemma-El Fnaa is on your doorstep, not even 5 minutes away.

The Riad was clean and the our room(ground floor) was nothing special, but had everything we needed- except a shower curtain! I'm not sure if any of the rooms have one. We were asked if were happy to change rooms after 2 days, as they needed to redecorate(random!) our room. We didn't mind one bit, and the room we were moved to was HUGE! it was amazing. So much Moroccan charm and character. The problem was that they moved our belongings without informing us when we had earlier agreed to move everything ourselves later on in the day. That was quite annoying. Nothing went missing, except for my Four Four Two magazine, which 'magically' seemed to move itself into one of the drawers in the old room. Good job I noticed it was missing.

Breakfast was good, but they should offer more fruit. We spoke to Sayida, and she was really helpful and organised some fruit for us. She also arranged our trip to the Atlas mountains which was great. One morning we were constantly asked to keep our voices down as the other guests were still asleep. We weren't even being loud, so this irritated us a lot.

All in all, I would recommend this Riad. We never go to the same place twice, but if I was to go back to Marrakech , I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time I've been to Marrakech and this Riad was the best placed so far, being in the heart of the Berber Souk. We stayed in this Riad for the first night and transferred to the sister Riad just round the corner for the remaining three nights. The Riad's were clean and comfortable and welcoming. Have only praise for the truly lovely helpful staff. Abdul the manager was fabulous. If you're reading this Abdul ' thank you SO much for your patience in sorting out Kgb ' Would happily stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We returned last week from an amazing stay at the Riad Abhar. We spent the first two nights of our stay at the sister Riad which was comfortable but a bit tired. We were then moved to two twin rooms in the main Riad just around the corner which was much superior. Riad beautifully clean. Rooms faultless. We were asked at the beginning of our stay what we wanted to eat as we had vegatarians in our party. The food was amazing. Massage pleasant. Henna tattoo great fun. Our stay was made all the better for the kind and attentive help of Abdul. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was a superb host!
Tip- Barter hard in the shops. Decide what a fair price would be and stick to your guns even if it means walking away from the shop. We were chased down to the end of the alley with the two bags we wanted after the shop keeper wouldnt accept our last offer and then realised he had lost the sale.
We were four ladies traveling on our own and felt safe and happy to wander on our own.
The deal was a fantastic offer and would definately go back again. Thank you Abdul, you were marvelous!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinaa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#219 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#28 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#140 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#16 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Widiane Suites & Spa
Widiane Suites & Spa
#1 of 3 in Bine el Ouidane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Property: Riad ABHAR
Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing