We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Calm, clean, friendly, simplicity.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad ABHAR
Ranked #71 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London U.K.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Calm, clean, friendly, simplicity.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights mid March and had no idea what to expect. The initial walk through the square and into the maze of alleys was slightly alarming but the Riad is an oasis where you feel comfortable and cared about. It is very simple and clean with good basic food (not brilliantly comfortable to eat on sofas but we got used to it). Information about the open top tour bus would have been useful (we found out from other guests) and although we enjoyed our trip to the Atlas mountains we would have liked a guide who gave some information about Morrocco and the things that we were passing - rather a wasted opportunity. The massage was wonderful (thank you) and I would have liked to have watched some Tagine preparation - an opportunity for you at the Riad! There was a 'drains' smell in our room and I would take a solid air freshener and ensure that the drains in the shower and sink are always covered (water in a plastic bag does the trick). Some French helps, the ability to haggle in the souks, smile at everyone and enjoy the amazing sights and smells. If you want to have a drink, look for the bar off the main square round to the left - 3 floors up and Happy Hour - a good retreat. We had a very relaxing break and would stay again - far more interesting than huge hotels. Thank you to all who make the Riad Abhar what it is and the promised sunglasses will be sent!

Room Tip: Larger rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    88
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our stay started off with a hitch, we were travelling with friends and when we arrived we were told we would be staying in "the annexe" which happened to be the other side of the square, after expressing our displeasure they moved us back the next day which was just as well as the other place was rather sparse and stunk of drains.

Riad Abhar is a great little place, spotlessly clean with a lovely roof terrace perfect for a "sundowner" The food was excellent, breakfast plentyful and a different Tagine for dinner each day

We had a lovely room and our friends a suite which were serviced daily. The staff were polite, helpul and very friendly. We would definately recommend but just check first that you will be staying here and not "farmed out" would have given an excellent rating had it not been for the hitch at the start.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked as a family of 8 - 4 couples. We booked a KGB deal almost a year ago for our stay in March 2013 to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were only informed the day before we arrived that we were being booked into the annexe. Although this was beneficial to us as a group we were disappointed not to be able to enjoy the facilities of the main riad. We had our evening dinner there which looked good but lacked any substance.
Eamon looked after us in the annexe and went out of his way to ensure we had a very enjoyable stay and saved the day. However 2 out of the 4 rooms were very damp and we had lots of problems with the hot water - or lack of it. The annexe was also quite cold and would have benefited from some sun loungers on the terrace ( the main riad has loungers).
The main riad is much more attractive - insist on rooms there - but if you do get booked out Eamon is a star!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

A fantastic, traditional Riad. As a mother and daughter travelling to Marrakech for the first time we have been very happy with our accommodation. We wanted to do as traditional a holiday as we could and this place gave us the opportunity. The food was fantastic and we didn't have the same breakfast or dinner on any occasion. The staff were friendly and helpful when asked anything though the language barrier was an issue sometimes. Our room was cleaned, beds made and fresh towels left every day. A wonderful guide was arranged via the Riad, for free, to give us a tour and this was superb. To find a wonderful clean and welcoming place in the heart of the souks was amazing. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main Riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We returned here this year after an amazing stay last February. Last year had been a magical trip, staying in Riad Abhar with a lovely room, access to the superb roof terrace and the lovely breakfasts. We were really looking forward to returning. Had read reviews about people being moved to neighbouring riad when over-booked so emailed, wrote by mail and then emailed again to confirm we would be in the original main Riad. When we arrived, we weren't. We were across the street in a much smaller riad without the beautiful atrium area, seating and superb terrace. We were so disappointed, especially after the efforts I had gone to try to secure a room! The manager knew immediately we were really disappointed and offered to move us the next day into the main riad. Sadly this was then not possible, so we stayed where we were. He offered us a guided tour and free evening meal to compensate, which was really thoughtful. Sadly, we just really wanted to stay where we had booked. Being in the other riad you have to go to Riad Abhar for breakfast. The breakfasts were still lovely though. Unfortunately our room at the neighbouring riad, although lovely in style, was not serviced at all during our stay and there was no waste bin or toilet paper. It was also extremely cold. On departure we were offered a free transfer to the airport and the opportunity to return again to stay in the main house- would definitely take them up on this as it is stunning. A disappointing trip this time, but a lovely Riad- just check you are getting a room in the Riad you book!

Room Tip: Seek email confirmation you are in Riad Abhar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daleslass32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in Feb, was a little dubious when we were shown down little alleyway but once inside it was a very pleasant surprise, dinner was waiting for us (we went on a half board KGB deal) and a warm welcome with a map (showing exactly where we were) was provided. We has two glorious sunny days where we made most of roof terrace (there was a jacuzzi for use in summer I am guessing). Room was great and very very clean.. In fact the whole place was spotless. Breakfasts were varied each day with fresh orange, bread and pancakes, definitely enough to keep you going until lunch. Cannot complain about anything and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzydibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie, Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Abhar for a week on a kgb deal in late January/early February. We were met at the airport as agreed and thank goodness for that... we would never have found the Riad by ourselves. It is down an unmarked alley in the heart of the souks, but don't be frightened off by that. It was a lovely place to stay. Very clean and we enjoyed both the breakfasts and evening meals which came as part of the deal. There was a different tagine every night. Breakfast consisted of bread and cake or pancakes with jam and honey, as well as yoghurt and orange juice. Our deal also provided a tour of the medina which was very helpful and interesting. We discovered we were only about five minutes from the Jemaa El Fna square. The hammam visit was excellent, as was the massage (all included in our deal). We were offered advice on trips by Abdul. We did not actually go on any of them as we wanted to make the most of seeing Marrakech itself. We found the Riad very comfortable and quiet and felt safe in the city. Our room was quite dark and my husband found it difficult to shave with the amount of light available. However, that is only a small issue. We spent some time on the small sun terrace where there are some sunbeds and tables/chairs. We would certainly go back there in future.

Room Tip: Some rooms are definitely bigger than others and maybe have more light. Ours was a double on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisnBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#220 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#143 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#27 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasbah Chwiter
Kasbah Chwiter
#528 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Property: Riad ABHAR
Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing