We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great price and very quiet.”
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad ABHAR
Ranked #92 of 294 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Reviewed January 27, 2013

You would never imagine such a quiet and clean place in the heart of the Souks. A perfect location for first time visitors to Marrakech and everything within easy walking distance. As mother & daughter travellers, we found this a great place to stay. Friendly, relaxed and very comfortable for such an excellent price. We did not do any of the tours and instead spent 5 days exploring the whole of Marrakech ourselves. Everyone was incredibly friendly and if we did get lost, there was always someone to assist. It took us a day to get used to the bartering and learning how to avoid the numerous bicycles and mopeds that insist on flying through the Souks! We were going to hire a car to see some of the outlying area.....I drive around 20,000 miles per year and am used to driving on the M25, M1 and the M6 as well as in central London, I drive regularly in the USA and driven extensively in France......but Marrakech.......I just couldn't have done it as there appear to be very few rules, other than every car and man for himself!! Pleased we went in January as it was such good weather but without lots of heat which meant we could be outside all day and even eat outside at night! We also managed to avoid all of the snow back in the UK!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms were probably bigger than the downstairs. Rooms quite dark but that's a good thin...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Riad ABHAR
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and found this little riad to be both clean and friendly. The food was of a good standard at both breakfast and evening meal.Also included in the price of our stay was a walking tour and trip to a local hamman which were both excellent. As a budget riad right in the heart of the souks this is a great place to stay !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank souey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Abhar just after Christmas from 27 thru 1st of January. It was a wonderful place to stay. Location is superb just in the middle of the Medina and easy access to everywhere. In general it was quiet and only maybe last night we had some music till late but it was New Years. The room was fine. We had a suite as i stayed with my son, so one double and one divan. The staff did everything to make our stay confortable. The breakfest was excellent and fresh. Every day something else, pancakes, cake etc. I asked for egg as i cannot eat to much sweets which was provided everyday, fresh presse Orange jus and Moroccan tea.
The place is clean and the girl who cleaned my room was very accomdating and sweet. She even washed some laundry. Upstairs terrace is very nice. Espec it was not hot now, so lovely to sit there during day time. I certainly recommomend you to stay at this place eventhough i thought maybe you can get cheaper rooms, but for us it was a perfect stay. In general i found Marrakech too expensive, but i have the idea that it was due to the Christmas holidays....Enjoy your stay and give my warm regards to Abul, Hussein and the girls!!!

Room Tip: My rooms was quiet but a bit dark... i guess you can ask whatever you prefer... but it was spacious...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardistice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights over my birthday! We've had a great experience! The riad itself is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable.Good dinners and breakfasts. As it was my birthday they surprised me with a beautiful birthday cake which made my stay even more special! Would definitely stay again, we loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyday0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed here when we visited Marrakech, We were greeted at the airport, given breakfast and dinner every day, the room was clean and the staff friendly. We took the walking tour and also had a massage at the Riad. Staying at Riad Abhar was one of the best value places we have ever stayed and it helped us enjoy the rest of our holiday, they helped us with sightseeing, we wanted to go on a road trip so they arranged a driver and also took us around sights surrounding Marrakech. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've just come back from a week staying in the family room at this Riad and had a wonderful time. We booked using a KGB deal and were met at the airport by one of the friendly tourist drivers who had obvious links with the Riad and became our driver for our stay. As with other reviews - it is definitely advisable to be met at the airport - whilst it is easy to find the Riad when you know where it is, it would be a nightmare to locate for the first time on your own.
The Riad pre-arranged all the pricing and travel for our excursions - we went to the Atlas mountains and climbed a waterfall, we visited Essouira for the day, and we went on a tour of the souks. We also wanted to go out for a special meal one night for a birthday treat and the friendly team at the Riad kindly recommended Yacout and arranged it all for us - it was one of the most spectacular venues and meals we have ever experienced.
The Riad itself was a peaceful retreat in a fantastic location in the heart of the souks - less than a 5 minute walk from the main square. The room was full of Moroccan charm and had the fridge, air conditioning and hair dryer promised. The roof terrace was a nice peaceful spot with shade and sun, and although the sunbeds weren't brand new, we used them happily. The top level had a great panoramic view of the Medina over to the main square and the Minaret.
The team at the Riad were really helpful, friendly and accommodating. Their English was good, and between that and our limited French, communication was easy. They also offered us sound advice on the right price to be paying for things (which was very useful as the haggling for the uninitiated can be a bit of a minefield!). They worked tirelessly cleaning from top to bottom daily. One tip is to keep the plughole closed in the bathroom to avoid any drain smells - after we quickly worked this out everything was perfect. The food was great - both breakfasts and dinners, and the team did their best to cater for the kids (aged 3 and 7) - bringing out extra yoghurts and jam. We enjoyed our complimentary massage - everyone who visits Morocco has to have one!
We would thoroughly recommend staying at this Riad and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HSC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here in 2011, and again in October 2012. They now have 5 riads, and I have stayed at 3. this time I stayed at Abhar 2. The property is in an excellent location, a mere 3 minute stroll to the Djema el fna, but far enough to have a quiet oasis away from the mayhem !. The staff is excellent, the property beautiful and spotlessly clean. I was trying to arrange onward transportation from Marrakesh to Essaouira over Eid, and when I asked for suggestions from the Houria (staff), she actually remembered me from the previous year and arranged for free transportation in the company van for two of us..yes free! This is just one example of how staff can be such a benefit to your travels, they make certain to make your holiday as carefree as possible. I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone ..it is a gem and I will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonMcRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
1,266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#239 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#201 of 502 in Marrakech
764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#82 of 1,159 in Marrakech
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#446 of 502 in Marrakech
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 294 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing