We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful people manage a beautiful place”
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad ABHAR
Ranked #85 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Parma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful people manage a beautiful place”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Excellent experience. Perfectly located (even if, at first sight, the narrow street that lead to the Riad didn't make a nice impression) managed by nice, kind, available and professional young people. Great room with 6 windows and a little living room. The dinner has been one of the best in Marrakech! I would definetely reccomand. The balance between cost and quality is extremely positive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoniqueParma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    88
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Just spent the last 6 nights in Riah Abhar and i can positively say it was a lovely experience and one definitely to recommend. When we first arrived to Marrakech it was Eid so the square and streets were extremely quiet, we had to dropped off on the main road at the bus stand and had to lug our luggage through all the streets, with a few people around we kept going round in circles and Riad Abhar is in a very quiet little street in Rahba Kadeema. Tired and frustrated we finally found the hotel and we were given a lovely room and a great welcome. Breakfast every morning was something new and very nice and the staff were extremely lovely and helpful. We had a few issues with the smell from the bathroom and water draining however that was solved quickly and we really felt a part of the hotel. The massages are lovely however we cant say the same for the henna or exchange as we done those in the square. The fact its very near to the souks and the square is great. For the experience and the hospitality i would recommend people to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NarmeenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calahorra, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at the Riad enjoying a coupon so the price was fair enough for it (3 nights and 4 days 180 euros aprox.)

The location is fab although my first impression was no good at all (I could not believe an accomodation could be located in a street with no exit!!, I though the "transporter-guide" would robber us!!!). The staff is friendly. Rooms and premises are clean. Breakfast is good and dinner as well although the price is much more expensive than if you go out for dinner somewhere else.

During the weekend, the neighbour played the TV extremely loud so we could not open the window during the night however, during the week the nights were quiet and nice.

The Riad offers you the possibility of:
* massages that I do recommend
* brushing, fair enough
* henna - it might not be 100% natural so I have allergic reaction. Taste it first of applying.
* tours - very recommended

You can exchange currency there as well however, we found that Hotel Ali has better exchanged rate at that time.

I do recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abertay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel was a perfect stay for us. However a little hard to find since it was pouring when we arrived, ut we immediately felt comfortable once we got in to the hotel. Good location, nice breakfast, nice rooms. Good value for the money definately!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helsime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This riad is stunningly beautiful, with rooms off a central square. There is lots of comfortable communal space, including a fab terrace for sunbathing or relaxing in the evenings, which was great for getting away from the hustle and bustle. The room we had was small but light and gorgeously decorated, with a lovely hot shower. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and provided free tea/coffee whenever we wanted. We could have breakfast whatever time we wanted too, which was always tasty and fresh. The location is great, but it wasn't very easy to find at first (it is very near Dar TimTam, so follow signs for that). The main souq you have to walk through is full of some real characters! They have an 'interesting' taste in music, which during the day is sometimes loud, but it stops in the evening and it just adds to the atmosphere of the place. We did have to pay with cash tho, which surprised us. Overall, an amazing place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PurpillJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We ended up at Abhar, after their 'sister' riad overbooked their rooms and couldn't accommodate us. Abhar was a fine place, until it came time to pay. After originally claiming to accept credit cards, they suddenly didn't accept them on the morning of departure. They photocopied my cc and my passport, and asked me to write a note - giving them permission to bill me for the stay. Once again...fine. After a week, I received a very nasty email, accusing us of fraud and threatening legal action because VISA wouldn't process their payment. (not surprising -- they were using a photocopy!) I ended up paying in cash, but not before being completely turned off by the way the riad was run. fine place to sleep, but managed by jumpy, easily angered people.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anothernickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,146 in Marrakech
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#100 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Property: Riad ABHAR
Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing