We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better than morrocian standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Kennaria
Ranked #362 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
czech republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Better than morrocian standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

After 11days expirience with morroco this hotel was fine. We stayed for 4 nights. Although there were 2 day of national holiday, owner of hotel prepare lunch for guests, because most of restaurants in city were closed. Rooms with windows to the street are noisy a little bit. Place of Hotel is very good.
We did not have any issues with tidiness od room. I recommend checking the room before check in, because this is general for any hotel in morroco.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pdadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    61
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
28
43
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Terrible experience staying here. I am very confused as to why other reviews for this 'hotel' are positive. It wasn't clean - the floors were dirty, our sheets had holes in them, there were hairs on my pillowcase as well as henna stains, the light in our bathroom didn't work, there was something that resembled a cockroach in our room etc. They played loud music until we asked if they were going to turn it off. The breakfast was very poor. But the worst thing about the whole experience was the customer service. It was awful. Needless to say we didn't stay here after our first night. I am used to staying in hostels and basic accommodation but this was below par indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

one of the best hostels, I've ever stayed at. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. I'm definitely coming back to this hostel ! Located right in the center of the medina and only one block away from the Jamaa el Fna square, this hostel is a great place to explore the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were two families with children travelling in Morocco. Our friends first stayed at El Kennaria and had a rather good experience. The rooms were a bit noisy, but the staff was friendly and arranged a nice meal at a restaurant which was opening in the evening. We went all together and spent a nice evening. Since we had to come back to Marrakech at the end of our trip, we booked two family rooms. I personally asked the manager to help me with cancelling another reservation through his computer, and to keep two rooms on the back because they are more quiet. But when we arrived (it was not late, maybe seven in the evening) he said there had been "a problem with planning" and we were offered a single room (two double beds and two single beds squeezed in) for seven people. We were very disappointed about this handling but would have accepted to stay for that night, if the manger would have gone down with the price. We expected they would aknowledge their mistake and be compliant. Moreover, we had to get up at five in the morning to get our flight, so we did not even need to have breakfast. But they offered just a little discount on the room price and were uncompromising. Not really a guest-oriented behaviour: a real pity!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mluisa_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the hotel I choose to stay at when I am in Marrakech. It's a charming little place and the staff could not be more helpful. The staff is there to help in anyway possible.
The downstairs area is decorated nicely in Moroccan style, while the top terrace where breakfast is served is open and sunny.
Some evenings, a small improvised musical jam 'happens' and we are entertained with great music.
I like the location, just a couple of minutes walk from the medina and souk, but still quiet enough. You just walk out the door and there you are - everything at your fingertips.
I notice many families at this hotel, and there are different types of rooms, to accommodate everyone's needs.
I thoroughly recommend El Kennaria.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuatarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A popular hotel as was brought up by various online search engines; although a basic offering of accommodation, whatever luxury was lacking was most definitely made up for by the friendly and helpful staff that were at our service, namely; Kamal (proprietor), Nurdin and Aadil - although not proprietors treated us as though we were guests in their own homes, and a few other assistants. We travelled to morocco as a group of ladies on our own, and the guys made sure we were 100% safe throughout our stay; advising what to do and what not to do/eat/drink etc. Also, great care was taken to ensure we did not have to leave the hotel unnecessarily late at night if felt like having any particular type of food etc, and someone was sent to collect it for us. Our visit was for 7 nights through which, we travelled up to Fes for a night n returned the next day, all with a personal driver Idriss- whom Aadil had appointed to us. Although not with us in Fes, Aadil had made a provision for us to be given a tour of the places we wanted to visit, ensuring we covered everything we wanted to in such a short space of time. He gave us all the right advice and realistic suggestions to make our short holiday as fruitful as possible. On the last day on reaching the airport whilst we were waiting to check in for our return flight, Nurdin turned up with something one of us had forgot at the hotel; if that isn't personal and great customer service, then i don't know what is!

I, along with the other ladies I travelled with were all very happy with the hotel and the service, and most definately would stay at el kennaria during any subsequent visits to Morocco, and would recommend anyone else to also do so. We would like to thank all the guys for all their help and assistance to ensure we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: we were on upper floor so were able to hear and see the local hustle bustle through the streets and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kussy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This riad was really pleasant. Despite the rooms being rather basic (and I mean only beds, bedside-tables and cupboard), the atmosphere was gorgeous, and the positives definitely outweigh the negatives.
Pros: We saw a few other families, so we could see that this was a nice family-friendly riad.
Less than a 2 minute walk from the main square (Djema El Fna) and the stunning souks
The manager (Hassan) was truly a wonderful host, telling us about top attractions, the best food places, and even how to haggle for good prices!
The roof top had a large seating area, and recliners, so it was a lovely place to have a sunny breakfast, and there was enough space for kids to run about. There was a bit of Bob Marley playing from speakers as well. Nice.
The breakfast consisted of eggs, delicious orange juice (very refreshing), mint tea, Moroccan pancakes, Berber bread, butter and hot milk. A good meal to start off the day, but a change in menu would have been nice.
The cleaning of the rooms was very prompt, and all the staff were lovely.

Cons: As said before, very basic rooms. The bathrooms were quite basic, and needed a bit modernizing. Maybe a few hooks, shelves and a larger mirror.
The terrace area could have been a tiny bit cleaner.

Overall, good for families and friends, a good atmosphere, and very very convenient location. Brilliant value for money, and I would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#158 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#94 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#171 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#255 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#160 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Douja
Riad Douja
#543 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Property: Hotel El Kennaria
Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Kennaria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing