We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, super clean! highly recommended.”
Review of Hotel El Kennaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Kennaria
Ranked #338 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

one of the best hostels, I've ever stayed at. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. I'm definitely coming back to this hostel ! Located right in the center of the medina and only one block away from the Jamaa el Fna square, this hostel is a great place to explore the medina.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieVivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 188 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were two families with children travelling in Morocco. Our friends first stayed at El Kennaria and had a rather good experience. The rooms were a bit noisy, but the staff was friendly and arranged a nice meal at a restaurant which was opening in the evening. We went all together and spent a nice evening. Since we had to come back to Marrakech at the end of our trip, we booked two family rooms. I personally asked the manager to help me with cancelling another reservation through his computer, and to keep two rooms on the back because they are more quiet. But when we arrived (it was not late, maybe seven in the evening) he said there had been "a problem with planning" and we were offered a single room (two double beds and two single beds squeezed in) for seven people. We were very disappointed about this handling but would have accepted to stay for that night, if the manger would have gone down with the price. We expected they would aknowledge their mistake and be compliant. Moreover, we had to get up at five in the morning to get our flight, so we did not even need to have breakfast. But they offered just a little discount on the room price and were uncompromising. Not really a guest-oriented behaviour: a real pity!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mluisa_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the hotel I choose to stay at when I am in Marrakech. It's a charming little place and the staff could not be more helpful. The staff is there to help in anyway possible.
The downstairs area is decorated nicely in Moroccan style, while the top terrace where breakfast is served is open and sunny.
Some evenings, a small improvised musical jam 'happens' and we are entertained with great music.
I like the location, just a couple of minutes walk from the medina and souk, but still quiet enough. You just walk out the door and there you are - everything at your fingertips.
I notice many families at this hotel, and there are different types of rooms, to accommodate everyone's needs.
I thoroughly recommend El Kennaria.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuatarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A popular hotel as was brought up by various online search engines; although a basic offering of accommodation, whatever luxury was lacking was most definitely made up for by the friendly and helpful staff that were at our service, namely; Kamal (proprietor), Nurdin and Aadil - although not proprietors treated us as though we were guests in their own homes, and a few other assistants. We travelled to morocco as a group of ladies on our own, and the guys made sure we were 100% safe throughout our stay; advising what to do and what not to do/eat/drink etc. Also, great care was taken to ensure we did not have to leave the hotel unnecessarily late at night if felt like having any particular type of food etc, and someone was sent to collect it for us. Our visit was for 7 nights through which, we travelled up to Fes for a night n returned the next day, all with a personal driver Idriss- whom Aadil had appointed to us. Although not with us in Fes, Aadil had made a provision for us to be given a tour of the places we wanted to visit, ensuring we covered everything we wanted to in such a short space of time. He gave us all the right advice and realistic suggestions to make our short holiday as fruitful as possible. On the last day on reaching the airport whilst we were waiting to check in for our return flight, Nurdin turned up with something one of us had forgot at the hotel; if that isn't personal and great customer service, then i don't know what is!

I, along with the other ladies I travelled with were all very happy with the hotel and the service, and most definately would stay at el kennaria during any subsequent visits to Morocco, and would recommend anyone else to also do so. We would like to thank all the guys for all their help and assistance to ensure we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: we were on upper floor so were able to hear and see the local hustle bustle through the streets and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kussy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This riad was really pleasant. Despite the rooms being rather basic (and I mean only beds, bedside-tables and cupboard), the atmosphere was gorgeous, and the positives definitely outweigh the negatives.
Pros: We saw a few other families, so we could see that this was a nice family-friendly riad.
Less than a 2 minute walk from the main square (Djema El Fna) and the stunning souks
The manager (Hassan) was truly a wonderful host, telling us about top attractions, the best food places, and even how to haggle for good prices!
The roof top had a large seating area, and recliners, so it was a lovely place to have a sunny breakfast, and there was enough space for kids to run about. There was a bit of Bob Marley playing from speakers as well. Nice.
The breakfast consisted of eggs, delicious orange juice (very refreshing), mint tea, Moroccan pancakes, Berber bread, butter and hot milk. A good meal to start off the day, but a change in menu would have been nice.
The cleaning of the rooms was very prompt, and all the staff were lovely.

Cons: As said before, very basic rooms. The bathrooms were quite basic, and needed a bit modernizing. Maybe a few hooks, shelves and a larger mirror.
The terrace area could have been a tiny bit cleaner.

Overall, good for families and friends, a good atmosphere, and very very convenient location. Brilliant value for money, and I would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

sorry, but shower is cold after 10 in the morning, electricity is VERY DANGEROUS INDEED ('we will send someone to fix it'), a cold and wet and tired cyclist neighbour had to wait for an hour for a clean towel, begging several times did not help ('no problem, it comes', rooms are around an internal patio, music and people loud till late late, very average, but the price is modest too, and it's very close to the great square, and the great Café Berganziz is right next to it!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with at least safe electricity and close to the enrance, if you want wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamPitzalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very cozy Riad.. warm interior and warm smile of the personal... true Marockan atmosphere.. nice breakfast... and i have been in other places.. but here no problem.. nice pancakes.. bread... fresh juice coffe... And of course the breakfast is served at the roof terrace by the sunrise... service smooth and easy.. easy access to Marrakesh big square, taxis, buses, souk...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 142Milosz142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#103 of 499 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#266 of 499 in Marrakech
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#339 of 499 in Marrakech
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#267 of 1,186 in Marrakech
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aday
Hotel Aday
#401 of 1,186 in Marrakech
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#397 of 1,186 in Marrakech
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Kennaria

Address: 10 rue El Kennaria, Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $35 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Kennaria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing