We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Ranked #53 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A relaxing getaway”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at the Four Seasons Marrakech for 2 nights on the weekend.
First impression upon check-in was bad. There was a mixup regarding the reservation. The room (superior king) has already been paid for but the check-in agent insisted on charging my credit card the equivalent of 700 EUR as a guarantee. The check-in agent (a moroccan man) even told me: "but if we don't have a guarantee, who is going to pay for the room ?". I thought it was rude and unprofessional, especially when it was his fault for not checking the info correctly on his file. After going back-and-forth between the reception and the lobby, it turned out i was right and I was escorted to my room without any explanation or apology. Not a great start, and certainly not the standard of Four Seasons !
The rest of the stay was lovely and uneventful. The poolside, spa, and breakfast staff were all very helpful and smiling. The room is very nice. The bathroom experience is definitely a must, bathroom amenities (L'Occitane) a plus. Balcony with reading corner is a treat. Turndown service at night very nice. And the dark tiled adult pool was the perfect balance between relaxation and fun.
Breakfast buffet was good, although not fantastic.
I also happened to lose my swimsuit which I wrapped in a towel in the room. Housekeeping took away the towel, and I only noticed this the following morning. Staff were very professional and managed to find it for me at the laundry building.
Overall, a nice and relaxing hotel in a lush surrounding. Reception staff needs to be trained further, and needs to respect hotel guests.
I would probably stay at the Four Seasons Marrakech again.

Room Tip: Superior room i good, though there isn't much of a view.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank HassanBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    192
    51
    16
    11
See reviews for
365
410
38
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had been to Marrakech 8 years ago and had stayed at La Mamoumia and when we heard that there was a Four seasons which had opened up, we decided to go as it also coincided with half term. Marrakech is an interesting place. Its changed a lot in the 8 years when we were there last, become much more touristy but the good thing is that the Four seasons is about 10 minutes from the Medina and 10 min from the Airport so you can have a haven of peace away from the Medina. Inside the hotel compound it really is peace and tranquility.
We have stayed at numerous Four Seasons across the globe as we know what to expect and we are seldom let down. Sadly this hotel appears to be having some teething problems which are easily rectifiable. Management appear to missing and the staff try quite hard. There is a sprinkling of foreign staff, lower than most Four Seasons i have been to. The locals try but there doesn't appear to be much direction. I ordered some lunch at the family pool and after an hour i decided to give up and went to the main Azzera restaurant. The following day, I was told i had left without waiting for lunch. On another occassion we stayed in and had dinner at the Solano restaurant. After waiting for about hour for the main course, the food arrived but cold. The food was sent back and once again we waited for the food to arrive but this time we gave up and left. Also the rooms were made over later on in the day, often i had to phone to request it. The turndown in the evening was hit and miss in that on a few occassions it wasn't done. The main gripes we have with the hotel is the service, people just forget. This is just not the type of service that Four Season is renouned for.

The positives. The hotel is near enough to the medina but yet far enough so that you can escape the hustle and bustle. The hotel has complimentary cars to the medina after 18:00 which is a nice touch (you have to make your own way back). Finally a Four Seasons that gives you complimentary Wifi ( yes, its free !! ). People have commented on the fact that it does lack some Morrocan heritage, which is probably true. I liked the light and airy feel of the hotel but it could easily have been a Four Season in any big city rather than one in Marrakech.

A nice hotel which is somewhat let down by poor service and an absence of management.

Room Tip: Grab those Cabanas early as they all disappear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear SFRLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort after your recent stay with us and please allow me to apologize for not having met your expectations. Everytime we receive feedback, we take it seriously, review it with Managers and share both the negatives and positives with our employees. Your review was very detailed and we were able to identify certain areas of need and are addressing these.

If you would like to discuss any additional points, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 00212 661 46 73 58. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our first trip to Marrakech and Morocco was motivated by the opportunity to stay at the Four Seasons Resort and we were not let down. From our VIP arrival and transfer at the airport to our upgrade to a Deluxe Room on arrival... all under the cover of darkness. Large water bottles and a selection of cakes and fruit bowl upon entering the room were just what we needed after a day of airports and planes.

We awoke on our first morning to a huge private terrace with sun lounges and outdoor dining setting and a view over one of the two large pool areas on offer (one for families and one quieter area for couples). The resort must be only 2-3 years old as everything was in perfect 'new' condition - as you'd expect from Four Seasons, but from time to time is not always the case at top hotels. The room was very spacious, a walk-in robe, separate bathroom and toilets, large shower and giant bath tub.

Concierge Patricia was outstanding in helping transform our holiday from an exquisite stay at the Four Seasons to an exceptional visit to Marrakech. She organised dining options in the Medina, a guide through the Souks (markets) and perhaps one of our all-time travel highlights - a private tour of the tiny Atlas Mountains village of Toulkine where we had lunch with a Berber family.

The pool areas are magnificent and importantly provided a logical delineation between couples wanting quiet time by the pool and families with children who were each able to enjoy the facilities free of each others disruption. The spa was sensational, and reasonably priced. They even arranged bunch of flowers and sang 'happy birthday' for my partner - a nice personal touch. The gym well appointed with all the mod-cons, although I only got to use it once!

We dined at the Blue Orange for some traditional Moroccan cuisine, this was pleasant as was the Moroccan wine which we'd previously not sampled. The breakfast buffet presented endless options and the room service was exceptional - service of a very high standard and priced fairly too.

Thank you Jean-Claude and the whole team at Four Seasons Marrakech for making our first trip to Morocco a memorable one and a destination we are sure to visit again.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Room 220 overlooks the pool from the middle floor and is at the end of the hall so has no passing fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Strange thing is I'm sat here in the Four Seasons Marrakesh writing this! There are better hotels in the Four Seasons chain and many others! Having stayed in four of the chain now I think sitting here half way through the 7 night stay writing this speaks for itself. Not believing what I had read on trip advisor and having had great experiences in previous stays with the hotel group we packed our bags and here we are. Hotel is great, well designed rooms , great looking pool and all in all a great location. So why the low mark......service service service or real serious lack of it. Never before have I seen such chaos as here,that being said the local staff are great and friendly but if you are prepared to wait in excess of half an hour for a drink, if you want to struggle to get food, if you want to watch the management throw staff at a busy period in the Azzere restaurant which meant the ratio of staff to guests was 2 to 1 but still fail to manage it thats great but not what im paying for. We felt sorry as we watched staff running round being given no direction and also found it embarrassing . I am a great believer in when you stay in a hotel you shouldn't really need to reserve a table for dinner too, well that all depends if they get a little busy you will get "Have you a reservation Sir" where exactly in the hotel does it say I need to reserve, nowhere unless it suits them. Staff are great Management poor with no management skills at all meaning they are ruining what should be another flag ship hotel. If you have come just for sun and a relax go to Four Seasons in Sharm where you will get the service period.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Mr judeHull,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, especially while you are staying with us, so that we can speak with you in person and make things right for you. Please let us know when we can meet to discuss this further as we want to make sure you leave the resort happy and come back.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
212 661 46 73 58
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I just spent 3 days at the four seasons in Marrakech. Not much to complain about but there are simply many other options at the same price point in Marrakesh. Definitely a 5 star experience but here are the drawbacks: The design does little to respect its local surroundings and charm, it looks and feels like a 4 seasons too much- at times you could think you're in Palm Springs, not Marrakesh. There is something austere that permeates the whole experience, the bar, the restaurant, the pavilion room I had was very large but only a marble floor, was also so far away from the main building that I had to be driven in a golf cart. Fine for a quick business trip but not up to the standard of the other great properties in Marrakesh, The 2 days prior I spent at La Mamounia were truly special.

Room Tip: Do not take a Pavilion room, it is entirely too far from the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloni777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Iloni 777,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. I am sorry that your experience was not what you had expected but rest assured that we take all reviews seriously and tryi to improve on the main issues raised.

Our Resort is indeed very different from other more traditional hotels in Marrakech: We are a modern, contemporary Urban Resort Oasis (only 3 km from the Medina), with Moroccan touches throughout and the friendly Four Seasons service.

We are continuing to improve on the Moroccan touches to give our International guests even more local flavor: From the tea man upon arrival, the dates, nuts and olives served in the lobby and the Moroccan Olive oil tastings we organize on occasion, to the Zelige tile work, the Moroccan Artists paintings and the beautiful Moroccan furniture throughout the resort.

Again, I thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back soon at the resort.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a superb hotel. Our room was lovely and the staff were fastidious in their desire to make our stay stress free and enjoyable. There were so many great touches. If we left our books lying around in the room the staff popped in a book mark for us; if we took a taxi from the hotel they provided us with fresh water bottles for the journey; they provided us with free water melon and ice cream when sitting round the pool. The general manager was attentive and responsive to our comments and has done a great job in ensuring his staff follow strict guidelines in customer service. Food although a little on the pricey side was extremely well-presented and tasty. Thank you Four Seasons. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As usual, Four Seasons perfection. Our room was spacious and immaculate. The staff were top-notch and service was excellent. The FS Marrakech has done a wonderful job of incorporating local design and flair into this property while balancing the brand's usual tasteful neutral style. At this property, you know you're in Morocco- from the plethora of beautiful lanterns, elaborate archways, the man serving mint tea in the lobby- the whole hotel is beautiful. The grounds are gorgeous- palm trees everywhere. They have done a great job with this hotel. It's also a great location, very close to the Medina but away from the hustle and bustle. I've been wanting to go to Morocco for a long time, and when the FS opened a hotel in Marrakech, I knew it was time to go! Just a perfect stay all around. You can't go wrong with a FS!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
1.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#62 of 499 in Marrakech
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 499 in Marrakech
1,969 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Property: Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing