We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Seasons Marrakesh I'm here now weiting a review, what's that say!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Ranked #52 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Strange thing is I'm sat here in the Four Seasons Marrakesh writing this! There are better hotels in the Four Seasons chain and many others! Having stayed in four of the chain now I think sitting here half way through the 7 night stay writing this speaks for itself. Not believing what I had read on trip advisor and having had great experiences in previous stays with the hotel group we packed our bags and here we are. Hotel is great, well designed rooms , great looking pool and all in all a great location. So why the low mark......service service service or real serious lack of it. Never before have I seen such chaos as here,that being said the local staff are great and friendly but if you are prepared to wait in excess of half an hour for a drink, if you want to struggle to get food, if you want to watch the management throw staff at a busy period in the Azzere restaurant which meant the ratio of staff to guests was 2 to 1 but still fail to manage it thats great but not what im paying for. We felt sorry as we watched staff running round being given no direction and also found it embarrassing . I am a great believer in when you stay in a hotel you shouldn't really need to reserve a table for dinner too, well that all depends if they get a little busy you will get "Have you a reservation Sir" where exactly in the hotel does it say I need to reserve, nowhere unless it suits them. Staff are great Management poor with no management skills at all meaning they are ruining what should be another flag ship hotel. If you have come just for sun and a relax go to Four Seasons in Sharm where you will get the service period.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Mr judeHull,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, especially while you are staying with us, so that we can speak with you in person and make things right for you. Please let us know when we can meet to discuss this further as we want to make sure you leave the resort happy and come back.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
212 661 46 73 58

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,280)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

I just spent 3 days at the four seasons in Marrakech. Not much to complain about but there are simply many other options at the same price point in Marrakesh. Definitely a 5 star experience but here are the drawbacks: The design does little to respect its local surroundings and charm, it looks and feels like a 4 seasons too much- at times you could think you're in Palm Springs, not Marrakesh. There is something austere that permeates the whole experience, the bar, the restaurant, the pavilion room I had was very large but only a marble floor, was also so far away from the main building that I had to be driven in a golf cart. Fine for a quick business trip but not up to the standard of the other great properties in Marrakesh, The 2 days prior I spent at La Mamounia were truly special.

Room Tip: Do not take a Pavilion room, it is entirely too far from the rest of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lloni777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Iloni 777,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. I am sorry that your experience was not what you had expected but rest assured that we take all reviews seriously and tryi to improve on the main issues raised.

Our Resort is indeed very different from other more traditional hotels in Marrakech: We are a modern, contemporary Urban Resort Oasis (only 3 km from the Medina), with Moroccan touches throughout and the friendly Four Seasons service.

We are continuing to improve on the Moroccan touches to give our International guests even more local flavor: From the tea man upon arrival, the dates, nuts and olives served in the lobby and the Moroccan Olive oil tastings we organize on occasion, to the Zelige tile work, the Moroccan Artists paintings and the beautiful Moroccan furniture throughout the resort.

Again, I thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back soon at the resort.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a superb hotel. Our room was lovely and the staff were fastidious in their desire to make our stay stress free and enjoyable. There were so many great touches. If we left our books lying around in the room the staff popped in a book mark for us; if we took a taxi from the hotel they provided us with fresh water bottles for the journey; they provided us with free water melon and ice cream when sitting round the pool. The general manager was attentive and responsive to our comments and has done a great job in ensuring his staff follow strict guidelines in customer service. Food although a little on the pricey side was extremely well-presented and tasty. Thank you Four Seasons. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As usual, Four Seasons perfection. Our room was spacious and immaculate. The staff were top-notch and service was excellent. The FS Marrakech has done a wonderful job of incorporating local design and flair into this property while balancing the brand's usual tasteful neutral style. At this property, you know you're in Morocco- from the plethora of beautiful lanterns, elaborate archways, the man serving mint tea in the lobby- the whole hotel is beautiful. The grounds are gorgeous- palm trees everywhere. They have done a great job with this hotel. It's also a great location, very close to the Medina but away from the hustle and bustle. I've been wanting to go to Morocco for a long time, and when the FS opened a hotel in Marrakech, I knew it was time to go! Just a perfect stay all around. You can't go wrong with a FS!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons Resort for four nights in a Premier room (490 EUR/night) with a great view on the entire resort and the Atlas Mountains. We enjoyed a fantastic time in Marrakech and also had a good time in the hotel, but the hotel was failing on some key points it just shouldn't. We have informed the concierge on our second day and the receptionist at departure, but there was no reaction from the hotel.

The hotel is located between the airport and the Medina. It takes around 10 minutes to get to "la place" at a cost of around 30 to 50 MAD in a mini taxi.

The facilities of the hotel are great. The spa is reasonably priced and is very relaxing. The staff at the reception, the concierge, and the guys at the taxi pick up were outstandingly nice and helpful. The resort is quite large and has to offer something for everyone.

Room service is highly inconsistent. It's so inconsistent that you can't believe it, especially when considering that it should be a five star hotel. No replacement of empty shower gel bottles, missing toilet paper, taking away half full bottles of water and not replacing them, not making up the room, etc... we called the room service number at least 20 times during our stay. And the best, the next day they made the very same mistakes - unbelievable. I've traveled in many five star hotels around the world and I'm generally not that picky, but it was just so noticeable.

One evening we decided to eat at the Blue Orange restaurant in the resort. The venue is quite spectacular but that was quickly destroyed by a disastrous service and a highly impolite manager. I must say that the staff and the processes in our company canteen are more professional than in this restaurant. And check your bills, they had errors in ours. The food was ok, but nothing special.

At breakfast they serve great pastries. During the week we had a very relaxed breakfast and almost everything seemed fine. Well, I ordered black tea every morning and they brought some herbal tea instead - each time. On Saturday morning there were more guests at breakfast and the managers were all running and commanding around, and you could feel and see that the staff were stressed by the presence of the managers.

Would we recommend the hotel? If you are not picky about an inconsistent room service and if you are willing to eat out every night, then I could recommend the hotel. But they should dramatically improve these elementary hotel service components.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are good.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwissGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear SwissGlobalTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for the invaluable feedback you have given us. I am sorry that your experience was not what you had expected but please know that we have already raised your concersn in regards to Room Service inconsistencies with our Chef and our Director of Food & Beverage and are taking the necessary steps to improve in this area.

Should you wish to discuss this further, I welcome your call at ++ 212 661 46 73 58 and again, I thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back soon at the resort to experience the improvements for yourself.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

A fairly inauspicious start - 20 minutes before the welcome drink arrived, dark room with a view of a nearby block of flats - eventually gave way to a thoroughly memorable and enjoyable stay. After a few other hiccups, the hotel number two, Nick Yarnell, moved us to a delightful suite with an equally delightful view. From that point on we could not fault the hotel. The staff (friendly and efficient), the amenities (kids and adult only pools), the rooftop bar (great DJ), and of course the food (varied and delicious), combined with highly professional hotel management means that we will return next year.

Room Tip: Management is very responsive. So if you have any issues raise them at once and don't wait to po...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Lovely property,great pools,comfortable rooms........had all the characteristics of what would be expected from a 4 Seasons Hotel. We arrived for a 13 night stay and were greeted with mint tea and a relaxed welcoming check in . The weather was fantastic and all fared well for a great restful vacation.
But..........our experience was marred by service inconsistency, a very average food choice (keep well clear of the Moroccan restaurant where they destroyed the traditional tagine), the noise from an open air roof top bar. and an over night pool cleaning team scraping heavy pool furniture across tiled surfaces.
Most people would only visit the hotel for a 3 or 4 night stay and want to take advantage of the variety of restaurants in Marrakech. So its difficult to build an interesting food offer at the hotel. But after 9 or so months of operation this should have been fixed.
The lack of service consistency is more surprising. Four nights without turn down;when it came there would be a night with water, then a night without. A night with replacement toiletries ,then a night without.Basically not the seamless service usually provided by 4 Seasons.
But I guess this is manageable.
But try 3 nights of broken sleep because of ridiculous noise levels. Two nights due to the the opening of a new open air roof top bar;which is set right in the centre of the resort over looking the children's pool. Standing in reception at 12.30 am asking that the DJ turn down the volume was not a great experience. The same happened the next night; having been promised that it would not happen again. Eventually on the second night the Front Office Manager came to the room and was visibly shocked by the noise level. But 2 nights of appalling late noise; more appropriate to the 18-30 Club, not a 4 Seasons was not fun
.And then a third night of noise as the pool team jet washed the pool area and didn't bother to lift the heavy sunbeds, but just scraped them across the floor.
Both of these examples seemed to illustrate just a lack of management fore-thought and eye for detail .Very disappointing.
To be fair ,the management team did re-act and refunded 2 nights of room charge and provided a complimentary dinner. But we would rather have had a relaxing time.
This hotel has potential to be very good...........................but needs work.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Mike B,

I would like to thank you for your very detailed feedback about our resort and at the same time apologize for not meeting your expectation on your recent stay.

You have raised very interesting points that we have reviewed with managers in Housekeeping, Restaurants and all other areas to address the points you have raised.

My apologies also for the noise level from Zest Rooftop Lounge: We were celebrating the opening of the lounge during your stay and had higher than usual noise levels. Please know that the Zest Lounge has since adapted a very laid back and soothing music lounge style, which does not affect our guests negatively at all.

Should you wish to discuss anf of this further, I welcome your call at ++ 212 661 46 73 58 and thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have you back soon at the resort to experience the improvements for yourself.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
1.1 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 502 in Marrakech
2,013 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $352 - $909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing