We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property has great potential but..............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Ranked #52 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This property has great potential but..............”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Lovely property,great pools,comfortable rooms........had all the characteristics of what would be expected from a 4 Seasons Hotel. We arrived for a 13 night stay and were greeted with mint tea and a relaxed welcoming check in . The weather was fantastic and all fared well for a great restful vacation.
But..........our experience was marred by service inconsistency, a very average food choice (keep well clear of the Moroccan restaurant where they destroyed the traditional tagine), the noise from an open air roof top bar. and an over night pool cleaning team scraping heavy pool furniture across tiled surfaces.
Most people would only visit the hotel for a 3 or 4 night stay and want to take advantage of the variety of restaurants in Marrakech. So its difficult to build an interesting food offer at the hotel. But after 9 or so months of operation this should have been fixed.
The lack of service consistency is more surprising. Four nights without turn down;when it came there would be a night with water, then a night without. A night with replacement toiletries ,then a night without.Basically not the seamless service usually provided by 4 Seasons.
But I guess this is manageable.
But try 3 nights of broken sleep because of ridiculous noise levels. Two nights due to the the opening of a new open air roof top bar;which is set right in the centre of the resort over looking the children's pool. Standing in reception at 12.30 am asking that the DJ turn down the volume was not a great experience. The same happened the next night; having been promised that it would not happen again. Eventually on the second night the Front Office Manager came to the room and was visibly shocked by the noise level. But 2 nights of appalling late noise; more appropriate to the 18-30 Club, not a 4 Seasons was not fun
.And then a third night of noise as the pool team jet washed the pool area and didn't bother to lift the heavy sunbeds, but just scraped them across the floor.
Both of these examples seemed to illustrate just a lack of management fore-thought and eye for detail .Very disappointing.
To be fair ,the management team did re-act and refunded 2 nights of room charge and provided a complimentary dinner. But we would rather have had a relaxing time.
This hotel has potential to be very good...........................but needs work.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Mike B,

I would like to thank you for your very detailed feedback about our resort and at the same time apologize for not meeting your expectation on your recent stay.

You have raised very interesting points that we have reviewed with managers in Housekeeping, Restaurants and all other areas to address the points you have raised.

My apologies also for the noise level from Zest Rooftop Lounge: We were celebrating the opening of the lounge during your stay and had higher than usual noise levels. Please know that the Zest Lounge has since adapted a very laid back and soothing music lounge style, which does not affect our guests negatively at all.

Should you wish to discuss anf of this further, I welcome your call at ++ 212 661 46 73 58 and thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have you back soon at the resort to experience the improvements for yourself.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    194
    51
    16
    11
See reviews for
378
414
38
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed for five nights in May - very hot (41C).

The hotel is on the whole very good, with some minor issues that were dealt with in one of the most professional reactions I have seen from a hotel and it's management team.

Pros:
* Very well designed
* Gardens are superb for a hotel open less than a year
* Excellent beds - as with all FS hotels
* Breakfast is fairly limited compared to Dubai and SE Asian 5* hotels, but sometimes less is more - the fruit was delicious and the omlettes to order very tasty. The milk seemed to be UHT, so we switched to espressos - as many as you can handle!
* Great staff - genuinely friendly and aimed to please
* Superb pool area (adults and kids pools both brilliant and brilliantly separate)
* Transfer and immigration clearance was slick
* Free shuttles to local restuarants, whilst busy is actually a Mercedes and driver is there's just two of you - a nice touch
* Pool service was good
* Good management - Nick the GM was a good guy
* Saria the concierge was excellent - good suggestions and left printed notes confirming what she had booked - very helpful.

Cons:
* Checking in took too long for a hotel at <50% occupancy - lot's of people saying hello and shaking your hand etc. - they should really work out a way to do the check in formalities IN the room itself
* Room service/turn-down was a bit of a farce. Example: If you called to say "can you do this later whilst we we are out?" the response was "are you refusing the turn-down service?" Er, no not exactly......
* Mini-bar not re-stocked with beer and/or glasses
* Asked for extra coat-hangers - took 2 days
* Dirty cups/plates left outside room for two days...
* Laundry shrank two of my wife's tops.......I could go on, but it's more important to comment that although it took a few times to get the message across, when it hit Nick, the GM - they really were very serious at addressing our concerns. This was highly appreciated and shows the general ethos is one of "Let's do this better"....
* Check out was a bit of a palava
* Some of the lunch food isn't great - and at €20 for a salad which wasn't that fresh or good the need to sharpen up. That said the grilled chicken (it was actually fried which why it tasted so good!) was slightly addictive.
* Club sandwich at room service - that benchmark of a 5* hotel - was also average.

However the pros totally outweighed the teething problems with service. We had a great time and if you go in warm/hot weather, the pool is simply a lovely place to hang out, do laps and catch some rays.

The staff and the personality of the staff make it hard not to like this place. Add this to the great sunny climate, a 3 1/2 hour flight and a GMT timezone - this hotel and Marrakech itself is a wicked place for a long weekend.

In time, this could be a real ripper of a hotel. They must remember that some of the rooms are the same cost as an Aman resort and the service needs to up a notch - maybe not in friendliness - but in efficiency and competency.

Go if you can!

Room Tip: Pavillion rooms are near the pool - and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The service we received during our 5 days stay was nothing short of amazing. From the front desk to the pool boys to the cleaners, each member of staff seemed to be falling over themselves to ensure that our experience at the hotel would be an unforgettable one. We received an upgrade to a Pavillion room on arrival which was a lovely surprise. The grounds of the resort are immaculate and pools are spacious and inviting. I could go on forever with the superlatives but it wouldn't come close to capturing how good this hotel really is - everything you would expect from a Four Seasons and more. We cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Pool side "Pavilion" rooms are the best albeit a short walk from the main hotel and the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FisherE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were greeted and made so at ease, and we were upgraded to a Pavilion Suite which was amazing food decor whole experience outstanding,we have stayed at Amanjena and Kasbah Termadot and this was equal to both, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Front Desk manager outstanding so helpful

Negatives.........none

Room Tip: Pavilion Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Wonderful staff, personalized service; any hiccups were immediately attended to. To be so close to the city yet so far removed from the all the activity was the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were booked to stay 7 nights in a Deluxe room. We arrived late evening, and checked in, there were no cold towels or refreshments offered during this process, which is unusual for a Four Seasons. The hotel was only 20% occupied and we asked if we could pay for an upgrade to a Pavillion room, we were told, that these rooms were for families and very noisy.

So we were shown to our room, to say we were underwhelmed, is an understatement, the view from the room was what looked like a car park, This is very mean spirited of the Hotel, when it was so empty. So we called down and said we wanted to move rooms. After a 20 minute wait, someone came to show us some other rooms. We ended up paying for an upgrade to a Pavillion Room, it was not offered as a good will gesture, despite us being unhappy with the room they allocated to us.

ROOMS: Air Con didnt work, Wi-fi didnt work, Hooks broken in bathroom, picture damaged etc. House keeping inconsistant. Rooms were very clean, but service was hit & Miss, some days you got water, some days you didnt, shower gel wasnt refreshed, Turn down service was luck of the draw! Beds however, were amazing, very comfortable.

Cabana's: My husband pre-booked a Full Service Cabana, by the pool for my Birthday. They looked great on the hotels web site! The Concierge confirmed that this was all booked for us. The morning of my Birthday, we called down to the Concierge and she said just to go down to the pool and see the attendant. We couldnt wait. However the reality is, there is no full service cabana - its not a service that this Four Seasons offers! It shouldnt even be advertised on the Hotels Web site! Why on earth did the Concierge confirm this,TWICE !!!!!

UPGRADE: The Resort manager, decided to upgrade us to a Suite, as we had experienced so many problems, we were told to report to Reception after Breakfast, which we duly did. The Night Manager, told us, Yes, Our suite would be ready in FIVE minutes. Wow, pretty good! We went to pack. One hour later, we called down to Reception, as no one had come to move us, we were informed it would at least another hour! We were waiting to go out that morning, so we had to lock our valuables in the safe at Reception. I Complained to the Night Manager, that he should have been honest with us in first place, as would have been happy to move later that afternoon, but instead he told us it would be five minutes. Why do that? WHATS WORSE? The Night Manager LIED to the Resort Manager and said that I had complained and gone mad as I had been kept waiting for Ten Minutes!!!!! DISGRACEFUL. The Executive suite, however, was lovely, and they even gave us Champagne and a birthday Cake. For which we were very grateful.

FOOD & BEVERAGE; Breakfast is Excellent. Otherwise there is a lack of food choice here. The Solano, is open 2 nights a week and the food is horrid, bland and greasy. An Insult to Morrocan Cuisine. Bleu D'Orange is open the rest of the week and whilst the food is nice, its very expensive , for what it is. Lunch at the Pool bar, the menu is limited and boring. It never changes, Its way overpriced as well. You are forced to eat out really. The Staff at the Pool Bar are delightful, really friendly and lovely. Best thing about the hotel: Pool Attendants and Bar Staff!

ZEST BAR; Zest Bar have a VERY loud disco at weekends, that goes on, well into the early hours of the morning, and lots of guests, who were located near there, didnt sleep that night at all. It wasnt advertised for the hotel guests, it appeared to be geared towards locals. This is going to be a regular weekend thing, so we hear... Hardly Four Seasons standards! More 18 to 30!

We cut our stay short and left 2 days early, as this was probably one of the most stressful holidays we had encountered. You really dont expect this, when booking a four Seasons do you? The Managements excuse? its a new hotel, you get tired of hearing this! The hotel has been open for NINE months now.
Middle Management seem to care little for whats actually happening at this hotel, the only way to get any kind of response is to speak to the Resort Manager, Nick, who seems to get things done.
Oh, and a final tip, leave lots of time to check out, as the bill, will probably be incorrect as well!
We are well seasoned travellers, and cant express our disappointment enough at this Hotel.
They gave us one night free as compensation- LOL.. We now feel like we need a holiday to recover!
( We havent just come back to moan on Trip Advisor, we took up all of the above with Management during our stay, but felt we had to give an honest account, as this is an expensive holiday at a premium resort)

If they get all of the problems sorted out,and offer a lot more food options, it may eventually be good place to stay.

Room Tip: Book A Pavillion room overlooking the Adult Pool. Better still dont stay here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SWIFTYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfrehde, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Ms SWIFTYS,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort following your stay with us and for letting us know of this regretful situation.

I would also like to offer my sincerest apologies for the multiple mis-steps you unfortunately experienced. We always strive to achieve the highest levels of service and we obviously did not deliver in your case. I can assure you that we are addressing the issues you raised with all departments involved so that they are corrected in the future.

Should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail, please don't hesiate to contact me at the number listed below. We take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and allow us to give you the experience you were expecting.

Sincerely,

Holger Frehde
Director of Sales & Marketing
++212 661 46 73 58
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Excellent. Never a disappointment. Great addition to the Four Seasons family.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devouex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
1.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#40 of 500 in Marrakech
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#62 of 500 in Marrakech
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 500 in Marrakech
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Marrakech

Property: Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Address: 1 Boulevard de la Menara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech refreshed: Located adjacent to the Menara Gardens, just a five minute drive from the exotic energy of the ancient Medina, Four Seasons offers a fresh Moroccan perspective: a calming resort-hotel with a light Moroccan touch. The inspiring retreat combines an impressive spa, landscaped pools, gardens and event space with a contemporary design that augments the sense of airy luminosity. Welcoming and uplifting, the hotel offers couples, families and groups a stylish oasis within an intriguing ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing