We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to enjoy the night”
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“What a wonderful place to enjoy the night”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Went there on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and I must say, my expectations were exceeded. From the off, the owner Eric (who is Italian, apparently, though you never could have guessed) was kind and polite and patient while showing us the menu and mad us feel very welcomed. Even when his staff waiter took over, the man served with a smile and patience. The starters arrived promptly and it was absolutely delicious. We took our time and they didn't seem to have a problem with that. The mains and the desserts were also delicious. The menu was very exciting and offers a welcome respite to your typical moroccan "tourist's" cuisine of tagine and couscous and whatnot. The best restaurant in all of Marrakech, I am sure. I have nothing bad to say about the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Darren thank you for your great post about Amaia, I was really proud!
You really describe well the atmosphere of our restaurant.
Because it's all our staff is Involved in its work.
Hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    282
    65
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply one of the best!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife came here after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. Infact I'd go as far as saying this was the highlight of our trip. The food was simply sublime and after tonights visit I will ensure we return again tomorrow. The restaurant was initially difficult to find but please dont let that put you off because its a real gem of a find.

Helpful?
Thank Jw5876
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
It is a real gratification when our guests discover our place, appreciate and then come back again!
So we can exchange more. Thank you for that.

Sincerely

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We went back the very next night”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The eclectic european/ Asian fusion/ Moroccan menu was a welcome variation to our two week diet of tagine and couscous. The interior design is modern, attractive and cozy. The owner, originally from Sicily, clearly knows how to cook and brings a warm, welcoming, and multilingual graciousness to his diners.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Shelley!
Honored to be to first for a such pleasant comment on myself and all my staff.
I can only encouraged you to share again your experience through tripadvisor. It is useful for hosts and guests.

Sincerely

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The restaurant is lovely and makes you feel that something special is about to come your way.
The staff were very attentive and the food was gorgeous. Would definitely recommend. Grab a taxi and go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lurchergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
"lovely", "something special", those words together in a same comment! Thank you Madam for using them about Amaia, i'm honored.

Cordialy

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury, suffolk, uk
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a French owned restaurant about 15 minutes’ walk from the city walls along Avenue Hassan II. It was quiet when we arrived (the football was on!) and service was attentive but unobtrusive. Alcohol was sold and we had a lovely bottle of Toureg red wine with steak which was perfectly cooked, as was the starter. The Moroccan chef is clearly excellent, preparing Moroccan and French food but with French standards of hygiene and service. A really nice place, two courses a bottle of wine and a pre-dinner drink cost about £60 for two. I would return and recommend this place to others, with thanks for the dining experience we had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing