We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth seeking out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaia Restaurant

Amaia Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Asian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Near the post office of Marrakesh Gueliz, on the Hassan 2 boulevard, the Amaia restaurant is Open from Monday to Saturday. Food is served all day. Eat in or take out, food is tasty, healthy, light and so are the prices. For lunch and dinner, in a cozy atmosphere, check out the large menu with its good wines and daily suggestions. At aperitif time, a large variety of cocktails and tapas are also available.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant was well reviewed and so we decided to pay it a visit. It was a bit of a walk from the Medina and the pavement (sidewalk) close to the restaurant was difficult to negotiate but the food made it worthwhile. It was very quiet the night we were there even allowing for the British tending to eat earlier than the locals and French tourists so the atmosphere was muted. Nevertheless we were welcomed, served well and the food was very good and very reasonably priced. An enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank You Richard for your contribution on Tripadvisor, and thanks for enjoying our work!
Hope to see you again soon when the street works will be finished!

Kind regards

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    262
    59
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went here because we wanted a change from the tajines and the couscous. Beautiful restaurant, relaxing atmosphere and great burgers!! Excatly what we needed!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amvdzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for enjoying our food & ambiance!
Next time ask for our Italian burger, just different but amazing!

Kind regards.

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“A variety of tasty food in modern setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you're looking for a restaurant in the new town, which offers a few select dishes of world food (as well as one tagine option), this is the place. A really friendly owner, nice setting and amazing food. We went to this restaurant twice in our 5 night trip it was that good - the burger, thai curry, tagine and carbonara were all great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rtwtravel_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great little place - do visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Luckily, we found this little gem when looking through Tripadvisor for some ideas for where to go. We wanted something away from the tagines and couscous and the reviews indicated that was possible here! Our driver was not aware of Amaia but managed to locate it. It does suffer from its location as it might struggle to attract the passing, uncommitted diner. When we went, there were two young women sitting outside on the terrace area and the interior was deserted which was a shame.

The proprietor was very friendly and helpful, the range of dishes interesting with its blend of European/French and Thai/Oriental influences. (Unlike reviews of some other establishments, our steaks were really giood!) There is a good choice of wines by the glass as well as bottles - local and French and reasonably priced. We were really pleased to have found Amaia and would happily go back again whenever in Marrakesh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GraYemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly service with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I had dinner at Amaia on our first night in Marrakech. The beef was delicious and the service was efficient and friendly. Given the reviews on this restaurant I was expecting it to be busy but surprisingly it was very quiet for a Saturday night. Overall a great dinner

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia-marrakech, Propriétaire at Amaia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you Kara for your nice post on tripadvisor.
Thank you for enjoying our food and service.
As for "a calm saturday night"....We were full after you left! Moroccan & french people do have dinner more late than english people...
Kind regards

Eric Garozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaia Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Amaia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing