We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The perfect place to relax in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Green Mango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Green Mango
Ranked #278 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect place to relax in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This riad is a tranquil break from the manic streets of Marrakech. Moments away from the markets and bustle that most people come to see, it is located a couple of turns from one of the squares. Inside it's peaceful and all accommodating. Sebastian (French) and Sarah (Moroccan) razed the previous building to the ground and rebuilt the perfect Riad. It was very quiet at night and spotlessly clean. I understand that they had previously employed people to run it (hence the odd -ve review). It is perfect now. The food served for breakfast was like a feast - set us up for the day's walking. I would suggest eating there at least once as we found it to be our best evening meal in our stay. The porter was available to walk us to restaurants in the evening, we were picked up from the airport and trips arranged when we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble. If you are in to your music then speak to Sebastian who, while being one of Morocco's few DJs, is also involved in Jazz clubs across Morocco. i can certainly see why this place gets booked up by families booking the whole place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Riad Green Mango offers a 5 star hotel standard of customer service and attention to detail. Sebastien and his lovely wife are helpful and hospitable without being intrusive and every detail is carefully thought of.

We recently spent 2 nights here as part of our honeymoon. We arrived around 730pm on the first evening, when it was already dark, and were welcomed by Sebastien who gave us some tips on Marrakech over a mint tea. We then had a lovely candle-lit dinner in the courtyard, including the best tagine either of us have tasted during our trips to Morocco!

Be warned that, like with all the other riads, you will get lost when venturing out into the souks. But it's half the fun! We had a great time wandering around Marrakech and coming back to this relaxing haven for a king sized bath or a glass of grey wine on the roof terrace.

Recommended.

Room Tip: There are just four rooms which adds to the lovely intimacy. We stayed in Warda which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I don't normally write reviews, but was so bowled over by our experience when staying at Riad green Mango, that I felt the need to re-emphasise what others had previously shared.

My wife and I had a 3 night stay with Sarah and Sebastien who were superb hosts. Nothing was too much of a problem and made us feel extremely welcome from the start.

The Riad is beautifully decorated, and offers a real oasis of calm and r&r away from the hub-bub of the nearby souls. The food was fantastic (particularly the breakfast served on the terrace) and the spa and jacuzzi offered a wonderful way to relax post our days trekking through the Souks and Palaces of Medina.

I highly recommend this place on all fronts. Thank you for a wonderful stay Sarah and team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you're looking for an Riad close to the busy, and vibrant area of the Marrakesh medina, the Green Mango is your oasis. This small and beautiful Riad has every thing you'd want. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, great service, perfect location, and delicious food. All the rooms, including the the 4 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and provide a relaxing ambiance.

The owners, Sabastian and Sarah will do anything for you to make your stay as stress free and comfortable as possible, including escorted familiarization walks to the medina to help get our bearings set. Upon check in, Sabastian gave us his cell phone number with invitation to call anytime 24 hours for any assistance we might need. His staff, was attentive and willing to help us with any our needs.

I would highly recommend the Green Mango to anyone interested in a small, quite, peaceful Riad only minutes walk from the hectic medina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSGroupTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nothing we had read even comes close to describing our experience at the Green Mango!
Paradise in a small, beautiful, perfectly balaced ,beautifully put together oasis in the craziness that is the medina in MARRAKECK!
Sebastian and sara the most wonderful, attentive, knowledgeble and gracious hosts who let us have the run of the Riad as we were a party of 8 and so took over all 4 rooms.
The rooms , fabulous in their decor and attention to detail made it an authentic stay! From the beautiful sunken baths to extremly comfortable beds to beautiful accessories! Simple but Taseful!
The Hammam, small but effective!!!! a wondeful 'day in' was had by the husbands while he ladies shopped ! A perfect finish to a perfect weekend for all the ladies as well!
The food..... well breakfasts for kings, lunch for queens and dinners .......well I'm lost for word!!!
The cook was superb and we eagerly await the 'Green Mango cookbook'!!! Nothing was too much trouble for her!
The staff, fathy, raidda , nothing was too much for them!!!! running up and down 3 flighs of stairs and staying up to let us in at 3-4 in the morning!!! And everyhing done with a big smile, day or night!! Great guides to the medina too!
Sebastian, a fabulous host with a great passion for good music, fabulous customer service and care. His words are 'it can be done' to almost all requests!!!! He helps you book great tables at fantastic restaurants and takes you shopping to the great places in marrakech that cannot be found on any websites!
Lastly ,the location of the riad allows you to experience the day to day living of the locals !!! the hustle and bustle, the shaing of the road with people, bikes, scooters, donkey carts and horse carraiges! the local spice shops , fruit and veg, butchers where locals buy their foods and lots of little shops selling street food!!! A different experience each time you step out!
Thank you all at Riad Green Mango and we hope tha our return to 'Nirvana' is not too far away!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUSAFIR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Riad Green Mango for seven nights recently. The only word I can use is FABULOUS. Sebastian and Sarah (the owners) are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble, they are very helpful but unobtrusive - they just make sure everything happens as it should. The ambience is totally relaxing, even down to Sebastian's own chilled music choice. Our room was amazing and we got to see around all the others which were equally cool. The staff were brilliant, often walking us to restaurants that otherwise we may have struggled to find. I will definitely stay at this riad next time I visit Marrakech. The area is within easy walking distance of the Square, the Souks and a plentiful choice of good restaurants. One suggestion, on arrival, take advantage of the escorted transfer directly to the riad through Sebastian. 5* :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon_in_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I did a lot of research to choose the perfect Riad in Marrakech and if you are reading this review you will know just how many excellent options there are to pick from.

I can honestly say this Riad was exceptional in every way. Step out of the hustle and bustle of the busy medina straight into a tranquil oasis.

On arrival we were greeted by Sebastian and his staff who genuinely are interested in ensuring your stay is the best it can be. The Riad is so beautiful, I viewed every room and in my option no room is better than the other, each has its own personality.

On one of my days I was enjoying the ambience so much I did not even leave the Riad. I sunbathed on the beautiful roof terrace cooling down in the Jacuzzi. Enjoyed an afternoon massage in their spa and was served the most delicious evening meal up on the terrace that night. The food here was the best I enjoyed in Marrakech, the attention to detail and crockery were a very high standard. Candles were always lit through out the Riad creating the perfect atmosphere.

The walk to the square takes 7-10 hassle free minutes, along the way you get a real feel for the medina and the workings of its everyday life.

Sebastian has exceptional taste in music and as such the Riad feels alive, ambient music is played all day. This is the ultimate Riad experience.

Room Tip: There are four rooms and each of them are beautiful. They are all 5 star with a very luxurious finis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#32 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#111 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.8 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#270 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Green Mango

Property: Riad Green Mango
Address: 36 Derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Green Mango is one of the most recommended riads in Marrakech; well situated in the centre of the Medina close to the souks and the principal historical monuments and only a 10 minutes on foot from the Jamaa el Fena square. Sebastien and Sarah master the art of hosting with so much refinement. Their Riad, located in the Antiques district, offers a great feeling of calm and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Green Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing