We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little over priced and confusing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spa MK

Spa MK
Ranked #18 of 101 Spas & Wellness in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Full time luxury hammam & spa within the calming oasis that is maison mk. Offers both luxury and quick-fix treatments. Located in the medina 150m from Bab Laksour, a 3 min walk from Jemma el Fnaa.Manicure/ pedicure/ waxings/ specialist massages for head, feet, heavy legs, full body, slimming/ facials/ hammam. By appointment only.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little over priced and confusing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the luxury hamman and stayed for the evening meal.

Overall I would say the Spa was above average. Service was excellent and the inside of the Spa itself is amazing to behold. They really did a great job redecorating / renovating (read the history of the place in the book while waiting).

The dinner on the other hand was not good. Drinks and canapés were nice, up on top of the beautiful terrace bar. They came and took out dinner choices and we were settling in for a beautiful evening watching the sun set over Marrakesh, then confusingly we get moved downstairs to the back of the reception / spa in the dinning area. It just didn't make sense. The food itself was trying way to hard and even stranger had only the remotest connections to Moroccan cuisine. It didn't really help that I was violently ill the following day and missed most of the last day in Marrakesh....I can't say for definite this was from the fish I had but my partner had the lamb and was fine, having eaten exactly the same as me all day except that meal.

Overall the spa is above average but let down by food that is trying way to hard (I had a meal 5 times better in the central square at a stall for less the 10% of the price 2 nights earlier) and slightly overpriced. Worth a visit for the spa though. I would have give the Spa a very good (although just about).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulvano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Manager at Spa MK, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your visit to spa mk and gastro mk.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spa facilities as we have taken great care in the spa design & in our choice of what we feel are the absolute best locally-sourced, natural spa products.

We were sad to read your comments regarding the tasting menu at gastro mk. We were also a little confused as they didn't seem to reflect the ‘very good’ feedback that you left for us at the end of your meal. We regret that we were not given the chance to address your concerns on the evening itself.

The meal at gastro mk is always served in our main dining area, due to the delicate nature of each course. This would have been explained in the detailed emails we send to each client, and also when we welcome you before your meal. We always invite diners to come to enjoy the roof terrace an hour before dinner service commences. You had the pamper package ( spa and gastro combined at a discount) so you would have had an extra 30-60mins on the roof terrace before other diners arrive.

Everyone is brought to the dining area at 8pm and we understand that you were offered a choice of tables - pool-side on the patio (the tables most often requested when diners reserve with us) and in the dining room itself, and you chose the air-conditioned dining-room.
We offer an eclectic menu which is updated throughout the year to make the most of seasonal, home-grown produce; the base ingredients to each dish are Moroccan and there are many Moroccan twists that not everyone recognises. The presentation of the dishes is of course European.
We are not a Michelin star restaurant, but just want to serve the best quality and experience we can and generally, our clients seem to love what we do. The positive reviews on Tripadvisor, along with direct feedback, are testament to the standard we strive to maintain with our food, and after 21months constantly rated number 1 by Tripadvisor reviewers, we still take every one seriously.
We didn't receive any reports of any illness whatsoever from any other gastro mk diners from that night. We're sorry to hear you were unwell and we hope that it didn't spoil your memories of Marrakech.

Regards
Hanane (Spa & Gastro Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    19
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally amazing massage with exceptional attention to detail throughout the whole experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Best massages I have ever experienced. Rooms were beautiful and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank jeanette esposito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delightful and professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a delightful treat it was to use this chic little spa. We had the hamam massage package . Very professional. Nice touch to condition the hair, and an amazing beautiful fruit snack. Also very close to the main shopping areas of the souks and the square so worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank britishboy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Hammam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

A very different experience, quite sensual and luxurious, and very very soothing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spa MK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

nice and cosy spa, clean and you get the best private hammam ever .
keep up the good work .

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank fadKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spa MK also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Spa MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing