We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Granvilier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Granvilier
Ranked #574 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my first time in Morocco and what a crazy experience. What made it the most memorable was this Riad.

Everyone here was nice, personal and welcoming. Their service made my trip stress-free and extremely comfortable.

But what topped it all was their food - especially their chicken tangine. It was to die for! I had many tangine throughout the trip but nothing beats the taste here. It was absolutely delicious!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    27
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
163
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Riad Granvilier is truly an oasis in the centre of the Medina of Marrakech.

This was our first trip to Morocco and we booked a weeks' accommodation at the Granvilier in the Oriental Suite, we were not disappointed!
The Riad is a tranquil bolthole in the centre of the hustle & bustle of the Medina.
We were greeted at the airport in the evening by a member of staff who drove us to the Jemaa el Fnaa, we were then escorted through the thriving square at night by Hicham who thoughfully pointed out various "landmarks" to help throughout our stay (We would never have found the riad without him). Hicham then gave us a tour of the Riad whilst other members of staff make us a welcoming drink of Moroccan mint tea and carried our luggage up to the suite.

The ambience of the Riad is wonderful and the breakfast's & dinners are amazing with all the staff genuinely "going the extra mile" to make sure your stay is one to remember.

Thankyou to all of the staff at Riad Granvilier for a very memorable holiday. ( you truly deserve the high praise in these reviews).

B & K

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misster_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our favorite place that we stayed while in Morocco. What made it stand out so much was the service (as mentioned in all the other reviews, Hicham went out of his way to make sure that our time in Marrakech was enjoyable and went smoothly). But even without the service, the hotel was beautiful and comfortable. Our room (the oriental suite) looked better than it did on the website, there were nice toiletries, hot water was fine, the towels were SO fluffy, heater for the winter, safe in the room, wifi....I had been expecting to have to give up on nice hotel amenities to experience staying in a riad, but was so pleasantly surprised! Location was perfect as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

For me, being in Marrakech was beautiful! I loved the place! Never had traveled to a place like this! Also, I was very pleased with where I stayed, Riad Granvilier! Truly a hotel with 5-star service, excellent quality service. Rooms super comfortable and well appointed and very clean. Food, pleasant surroundings! It was a dream!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castillhos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Riad Granvilier has to be one of the best places we have every stayed. Our room (the Oriental suite) was exactly as pictured on the website, comfortable and more than enough space for a 7 night stay. The staff were amazingly helpful and so, so friendly. The location was perfect - so close to Jemaa el Fna and the souks - but a world away once you were inside the Riad. The food was unbelievable, so fresh, so tasty, so good. Our highlight - watching the sun set on 2012 from the rooftop terrace of Riad Granvilier. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimJ321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We should have written this review a long time ago.

I wish I could pay extra to be able to rate this Riad higher than 5. This wonderful little slice of heaven is a diamond in the rough. When we arrived we were greeted by the charming and all knowing host, Hecham. We didn’t know at the time, but he would be our guide to everything wonderful and enchanting about Marrakech. We have never had better service (or better food) anywhere in the WORLD than at Riad Granvilier. The day we arrived, Hecham guided us from the busy square to our Riad, pointing out milestones and (VIEWPOINTS) along the way. We later appreciated that these hints helped us find our way to and from the riad for the rest of our vacation. Marrakech can be quite a maze but Hecham’s directions made it easy as pie.

Arriving in the riad, we were instantly offered breakfast before continuing the tour. We didn’t know it at the time but that was the best advice we’d ever heard from a concierge. When we had eaten after our very long journey we suddenly realized we were in a gorgeous setting. Having a little food in our tummys made us so much happier and excited to take in the sites. The first sight being the stunning Riad. We could see straight up into the blue sky, and all around us was beautiful tile work and fluffy pillows. It was a dream!

We have travelled a lot, but at the riad we met people that we truly considered to be friends, and surprisingly enough this was the riad staff itself. Asna, the chef makes the best yogurt we’ve ever had, and ever will have, and anyone will ever even think could exist, and so, and so on, and so on ☺. The food there was the best we have ever had abroad. Ever.

Hecham pointed us out to a few places, and took his time to draw us a detailed to ensure that we wouldn’t get lost. And his help made our stay comfortable and kept us from feeling vulnerable, which as two women was very important.

At every juncture, someone at the riad was suggesting something that turned to be magical. From the palace, to the Medina, to the dinners on the terrace; there is no way to accurately express how utterly enchaining our experience was. But we know without a doubt that Hecham and the riad were the reason we fell in love with Marrakech.

Morocco is still our favorite place we have been in the whole world, and we truly believe that is thanks to the staff at the Riad Granvilier. We miss you all!!! See you next year!

Fondly,
Chelsea

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved this cozy little gem hidden in a little alley behind the grand square of Jamaa el-Fna.

As the manager told us when he picked us up from the taxi stop, the city is SAFE, and so we felt while walking around the medina.

He also gave us good advice on many other things, and even arranged for us to help in the kitchen to prepare the most incredible cus-cus i've ever tasted, so fluffy & tasty and learn the "secret" from the cook Hasna, herself.

Everything was so lovely that i forgot to mention the hot water took long to arrive in the shower (bad habits one acquires in Finland -instant hot water, i mean :-)

All in all; a riad worth staying at, not only for its beautiful decoration, but specially for the 5-star service of all the staff working there 24/7 to make sure guests are enjoying their vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#97 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#165 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#26 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Imilchil
Riad Imilchil
#70 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Assala Medina
Riad Al Assala Medina
#359 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Granvilier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Granvilier

Property: Riad Granvilier
Address: 100 derb Jamaa | Place Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #574 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Granvilier 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Granvilier is a luxury hotel in the heart of the old Medina of Marrakech. It has been tastefully and lovingly restored with great attention to detail. Decorated with the finest traditional materials, exclusive, hand-crafted furniture and contemporary Moroccan art. It is ideal for people looking for personalized service. Riad Granvilier is the perfect base to enjoy the wonders of Marrakech. You will live an authentic and unique Moroccan experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Granvilier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing