We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le chef qui rit”
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit - CLOSED

Le Chat Qui Rit
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Le chef qui rit”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

it's true that this restaurant provides respite from the ubiquitous tagine trail, but actually, I'd rather have had another tagine! My partner's pasta promised much from a recommendation and from the restaurant's reputation for making the best pasta dishes in town, but he could have found its equivalent or better on the average English high street. I did enjoy my dolmades with a light lemon sauce and good vegetables, but our starters were ordinary, and the desserts rather tasteless. We had been led to understand that the Corsican chef-patron, with his customary greeting of diners, would be keen to discuss the preparation of your dish but on this occasion he just smiled a lot and remained firmly on the shop floor chatting throughout the evening. In its favour, the menu offers an eclectic mix of seafood and many other dishes with French and Italian influences, and the ambience has an old-fashioned timewarped feel without any Moroccan character which may be welcome for Marrakech inhabitants. However, the staff do that typical Marrakech thing of leaving you at your table without asking what you want to drink, and proceed to ignore you until they decide to take your order.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    117
    33
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, unsurprisingly”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The reviews here were so good, that we had to go and try. The food is indeed top-notch, even when accounting for the "foreign" factor (whereby tourists have lower standards for food when travelling overseas). But the food here IS very good. When you get tired of eating your tenth tagine, stop by Le Chat Qui Rit. The service was a bit brusque, but that's Morocco for you. The owner however is super nice. But really, you come here for the food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank thomasintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happiness found.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Eventhough we love our tajines, we'd thought we'd give this Smiling Cat a shot. What a great find! I was reminded of a candy store when I walked in, whimsical, colorful, happy. We were seated near the front of the restaurant which was comfortable however it would've been great to be in the main dining area to soak in all of the vintage posters on the walls.

The 3 of us started with a refreshing octopus salad which had a light vinegarette topped with chunks of tender octopus. We then shared the rigatoni with chorizo which was perfectly al dente sauteed in rich cream and dotted with chorizo. yummmm. we also ordered the osso bucco which was rich and tender and full of flavor which also came with a side of lightly seasoned rigatoni. the last entree was the filet of beef which was cooked to perfection and garnished with veggies. All dishes were a good portion and great for sharing.

We topped off our Marakech evening with three desserts. A nougat ice cream with honey, creme brulee and the chocolate cake. All were amazing, but my favorite was with the nougat ice cream.
It was a great evening at Le Chat Qui Rit, food was amazing, the service was excellent and we were able to have a little bit of Italy in the wild city of Marakech!

Oh and good idea to make reservations...ask for the main dining area!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good advise to visit Le Chat Qui Rit”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Even though the restaurant is located a little bit outside Merdinaen - it is worth the visit. Excellent food, good service and a very nice atmospher. Here we meet locals, foreigners and all those how likes good Italian food. Here we got good value for your money - we'll be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite Restaurant in Marrakech”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really love this restaurant. The decor is not everyone's cup of tea, but it is charming and more importantly a cosy friendly atmosphere. The food is excellent I have never had a bad meal. The home made giant ravioli is superb and the wine excellent. Service excellent, wonderful deserts, great with family or friends. It is most perfect for a lazy saturday lunch. The owner is on site most days and is charming and very welcoming. I really recommend it. I currently go at least twice a month.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing