We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and popular bistro, not expensive for Marrakech!”
Review of Le Chat Qui Rit - CLOSED

Le Chat Qui Rit
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent and popular bistro, not expensive for Marrakech!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Didn't fancy eating at any of the tourist rip off places in the old town, so we walked up to the Ville Nouvelle to check this place out. We were glad we did - it was busy and buzzing, with a great choice of French bistro-type food and reasonably priced wine. The owner or manager was coming out and greeting regulars, and he asked us if we were enjoying our food. A great choice if you are missing a more 'European' type of food experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    117
    33
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food, but changed”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose to eat here because reviews said it was the best Pizza place in Marrakech, and this attracted our two 160year olds; but once seated we found that they had discontinued Pizzas several years earlier to move up-market. The services was very friendly, but some of the dishes disappointed. Worth a visit, but not the family restaurant or gourmet eat you might be looking for.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PHUckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“French and Italian Bistrot style food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very pleasant bistrot style atmosphere, owner there to welcome diners. Menu of starters, pastas and meats. We had a good home-made lasagna, entrecote and filet steaks and the fish bourride, all were excellent. Wine list was good starting at £9 a bottle. Service was efficient and prompt, unusual for Marrakech. Bill for 5 was 80 euros for 5 mains and 3 desserts. One of the best restaurants we have eaten at in Marrakech.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good for a change”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good Italian food at reasonable prices. Friendly, efficient service from the waitress, and owner. Centrally located in the 'new' city near the central Post Office.
Liked the decoration, with a lot of old posters and memorabilia.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Arrived before opening time, very welcoming!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We arrived before they opened (unknowingly) and wondered in a bit sheepish. The owner (We believe) was so nice, and explained we was welcome to stay. We took him up on this, and while staff where still arriving we was made to feel welcome. As the place filled up the atmosphere just got better and better. We had some excellent food, excellent wine and all at a great price. Highly suggest you find this place. Excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scottp1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Qui Rit also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing