We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing stay ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar JL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar JL
Ranked #58 of 251 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most amazing stay ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is long over due from 2011.

This place is the perfect Oasis for an escape to Marrakech. The service is outstanding. The food is AMAZING. We had lunches and dinners at a different place on the property every day of our stay. They went out of there way to make every meal magical. Dinners with hundreds of candles in tents, on the grounds under trees. It was unbelievable.

It's a gorgeous private estate. The rooms are decorated by the travels of the owner. The Decor is gorgeous. My review will not even do this place justice. It's an amazing experience and every hotel in the world could learn a thing or two from Selma who runs the Dar JL. She is so on point, customer service is top notch, the experience was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Go! Stay in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in November 2012.

We were recommended by someone who lives in Marrakech, as I am not sure frankly that we would have chosen Dar JL from simply an internet search. If we had chosen a more traditional hotel and not gone to Dar JL we would have missed out on a simply wonderful tranquil experience. An incredible contrast to the crush and bustle of the Medina.

The accomodation was superb, luxurious, spacious, immaculately clean. Wonderful staff with great customer service. Nothing was too much trouble. As other people describe, its a beautiful private estate filled with fruit trees, olive trees, flowers and vegetable garden. Wonderful to walk or jog around. In fact the beauty of the location changed the nature of our break. Normally we are action orientated but it seemed an absolute waste not to spend lots of time at Dar JL. So our holiday took on a much more tranquil form, spending more time than we had thought possibe, reading and relaxing around the beautiful private pool to our villa in the gardens. In fact it is hard to describe to people how staying at Dar JL turned a visit to the hurly burly of Marrakech into a tranquil get away from it all experience. A very pleasant and bonus turn of events.

If however you want to meet others on holday, talk to others in the bar, be in a community, this is not for you.

It was a perfect break for us. We will go again and recommend it to anyone wanting this sort of stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Marrakech has an abundance of luxury hotels. Yet, Dar JL is something completely different. It is not a hotel per se, but rather an incredible private estate set in 5.5 well-maintained hectares, filled with olive and citrus trees, flowers, herbs, cactuses and even a 1.1 km jogging track. The grounds contain 4 distinct buildings ("Dar Jennat", "Dar Limoon", "La Tour" and "Hippie Village") that house the various guest rooms. These vary in size and all have different décor, however, all are equally sumptuous with an incredible attention to detail. There are two lovely pools and the estate is filled with exquisite pieces of art. We stayed in Dar JL´s smaller room located in the tower “La Tour” which was private and luxurious. Dar JL also has a gym room, an outdoor yoga pavilion, and a small spa containing a beautiful hammam.

Service is discreet and attentive. On arrival guests are given a local cell phone with all necessary numbers (butler, driver, GM, housekeeping etc.) stored. GM Salma and the rest of her team are always available ready to assist with any requests.

Food is delicious and reasonable priced. Breakfast (included) is a great continental affair with fresh fruits, warm pastries, eggs and all trimmings. Guests can choose to have lunch and dinner at the estate and menu, time, and place is completely flexible. In addition, there is an all-day snack menu with tasty salads, pastas etc. Everything is homemade and nicely prepared. At night the garden is lit by hundreds of lanterns which creates an incredible atmosphere for an out-door dinner under the stars.

Located only 5 minutes by car from the medina, Dar JL is a perfect retreat after venturing out in hectic Marrakech. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezeiza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

After a couple of hours in the hectic medina you just want to get some peace and rest. Just a couple of minuites from the medina with a cab. This is the perfect place for that. The food is splendid, the service excellent and the retreat the best. We stayed in several hotels in Marrakech but nothing compares to this. Especially Dar Limon is a favourite.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CtheworldStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was a complete joy, everything was perfection! Wonderful staff. This experience was unbelievable and I am most definately going back. Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: Cashmere and Mali are great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona_r86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Salma and the entire staff at Dar JL made my stay comfortable and memorable. The property is spectacular, rooms luxurious and colorful, pools and grounds are perfectly maintained and the location is close to everything the Medina has to offer. The food is wonderful and healthy. The hammam was dreamy and spa treatments were heavenly. I never wanted to leave. I would go back a hundred times. A special thanks to Lisen and John for being such gracious hosts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderluster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#84 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#98 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#253 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dar Ilham
Dar Ilham
#288 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar JL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar JL

Property: Dar JL
Address: Arset Sdiguia Talaint Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 251 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar JL 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the city’s exclusive Palmeraie district, Dar JL offers the ambiance of legendary and magical Morocco combined with all the state-of-the-art amenities of today’s world. Luxury and attention to detail is reflected in every single aspect of Dar JL. From the design and quality of construction through to the smallest of details that makes it so special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Dar JL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing