We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An oasis of calm in a mad Marakesh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Beija

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Beija
Ranked #522 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a mad Marakesh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for a week in this beautiful riad and thoroughly enjoyed the experience (our first time in the city) We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves for the first few nights which was an added bonus & we were royally looked after by the two staff who are always there & always smiling. We stayed in the Tasslite suite which is definitely the best room (it's the biggest & leads out onto the roof terrace)

Room Tip: The tasslite suite is the best room, though it is noisy when the calls to prayer start. The other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night in the room with private roof terrace. This riad is quite amazing: beautiful decoration, friendly yet discrete staff and great location near the Bahia palace.
We had a great dinner at Kosybar, a roof top restaurant nearby.
We will surely come back.

Helpful?
Thank EmilieSD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Charming little place with very friendly and pleasant staff.

A clean and quiet oasis amidst the hubbub of the Medina.

Nice rooms, nice breakfast, rooftop terrace could use some new furniture, but in total a very nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Dar Beija truly sets the standard.

My partner and I stayed at this amazing Riad for a week, it was our first time in Marrakech. We had been recommended to stay here by family and now, we will only ever stay here again when we return to Morocco.

Morocco was the final leg of our three week holiday - Dar Beija was by far the most beautiful hotel we had stayed in.

Brigitte and the team made our stay most enjoyable - Hanna, Irsham and the Houskeeping sisters. We loved them all so much and were sad to say goodbye. The rooms, service, food and ambience at Dar Beija are nothing short of perfect. It was so nice to hear warm wishes of safe travel from Brigitte after we had left.

Thank you for everything you did for us. Can't wait to come back!

Gen & Vaughn

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location/Riad - The Riad is modern & traditional in design and seems virtually new. It is only a short walk to the main square down little streets with lots of interesting shops & restaurants. It is also close to a couple of the palaces, museums, gardens, a Hop-on/Hop-off bus stop & Kosybar where we had a drink in the evenings, watched the sunset and storks. The Riad was very quiet which made the perfect retreat from the hot & hectic surroundings of Marrakech.

Room - Suite Tasslite was beautiful. Huge(!) bed, lounge area & great bath. Being on the top floor, there are stunning views and with the riad having very few rooms means the chairs & sun lounges on the terrace and rooftop (one of the highest in the surrounding area) are usually empty & it feels like your own private area.

Service/Brigitte (owner) - Brigitte was very helpful in booking our holiday and fast to reply to any emails.

She was able to answer all my questions and for an incredibly reasonable price compared with group tours, arranged a private trip for the two of us to the Ourika valley with a tour guide who spoke excellent English and had a huge comfy 4x4. He was not pushy & showed us everything/anything we wanted to including an argan oil pharmacy, Berber house, explained the natural landscapes throughout the valley & the waterfalls trek (beware, not easy when busy!)

Brigitte also organised our airport transfers which I would highly recommend as the medina can be difficult to navigate.

Staff were lovely & totally flexible on when breakfast was served. Breakfast was good - could perhaps do with a little more diversity over 5 days / week. Room & riad were kept immaculately clean. Free wifi throughout meant we could research things to do.

Marrakech has a lot of riads of similar price with nice pictures which makes them difficult to choose between and perhaps on arrival seem a bit shabby, in a bad location or badly run...
Dar Beija proved to be better in every way. The riad/room, location and overall service including Brigitte's help made our holiday!

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kp_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have just returned from four nights at the Dar Beija in Marrakech. The whole experence from being to end was excellent. The Riad is as good as it looks on their website - cool design/style and calm environment. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The Riad is well located down a side street near Place des Ferblantiers (10/15 minute walk from the main square and Souks). I also recommend Kosybar around the corner (same owners) it has a great roof terrace. All in all a most enjoyable trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in the Riad Dar Beija for four nights, occupying the three smaller rooms. It was really great, a safe, relaxing place to come back to after the craziness outside. The beds were just how I like them, I slept extremely well. What really made it such a nice experience though was the staff. Always helpful, friendly and respectful, they made sure we had what we needed at all times (e.g. mint tee on roof terrace to watch the sun set) while never trying to force anything onto us we didn't want. I had the impression they sincerely enjoyed having us around. And the breakfast was very delicious indeed! I can wholeheartedly recommend the Riad Dar Beija to anyone looking for a comfortable, uncomplicated stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JescoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#113 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#30 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#273 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Al Kadar
Riad Al Kadar
#173 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#378 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Alhambra
Dar Alhambra
#349 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Beija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Beija

Property: Riad Dar Beija
Address: 37 Derb Lamchoura | Mellah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #522 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Beija 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Beija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing