We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“If you want to experience traditional Moroccan hospitality this is the place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Amiran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryad Amiran
Ranked #187 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caldicot, Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want to experience traditional Moroccan hospitality this is the place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted with a pot of mint tea by Naima, who gave us a map of the Medina which proved essential
Our room was lovely, & as we arrived to a heat wave, the air conditioning was very welcome
Breakfast was huge, with many dishes to chose from, as was dinner, for those who wish to learn some authentic dishes, the Ryad runs a cookery course
Our hosts organised trips, taxis, guides, massages, booked restaurants and more. Nothing was too much trouble
I cannot recommend Ryad Amiran highly enough & look forward to returning soon x Danu

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank danuskydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    40
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
37
117
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I was initially somewhat reluctant to stay at a ryad and instead wanted to choose a hotel, but the images I saw of the amiran changed my mind. The Amiran is 5 star service, food rooms and staff.

The hospitality was amazing. We arrived just after midnight and we were briefly given valuable information about the ryad and then led upstairs to the comfortable seating area on the roof and offered some food. The manager and staff were always very quick to assist us in any way, often doing so without us even asking. It was clearly evident that they wanted us to have the best holiday that we possibly could.

We visited during the period of Ramadan and therefore some excursions and restaurants weren't available. Also, during certain times in the day people would stop whatever they were doing to go and pray, but even with this being the case we still had the times of our lives and I definitely believe that this was partially because of the service that we received at the ryad.

The rooms look and feel like heaven. We'll decorated and very clean. The cleaning staff didn't speak English well but were very friendly none the less.

I would recommend staying here and if I ever visit morocco again I would most likely choose the ryad amiran as my temporary home.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This riad is to recommend to switch pleasant holiday. Decorated with lots of charm. The service is excellent. The restaurant is very good and served with attention.
A very good address to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Ryad Amiran in April 2014 and found it a wonderful place to stay. There are only 5 rooms so it's cosy and homely, with the lovely open courtyard in the middle which is characteristic of ryads.

The place is run by a friendly and helpful couple who made the stay very personal, they gave us lots of advice and even rang our airport driver for us! The rooms were cleaned every day with a personal touch and the breakfast was filling and varied. We also had dinner there a couple of nights which is a little more than what you would pay elsewhere but was home made and peaceful.

Its about a 15-20min walk to the main square and Marjorelle gardens, and actually this is a good thing as you will need to get away from all the hustle and bustle! The downside is like the rest of Marrakech its tucked away, so I would expect to find it difficult to locate on the first day. We had an airport transfer and even he didn't know where it was at first! Once you've walked it
once or twice you will be ok though.

This ryad is rather an exception in modern day holidaying - with friendly staff who go out of their way to help and with perfectly maintained and unusual rooms. Its not for you if you don't want the traditional Moroccan experience and are not happy to be without a tv for your stay!

The only thing to be aware of is the city tax which we were charged on our last day - it was around £40 for 2 of us for 5 days, there was no warning that we would be charged it and no explanation of what it was actually for. As with all things in Morocco you never know when you are being ripped off, and we weren't expecting it - which meant we had no money left for our last day! You have been warned...

We would stay again! *****

Room Tip: We had the Perle room - look on their website for pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennina_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hidden away in the maze of streets within the medina, it can be found by following the many signs located when you finally reach the locality of the Ryad. My advice is to arrange a transfer from the airport and we were walked to the location in the first instance. I think we would certainly have struggled if we had taken a taxi and just been dropped off at the gate, if you were dropped off at the correct gate.
Inside the Ryan it is peaceful and calm with a roof top terrace from which with difficulty you can just see the atlas mountains.
No Tv in the rooms but there is one downstairs, but then it is Morocco so other than CNN news you will not get a lot in English.
Hairdryer is supplied in the rooms and the showers were excellent and hot.
Comfortable beds although ours was set rather low.
Would certainly recommend if you would to immerse your self within the medina. The main square is a good twenty to twenty five minute walk away depending on whether or not you keep getting lost.

Room Tip: Forget the room, just get a transfer from the airport and get the guide to walk you to the Ryad. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neale931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014, and had a lovely time. The staff make it - the owner, manager and all the staff went out of their way to be helpful, welcoming and friendly. They gave us great advice, arranged food late one night when we arrived late due to a problem with our transfers, and lots of tips. The Ryad itself is beautiful, very relaxing, and just the right atmosphere for a trip to Marrakech. No, it's not a European 4-star hotel, but then you're staying in a Ryad, and it has all the grace and elegance of a welcoming guest house. Lovely sun terrace too. It is a little hard to find, but then isn't everywhere when you're a first time visitor to Marrakech? Overall - thanks, brilliant, and if we return to Morocco, will definitely be calling in again!

Room Tip: All the rooms look onto the central court, so there will be a little noise, but they all seem comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time! The Riad is beautiful, stylish as such an oasis in the heat of the city. The roof terrace was a wonderful place so spend our down time!

We arrived very late and were a bit daunted upon arrival at the Bab yacout gate as it is like a rubbish dump! But one we saw everything in daylight the next day it was fine! We found Edwin the owner and Amin the manager to be so lovely and helpful! They have us so many hints and tips! We got lost the first time we went out but found our way back (despite a local sending way out of our way and asking for money to take is back! - thankfully we both have good sense of direction so we politely said no and went back to the Riad!) after Amin have us perfect directions, we never got lost again for the whole week.

Fatima is lovely and a very good cook.

We have to give a huge mention to to Ahmed though - he was a wonderful friend who we will never forget, nothing is too much for him! He even stopped for a chat in the markets. He makes the best mint tea in the world!! And on top of working every night in the Riad, he is also at college in the day studying to be an accountant. We feel very lucky to have met him - I only feel awful that I lost his email address so I couldn't send him the photos of us! I hope he can pick them up from here!!

The only downsides were that the meal we had there - although an amazing meal, was pricy compared to anywhere else we are. Also the water is very expensive when you can buy it for virtually nothing at the end of the street. We ended up in a different room to what we were told, however it was still amazing! The other thing was we didn't book our own excursion to the Atlas Mountains as the Riad said they could sort it for us; the trip we took was wonderful and so was our guide Saiid, however, perhaps through our own fault of not explaining, it was not the trip we expected or had read about from other people. We didn't get to eat with a Berber family and we constantly stopped and as a result ended up spending more than we anticipated, although we got sone lovely items. I think we were just wary as we had no idea of our itinerary and how much we would end up spending!! Saiid was a wonderful guide and he and my husband had a few laughs at my expense!!

Overall we would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Loobylu1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#449 of 512 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#346 of 512 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#227 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Moullaoud
Riad Moullaoud
#158 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#135 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Amina
Riad Amina
#100 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Amiran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Amiran

Property: Ryad Amiran
Address: Bab Doukkala | El Hajra Arset Ben Brahim, 23, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ryad Amiran 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ryad Amiran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing