We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ryad Amiran & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryad Amiran & SPA
Ranked #94 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was initially somewhat reluctant to stay at a ryad and instead wanted to choose a hotel, but the images I saw of the amiran changed my mind. The Amiran is 5 star service, food rooms and staff.

The hospitality was amazing. We arrived just after midnight and we were briefly given valuable information about the ryad and then led upstairs to the comfortable seating area on the roof and offered some food. The manager and staff were always very quick to assist us in any way, often doing so without us even asking. It was clearly evident that they wanted us to have the best holiday that we possibly could.

We visited during the period of Ramadan and therefore some excursions and restaurants weren't available. Also, during certain times in the day people would stop whatever they were doing to go and pray, but even with this being the case we still had the times of our lives and I definitely believe that this was partially because of the service that we received at the ryad.

The rooms look and feel like heaven. We'll decorated and very clean. The cleaning staff didn't speak English well but were very friendly none the less.

I would recommend staying here and if I ever visit morocco again I would most likely choose the ryad amiran as my temporary home.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 309 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This riad is to recommend to switch pleasant holiday. Decorated with lots of charm. The service is excellent. The restaurant is very good and served with attention.
A very good address to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fahd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Ryad Amiran in April 2014 and found it a wonderful place to stay. There are only 5 rooms so it's cosy and homely, with the lovely open courtyard in the middle which is characteristic of ryads.

The place is run by a friendly and helpful couple who made the stay very personal, they gave us lots of advice and even rang our airport driver for us! The rooms were cleaned every day with a personal touch and the breakfast was filling and varied. We also had dinner there a couple of nights which is a little more than what you would pay elsewhere but was home made and peaceful.

Its about a 15-20min walk to the main square and Marjorelle gardens, and actually this is a good thing as you will need to get away from all the hustle and bustle! The downside is like the rest of Marrakech its tucked away, so I would expect to find it difficult to locate on the first day. We had an airport transfer and even he didn't know where it was at first! Once you've walked it
once or twice you will be ok though.

This ryad is rather an exception in modern day holidaying - with friendly staff who go out of their way to help and with perfectly maintained and unusual rooms. Its not for you if you don't want the traditional Moroccan experience and are not happy to be without a tv for your stay!

The only thing to be aware of is the city tax which we were charged on our last day - it was around £40 for 2 of us for 5 days, there was no warning that we would be charged it and no explanation of what it was actually for. As with all things in Morocco you never know when you are being ripped off, and we weren't expecting it - which meant we had no money left for our last day! You have been warned...

We would stay again! *****

Room Tip: We had the Perle room - look on their website for pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennina_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hidden away in the maze of streets within the medina, it can be found by following the many signs located when you finally reach the locality of the Ryad. My advice is to arrange a transfer from the airport and we were walked to the location in the first instance. I think we would certainly have struggled if we had taken a taxi and just been dropped off at the gate, if you were dropped off at the correct gate.
Inside the Ryan it is peaceful and calm with a roof top terrace from which with difficulty you can just see the atlas mountains.
No Tv in the rooms but there is one downstairs, but then it is Morocco so other than CNN news you will not get a lot in English.
Hairdryer is supplied in the rooms and the showers were excellent and hot.
Comfortable beds although ours was set rather low.
Would certainly recommend if you would to immerse your self within the medina. The main square is a good twenty to twenty five minute walk away depending on whether or not you keep getting lost.

Room Tip: Forget the room, just get a transfer from the airport and get the guide to walk you to the Ryad. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neale931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014, and had a lovely time. The staff make it - the owner, manager and all the staff went out of their way to be helpful, welcoming and friendly. They gave us great advice, arranged food late one night when we arrived late due to a problem with our transfers, and lots of tips. The Ryad itself is beautiful, very relaxing, and just the right atmosphere for a trip to Marrakech. No, it's not a European 4-star hotel, but then you're staying in a Ryad, and it has all the grace and elegance of a welcoming guest house. Lovely sun terrace too. It is a little hard to find, but then isn't everywhere when you're a first time visitor to Marrakech? Overall - thanks, brilliant, and if we return to Morocco, will definitely be calling in again!

Room Tip: All the rooms look onto the central court, so there will be a little noise, but they all seem comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time! The Riad is beautiful, stylish as such an oasis in the heat of the city. The roof terrace was a wonderful place so spend our down time!

We arrived very late and were a bit daunted upon arrival at the Bab yacout gate as it is like a rubbish dump! But one we saw everything in daylight the next day it was fine! We found Edwin the owner and Amin the manager to be so lovely and helpful! They have us so many hints and tips! We got lost the first time we went out but found our way back (despite a local sending way out of our way and asking for money to take is back! - thankfully we both have good sense of direction so we politely said no and went back to the Riad!) after Amin have us perfect directions, we never got lost again for the whole week.

Fatima is lovely and a very good cook.

We have to give a huge mention to to Ahmed though - he was a wonderful friend who we will never forget, nothing is too much for him! He even stopped for a chat in the markets. He makes the best mint tea in the world!! And on top of working every night in the Riad, he is also at college in the day studying to be an accountant. We feel very lucky to have met him - I only feel awful that I lost his email address so I couldn't send him the photos of us! I hope he can pick them up from here!!

The only downsides were that the meal we had there - although an amazing meal, was pricy compared to anywhere else we are. Also the water is very expensive when you can buy it for virtually nothing at the end of the street. We ended up in a different room to what we were told, however it was still amazing! The other thing was we didn't book our own excursion to the Atlas Mountains as the Riad said they could sort it for us; the trip we took was wonderful and so was our guide Saiid, however, perhaps through our own fault of not explaining, it was not the trip we expected or had read about from other people. We didn't get to eat with a Berber family and we constantly stopped and as a result ended up spending more than we anticipated, although we got sone lovely items. I think we were just wary as we had no idea of our itinerary and how much we would end up spending!! Saiid was a wonderful guide and he and my husband had a few laughs at my expense!!

Overall we would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Loobylu1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A riad is a mini-palace buried in the depths of medieval alleys that looks like nothing from the outside but inside reveals, usually, what was once a grand private home.
This riad is decorated with art but not in the traditional mosiac style.
Its very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is good. We did not take other meals there but many people did.
Ryad Amiran is on the north west of the medina near Bab Yacout - about five minutes safe and well signposted walk from where most taxis drop you. With a little ingenuity its possible to walk right through the medina to the Djem El Fna, otherwise follow the walls.
The owner speaks English and will arrange excursions, and the riad is licensed to sell alcohol, something of a rarity in Morocco.

Room Tip: As fas as I know, all the suites are different, so ask if you have particular requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#44 of 500 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#149 of 1,172 in Marrakech
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dar Benbrahim
Dar Benbrahim
#220 of 1,172 in Marrakech
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela Princesse
Riad Karmela Princesse
#10 of 1,172 in Marrakech
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#48 of 1,172 in Marrakech
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Amiran & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Amiran & SPA

Address: Bab Doukkala/ Bab Yacout | El Hajra Arset Ben Brahim, N°23, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $54 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ryad Amiran & SPA 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitauted in the bad Doukkala , the ryad offersrooftop terrace with a berber style tent. At their arrival, the guest will be offfer mint tea in the courtyard; the air-conditionned guest room at Ryad Amiran & SPA are stylishly decorated and equipped with free wi-fi access. Each en suite bathroom offers bathrobes, slippers and complimentary toiletries.A continental breakfast is served each morning ; other meal , featuring moroccan specialities can be enjoyed by the fountain in the courtyard or on the roof top terrace upon tje guest request. In the evening , guest can relax in the riad's lounge , which feature a tv. staff are available 24 hours a day . Ryad has of a service of restoration, Hammam and a room of massage, where you will be able to discover our body massages and our care. If you wish it, we will undertake to help you in the preparation and the reservation of your excursions, reservation of taxi, transfers, equestrian clubs, hiring of quad, flight as a Montgolfier, reserv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ryad Amiran & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing