We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem within the Medina, Marrakesh.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryad Amiran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryad Amiran
Ranked #157 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hidden gem within the Medina, Marrakesh.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hidden away in the maze of streets within the medina, it can be found by following the many signs located when you finally reach the locality of the Ryad. My advice is to arrange a transfer from the airport and we were walked to the location in the first instance. I think we would certainly have struggled if we had taken a taxi and just been dropped off at the gate, if you were dropped off at the correct gate.
Inside the Ryan it is peaceful and calm with a roof top terrace from which with difficulty you can just see the atlas mountains.
No Tv in the rooms but there is one downstairs, but then it is Morocco so other than CNN news you will not get a lot in English.
Hairdryer is supplied in the rooms and the showers were excellent and hot.
Comfortable beds although ours was set rather low.
Would certainly recommend if you would to immerse your self within the medina. The main square is a good twenty to twenty five minute walk away depending on whether or not you keep getting lost.

Room Tip: Forget the room, just get a transfer from the airport and get the guide to walk you to the Ryad. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neale931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    47
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
45
127
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014, and had a lovely time. The staff make it - the owner, manager and all the staff went out of their way to be helpful, welcoming and friendly. They gave us great advice, arranged food late one night when we arrived late due to a problem with our transfers, and lots of tips. The Ryad itself is beautiful, very relaxing, and just the right atmosphere for a trip to Marrakech. No, it's not a European 4-star hotel, but then you're staying in a Ryad, and it has all the grace and elegance of a welcoming guest house. Lovely sun terrace too. It is a little hard to find, but then isn't everywhere when you're a first time visitor to Marrakech? Overall - thanks, brilliant, and if we return to Morocco, will definitely be calling in again!

Room Tip: All the rooms look onto the central court, so there will be a little noise, but they all seem comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time! The Riad is beautiful, stylish as such an oasis in the heat of the city. The roof terrace was a wonderful place so spend our down time!

We arrived very late and were a bit daunted upon arrival at the Bab yacout gate as it is like a rubbish dump! But one we saw everything in daylight the next day it was fine! We found Edwin the owner and Amin the manager to be so lovely and helpful! They have us so many hints and tips! We got lost the first time we went out but found our way back (despite a local sending way out of our way and asking for money to take is back! - thankfully we both have good sense of direction so we politely said no and went back to the Riad!) after Amin have us perfect directions, we never got lost again for the whole week.

Fatima is lovely and a very good cook.

We have to give a huge mention to to Ahmed though - he was a wonderful friend who we will never forget, nothing is too much for him! He even stopped for a chat in the markets. He makes the best mint tea in the world!! And on top of working every night in the Riad, he is also at college in the day studying to be an accountant. We feel very lucky to have met him - I only feel awful that I lost his email address so I couldn't send him the photos of us! I hope he can pick them up from here!!

The only downsides were that the meal we had there - although an amazing meal, was pricy compared to anywhere else we are. Also the water is very expensive when you can buy it for virtually nothing at the end of the street. We ended up in a different room to what we were told, however it was still amazing! The other thing was we didn't book our own excursion to the Atlas Mountains as the Riad said they could sort it for us; the trip we took was wonderful and so was our guide Saiid, however, perhaps through our own fault of not explaining, it was not the trip we expected or had read about from other people. We didn't get to eat with a Berber family and we constantly stopped and as a result ended up spending more than we anticipated, although we got sone lovely items. I think we were just wary as we had no idea of our itinerary and how much we would end up spending!! Saiid was a wonderful guide and he and my husband had a few laughs at my expense!!

Overall we would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Loobylu1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

A riad is a mini-palace buried in the depths of medieval alleys that looks like nothing from the outside but inside reveals, usually, what was once a grand private home.
This riad is decorated with art but not in the traditional mosiac style.
Its very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is good. We did not take other meals there but many people did.
Ryad Amiran is on the north west of the medina near Bab Yacout - about five minutes safe and well signposted walk from where most taxis drop you. With a little ingenuity its possible to walk right through the medina to the Djem El Fna, otherwise follow the walls.
The owner speaks English and will arrange excursions, and the riad is licensed to sell alcohol, something of a rarity in Morocco.

Room Tip: As fas as I know, all the suites are different, so ask if you have particular requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked this Ryad for a week. It was a bit difficult to find, would have been helpful if we had known that its near Bab Daukkallah and Bab Yakoot restaurant. Upon arrival we were initially informed that we don't have a booking. This was thankfully incorrect and we found out 15 mins later that we had a reservation and there was some misunderstanding. Our room was changed half way through our stay due to another "misunderstanding". They need to be a bit more organised I think!

Apart from the minor hiccups it was actually a brilliant place. The rooms are good size and very clean. The whole Ryad was very well decorated and the hospitality staff were excellent. The area is quit safe and the walk to the main square through the tiny streets is very interesting.

The Ryad is around a 20-25 min from the main square (someone told us its 10 mins, which is not correct)

Overall very good experience but please don't listen to the manager if he tells you that u need to pay 50 dirhams for each taxi ride to the city center. The real rate is be 20-30 dirhams!

ps: The breakfast was very good
ps2: The rooms are a bit dark and dont have TVs; My wife tells me thats what differentiates them from normal hotels..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usman4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week after booking a last minute holiday to Marrakech.

The hotel was fantastic right from the start with Amir furnishing us with all of the information we needed to navigate the souks right to the square.

The courtyard is a peaceful oasis where breakfast is served. Much better than expected with fantastic service and they were happy to serve us on the roof terrace at our request.

The room was very comfortable, clean and with a great bathroom / shower. Don't book a transfer through your travel company, either do it through the Riad, or, if you're feeling adventurous haggle, 70dhm should be more than enough from the airport!

Room Tip: The hotel was happy to offer us a room which suited our requirements, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ryad Amiran for 5 nights for our anniversary trip and we had such a lovely time there. We met with the Owner, Adrian, when we first arrived and he made us feel very welcome and so very at home right away. Adrian sat with us and went through all the details about how to get around the city, as well as, Dos and Don'ts which were very useful as we know very little about the city. The Ryad is located in the medina which is within the city wall and it is considered an "old town" area. We thought it gives a very authentic feelings of the city. We didn't think it was difficult to find at all after a day of observing the area. In fact, I think it is well located as it is close to the famous city gate and not very far to walk to the main square (but far enough to be away from the noise). Anyone who had been to Marrakech would know that you WILL get lost and will not remember your back to where you are staying on your first day or two, the staff at Ryad Amiran helped us a lot by explaining the easiest way to get around the small, identical alley ways and told us not to let anyone show us the way back unless we are willing to pay silly amount of money in return. The manager gave us a lot of tips and recommendations on the choice of places to visit to fit with what we wanted to do or see each day. The owner, Adrian, recommended a fantastic restaurant for us to go to for our anniversary dinner which made our night even more special. The Ryad is smartly decorate and very clean. Our room was made each day, perfectly with great attention to details. The roof top is a great snug even though there is no view. We didn't mind about the fact that there was no TV in the room as there are so much more interesting things to see around town. Breakfast was basic but very good. As I am not a fan of sweet breakfast, it wasn't a problem to ask for more eggs and bread instead. You can use the computer in the office area to access internet and there is free wifi available. Very highly recommended for Rad Amiran. You won' be disappointed. You will feel very welcome at home, just like staying at a good friend's house :) (If you are looking for a hotel type of set up, I'd say you should stay in a hotel but if you look for a warm and personal touch then this place is perfect).

We left without seeing everyone, so I take this chance to say thanks again for looking after us so nicely and all your help and advises during our time of stay. If we ever go back to Marrakech again we would definitely return to stay at Rya Amiran.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Larisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#265 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Moullaoud
Riad Moullaoud
#186 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Amina
Riad Amina
#103 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#282 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#108 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Shaloma
Riad Shaloma
#170 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Amiran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Amiran

Property: Ryad Amiran
Address: Bab Doukkala | El Hajra Arset Ben Brahim, 23, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ryad Amiran 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryad Amiran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing