We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best value”
Review of Riad Origines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Origines
Ranked #242 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the best value”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at four riads in marrakech and this was the least remarkable. They are going for a modern feel but it is not outstanding, and things weren't super clean. like everything was sunbleached and the tablecloths had stains. we were only there for a night so it was ok, but in comparison with the beautiful decor and incredible hospitality of the other places we stayed, this doesn't compare. and it wasn't the cheapest place we stayed at. there are better bargain riads that still have the charm of marrakech than this one. the staff was nice enough, but not the same hospitality we saw at other riads. i don't like to write bad reviews about any place, but i just thought everything was average, and in comparison with the other riads we stayed out, i wouldn't go back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
116
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After spending the day in the messy Medina, arriving to the Riad Origines was like arriving home after a hard day of work! It is the perfect place to be taken care, but as well to have your privacy, if wished. Apart from the wonderful treatment, the ladies cooked some delicous dishes. Lamb and chicken tagine are highly recommended. Special thanks to all the team: Said, Adil, Fatiha (and the other nice lady I dont recall the name, apoligies for that) and, of course, to Chloe and Nadia for all the suggestions. We will certainly recommend it! (Ana Mendes)

Room Tip: Suite Stela - It can accomodate 3 people (around 30m2).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raaquelmendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for five days as a couple in early May and were not disappointed. Chloe and Nadia are absolutely delightful, totally professional and run their riad with a lovely light touch. Adil and Said were just as excellent as everyone says, attentive, kind and helpful to the last, without feeling at all like we couldn't have privacy.

Most importantly our room was clean and comfortable, with lovely fluffy towels and robes, air con and a huge and comfy bed. The food is really great, we had a very nice meal one evening with a good selection of drinks and wine, spent a few hours in the sun on the terrace and in general found advice on whatever we needed. The only potential glitch to the whole stay was the return transfer driver failing to show up - but Said had walked us to the taxi area and handled it totally professionally, sorting out an alternative immediately and keeping everything calm! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPumpkin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Riad Origines is amazingly beautiful, really nicely decorated with unique and creative touches avoiding any clichés one might find in more traditionally furnished riads without sacrificing any of its charm at all. A fantastic oasis to retreat to after the madness of the souks. Relaxing on the rooftop terrace in the evening is a particular treat!

The staff are very attentive and really helpful without being intrusive. Chloe welcomed us as we arrived and introduced us to the city over a mint tea (one of many!), helping us plan how to get the most out of our 4 day stay. She showed a real interest in what we liked and tailored her recommendations accordingly, she also booked restaurants for us and recommended sights that we certainly would otherwise have missed (without ever being pushy in any way).

She checked up on how we are doing a couple of times throughout our stay, but our main point of call was Adil. Although chatting was sometimes a bit difficult (our French isn't great and his English isn't quite fluent), he still made our stay: he showed us our way through the souks, dropped us off/picked us up in the beginning when we were still finding our way around, went out to get fresh mint just to make us another tea after we got back very late one evening, gave us his number in case we ever needed his help when we're out and about - nothing was ever too much trouble.

Breakfast was nice as well, served whenever and wherever we fancied - nearer the end of our stay Adil remembered our preferences and it was usually waiting for us already.

We also used their spa services - I enjoyed a massage and my partner tried the hammam - which was nice but not spectacular. These services are provided by external staff, who in our case barely spoke any English at all, making it a relaxingly quiet affair (albeit unintentionally). It was pleasant, but not a must-have, especially considering that these services are quite pricey.

As we approached the end of our stay, Chloe kindly helped us figure out the best way for our onward travel - we went to the Atlas mountains, and a one-way trip turned out to be a bit unusual compared to the much more common day trips, so her great connections and inventiveness were much appreciated indeed! As with Adil, nothing was ever too much trouble.

We really had a brilliant stay here and still fondly think back quite often. The Riad itself is amazing (and I came home with quite a few interior design ideas of my own thanks to Origines), but it is Chloe and her team that made our stay here so special. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunChaser116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were the only people staying in the Riad at the time, and we were given a choice of which one of the gorgeous interior designed rooms we would like. The breakfasts were great with lots of choice and they were able to offer hammam and spa treatments in the Riad. At all times, we were offered mint tea and drinks and the staff were so friendly and attentive, without every being too intrusive. On arrival they walked us to the main square and gave us lots of recommendations of places to eat and drink. The Riad is beautifully designed with amazing details in all the rooms and public areas. The roof terrace is a lovely place to relaz It is about 10 minutes walk the Place Jemaa el Fna, but you actually get a sense of the real Marrakesh on that 10 minute walk, instead of the tourist version, which is really amazing and it's also away from the hustle and bustle of the central medina.

All in all, we had an amazing stay here and would definitely return on another trip to Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Top-tip: a taxi can't get all the way to the Riad as it is down a lot of side streets, so you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our room was very nice but this riad was vastly understaffed. Adil was great- helpful , but he was all by himself. The 2 owners came by once each during that weekend and just seemed intent on suggesting places, restaurants, etc that they seemed to have deals with. As Adil was the only taking care of all the patrons, whenever he was doing something for one of us, the others were just alone in the riad waiting. This is probably the nicest riad I have stayed in (I lived in Morocco for 2 years), with the least attentive owners.The breakfast was delicious and we liked the terrasse. The location is in the north of the medina- quite a distance from djemna and the souks. Though we let them know when we were arriving, no one was there to meet us where the taxi dropped off. Luckily, a young boy carried on bags and led us there. There would have been no way to find it otherwise. Once we got our barings, it was fine- but definitely not suitable for first time travellers to Marrakech. Anyway, it's a pity. It is a very nice looking place, very clean with a great breakfast- but they need to get more staff and ones that speak some English. (I am french-speaking, so there was no problem- but my husband only speaks English and when he asked for something, no one understood him). They arranged a shuttle to the airport for 200 dirhams- a little steep as a petit taxi will take you there for 70 dirhams- but considering the location, there really is no other way. Anyway, as the price was expensive for a riad in March- I wouldn't stay here again. My friends stayed a Harmonie for about 1/3 of the price, and they were 5 minutes from the souk in a really nice and clean room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyssaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadorigines, Propriétaire at Riad Origines, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
First of all, thank you for your time to give us your feedback and things for improvement in the riad.
I'll try to respond point by point
Regarding the staff, we are 4 people and 2 owners, myself and my partner Chloe for a riad of 5 rooms, I do not think that it can be considered as "understaffed". The weekend you were there one of our employees was indeed on vacation, but his colleague assured his replacement.
On your arrival at the riad, I have personally contacted you to determine at what time and how you arrive, you told me to come on your own. I have then emailed explanation to come to riad telling you to call Adil on arrival for him to come pick you up and take care of your luggage. I have also proposed private transfer with private driver who takes care of you from one point to another with your luggage and taking you directly to the riad. It is true that the service is charged 10 € / person but it is a luxury service performed by an outside company that customers can choose or not. The price of the taxi can be indeed 70dhs but as you say in the direction riad airport as you take in the city, know that the other way they will demand at least € 20 after a long negotiation and a service that has nothing to do with ours...
About our inattention to you, I sincerely believe that there is a big misunderstanding, besides all the other comments left on tripadvisor attest unanimous in our constant presence in the riad to support and advise our clients, we make this our first goal!
Chloe was personally present to welcome you, you told her when she gave you our personal city map to explain things to do in Marrakech,that you know very well Marrakech because you lived here since 2 years, and besides you were with local friends who had organized everything .... Indeed the day I have myself see you on the terrace with friends taking an aperitif, I did not want to disturb you ... but 2 days you were there we were present 2 days and you could apply at any time because we both speak English ... we really understood that you did not need our advice and you know the city very well... sorry if apparently it was not the case and you wanted informations...
About restaurants, we do not have anything personally advised in my memory?? We have a list available in our book of advice and proposals on Marrakech. We believe in helping our customers offering the best Moroccan restaurants in the city, so they just avoid the tourist traps, we have nothing to gain by recommending them if it is to satisfy our customers.
you say: "This is probably the nicest Riad I have stayed (I lived in Morocco for two years)," we thank you but know that quality has a price ...
Hoping to have answered as objectively as possible and inviting you to come and visit us next time so we can provide you this time all the secrets of the red city, as we do with all our customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We agree with a lot of the other reviews about this place. The staff are exceptional and go out of their way (without being intrusive) to make sure you're happy and give you advice on what to see, where to go. The Riad itself is decorated in a really lovely, colourful, unusual way, so if you want something a bit different from the usual neat and tidy but slightly bland uniformity of a lot of hotels, this won't disappoint. It's a few minutes to walk to the Souks (5 mins), which is great - you're right there in the heart of Marrakech.

Definitely recommended to get a more personalised experience of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yasmine
Riad Yasmine
#74 of 499 in Marrakech
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#52 of 499 in Marrakech
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Origines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Origines

Property: Riad Origines
Address: 11 Derb Ben Moussa | Sidi Ben slimane Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Origines 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Origins is a riad Riad shop. The owners, Nadia and Chloe welcome you to the Riad origins. Traditional Morocco was their inspiration to create and perform contemporary decor with clean lines. Moroccan objects typically have been diverted from their original function of giving birth to an original decoration and unexpected. In this boutique riad, customers charmed by the decor can buy or order the objects of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Origines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing