We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Oasis in the chaos of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Badi
Ranked #9 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belves, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis in the chaos of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We chose this Riad on the basis of the many excellent reviews and were not disappointed. The service is outstanding - Christian and Isabelle really exceed expectations. We loved the tranquil location which is just inside the medina next to the Badi palace, and within walking distance of most of the interesting sites of Marrakech. The little tour of Marrakech that Christian provided us with was indispensable and interesting, and meant we could make the most of our stay. They were a constant source of information about the area and the culture and gave us a great insight into the local way of life. We ate in the riad on one night and the food was amongst the best we had in the city. The room was well appointed and the bed really comfortable. And the bill was exceptional value. We will go back to Marrakech, and when we do we will book at the Riad Badi again. Thank you Christian and Isabelle for your generosity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Riad badi and thank you for posting a excellent review. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations.
We did our best to share our experience of Morocco by giving you some tips and making a tour in the Medina that you are able to easily return to the riad after your walks.
Our riad has a good localisation: within walking distance of most of the interesting sites of Marrakech and far enough from the bustle of the Medina. Thereby the riad is quiet and peacefull.
It will be a pleasure to see you again for another stay.
Take care.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
375
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Riad Badi (near the Badi Palace) is an oasis of peace in an otherwise busy, noisy artisan sector of the Medina - only a short walk from most of the interesting areas.  The riad is modern but built in the traditional style and has well appointed bedrooms with traditional decor, fine quality sheets & towels, well designed beautifully equipped bathrooms and generally good attention to detail. Excellent breakfast (and sunbeds) on the roof terrace. Free wifi throughout.  Christian and Isabelle are amazingly helpful, knowledgable and friendly owners, giving personal help with booking or airline problems through to where best to shop or eat, always at hand for advice and determined to leave you with good memories.  They will also take the trouble to show you around the area (and point out what to avoid).

Tip:  Ask to eat in.  The beef Tajine with apricots is excellent.

Room Tip: Telephone Christian and he will advise you, based on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting Riad Badi for 7 nights last month and for sharing your comments about your stay.
We are really glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the riad. It was a pleasure to receive you and help you to discover a new environment.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a little gem! Amazing place, very helpful hosts, good location and truly tasty breakfast which can be enjoyed on the roof terrace.
Upon arrival we were greeted with Mint tea and very helpful tips to move around he city. The restaurant recommendations were superb. The room was very nice and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms are both modern as well as very functional. The shower s outstanding !
Both Christian and Isabelle do their very best to make you feel at home. I can only recommend the riad Badi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuffoschneck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a lovely review after your stay in our house at the end of October.
We are delighted you enjoyed our welcome our services our riad and the breakfasts on the terrace.
Regarding the showers we have invested in a more efficient and reliable equipment to provide even more comfort to our customers.
If you felt at home in our house our goal has been reached.
Take care and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We chose this Riad based on the reviews and we were not dissapointed. We booked direct with Isabelle and Christian and we'd recommend doing this as it was so easy. We arranged airport pick up with them and the driver walked with us to the Riad from where he could park the car. We received a lovely warm welcome and after we'd freshened up Christian gave us a tour of the Medina. We really appreciated this as we were sure we would have got lost without it.
Isabelle recommended a local Hammam and even walked there with us so that we didn't get lost. The breakfasts were varied each day and we ate there two evenings - great food and lots of it. They were always on hand to answer our questions and give advice and they took an interest in what we had done. Nothing was too much trouble and they really deserve to be number one. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the Medina. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable. Jacki & Jo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Jacky and Jo,
Thanks for being stayed at Riad Badi and thanks for having written the NICE review.
Most of our guests book directly: it's easy, safe and cheaper.
We have choosen to live in the riad for offering better services: we try to share our Moroccan experience and give advices to avoid some tourist traps.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed these days spent with us mainly by our welcome, our services and the food.
And all possible thanks to our competent and well trained and motivated team.
Thanks a lot.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Riad Badi a beautiful retreat on 100+ degree days in Marrakech and we had an amazing experience here. The service, rooms, and breakfasts are impeccable. On our night of arrival, Isabelle prepared fresh mint tea and Christian showed us around the souks. They are lovely people and their wonderful hospitality was much appreciated!

For us, the intensity of Marrakech was tempered by the fact that we always could come back to Riad Badi at the end of the day and have a hot shower in their Moroccan-themed bathroom. We definitely would recommend this riad.

Room Tip: We had the Cannelle room. It was spacious and spotless but in no way was it sterile. We loved the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Anita,
Thank you for your stay at Riad Badi and thank you for sharing your feedkack. We are glad to read your review and to know that you have been delighted to your stay with us. Marrakech it's more than 100 degrees for 3 months but you have appreciated the cool temperature in the souks and at the riad.
We have tried to welcome you as we would like to be welcomed in a guest house. And our aim is Riad Badi is a home away from home.
Thank you gain and take care.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights last week. This place really is beautiful. The rooms are well serviced , gorgeous bedding and a comfortable bed. Big walk in shower with a rain style shower head, lots of white squidgy towels. Christian and Isabella seriously cannot do enough for you, even making tea and coffee on request. These people work so very hard to make your stay memorable and they certainly did for us.
Isabella and Christian provide an amazing home made breakfast of yoghurts cakes breads and spreads, each day is different and very yummy.
This Riad is very well situated close to all the palaces and squares so in my opinion a very good base.
Marrakech itself is as you would expect so if you are looking for an oasis of calm Riad Badi is the place to stay!!
Thank you Isabella and Christian for your warmth and hospitality, it was a real pleasure:)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babledeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Riad Badi Marrakech.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi and are happy that you keep a nice souvenir of Marrakech.
Take care
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Being at Riad Badi is like staying with family friends - with a warm welcome, great taste in furnishings, and epic breakfasts. Christian's guided tour of the Medina was of great help - especially tips on where to eat and what to visit, The location of the Riad made it easy to explore the bustling Souks and yet still gave the feeling of being in a peaceful haven. Isabelle arranged a great morning at the local Hammam ... what an experience and so relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble and whatever time we returned to the Badi a friendly face was waiting. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites in which we stayed (Safran & Nomade) were very well appointed, and from what we saw a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Tom,
Thanks for staying at Riad Badi with your friends. Thanks for sharing your feeback and thanks again for your lovely last email.
We are glad to know you have spent a nice time with us and we like your first sentence " Being at Riad Badi is like staying with family friends" because it's our aim every day.
We are delighted to have discussed and have laughed with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#5 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#11 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#3 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Property: Riad Badi
Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing