We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spectacular Service, Joire de Vivre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Badi
Ranked #9 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Spectacular Service, Joire de Vivre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Thank you Christian and Isabelle for going the extra mile...always with a genuine smile, a twinkle in the eye and knowledge to share. They were so helpful with dinner reservations and suggestions. Christian gave us an excellent orientation the first day taking us all around even dropping us off at the hard to find Terrace des Epices and returning for us after our lunch. We didn't have enough time to try the dinner at Riad Badi but enjoyed our breakfasts - all well described below. Each day, a different fruit and jam, though they brought my favorite, apricot, out for me each day.
Our room, the nomad room, was perfect for the 3 of us. My 11 yr old had an eye opening trip with many Wows and a few tears at seeing some of the kittys looking a bit ragged. The riad was our refuge from the hustle and bustle of busy Marrakesh. It was quiet, impeccably clean and you can tell that the owners really care. It is relatively new ( i think 1.5 yr or so) and you can tell they have not burned out, each guest is made to feel special and the owners really work to make you happy. Christian had good advice that he shared during the tour. They were non-intrusive but ready to help or offer inputs when we requested.
The rooftop was just getting ready for the warmer weather. While the other guests preferred to eat downstairs in the lovely courtyard, we ate upstairs on the roof garden complete with its citrus trees, flowers and bamboo in pots. They never hesitated to serve us upstairs, where we could enjoy the garden and view of the storks on Palace Badi.
Location was very good. The rugs in the bedroom and decor were excellent - soft, inviting, and with that Moroccan touch. Room had clean uncluttered lines with the exotic touches just right for the setting. The bathrooms are new, clean and spacious. Love the holder they use for their shampoo and soap. Cute holder for their hair dryer....clever....stay there and you will see!
Oh and upon our arrival they made it so welcoming...complete with rose petals.
Thanks again to Isabelle and Christian. Great job. Wonderful welcome with the tea and Moroccan sweets. Everyday, we were provided a bottle of water as we left the Riad too, upon request.
PS : book early for Pepe Nero restaurant nearby and others...we recommend the fusion one at the Hotel Arabia (ambience and you can have Moroccan or fusion). Avoid I Limoni

Room Tip: If you have 3 people book the Nomad room, second floor, spacious, clean, soft rugs, great bed and ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lajolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Riad Badi for your first stay in Marrakech and thank you so much for this great review written by a top contributor.
We offer free to all our guests a tour of the district of Riad Badi and help you to find restaurants that suit you. We always try to do our best so that you felt at Riad badi as at home
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
375
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thank you Christian and Isabelle for making our first trip to Marrakech an unforgetable experience! From the moment we arrived the hospitality was outstanding.

You are greeted with traditional Morrocan tea and sweets, with a full explaination of the area, where to go, what to see, recommendations of places to eat for all budgets. The Riad is beautiful and our room, very spacious, tranquile, with a Morrocan meets modern flair.

Breakfast is truly fantastic, choice of coffee/ tea, yogurt with friut/ jams and fresh pancakes/ bread. I loved the different variety every morning. We also ate there 1 night, highly recommend it.

Christian will take you around on the first day if you are unsure. The tour of the Medina really helped us get our bearings and without it I think we would have got lost many times.

We were apprehensive about staying in the Medina, but Riad Badi made the experience so easy and authentic.

Highly recommend a traditional Hamman which is 10 min on foot from the Riad

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Owner at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks Christina for choosing to stay at Riad Badi and also for sharing your feedback on this website.
We are grateful to you for writing and forwarding your valuable feedback. More than that we are so delighted to read the lovely heading of your comment. It feels good to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Riad Badi and we are already planning on returning! Isabelle and Christian are wonderful hosts and they made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Their communication is first class and our initial enquiry emails were answered within minutes!

The riad is set in an excellent location very close to Badi Palace (which is well worth a visit). A 10 minute walk finds you in Jemaa el-Fnaa Square and on our first day Christian kindly guided us around the maze of souks which was invaluable! The riad is tucked away and very peaceful which we very much welcomed after the hussle and bussle of the Medina.

Riad Badi is beautiful and clean and one of our most enjoyable memories is spending the evening with Isabelle and Christian after a delicious traditional dinner. Breakfast each morning consisted of generous portions of pancakes/breads/cakes with tasty jams/honey as well as fresh fruit and yoghurt. The food was high quality and we spent a couple of mornings eating on the sun terrace whilst watching the storks that nest on the neighbouring Badi Palace walls.

We really cannot fault anything about our holiday and this was largely due to our hard working hosts. Thank you Isabelle and Christian, it was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Laura and Daniel Kavanagh

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cannelle room which we were very happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Laura and Daniel,
Thanks a lot for your complete and very nice review. It's always a pleasure to read so many compliments on the riad and the work of the entire team.
We have delighted to have met you and to have spent nice times with you.
We hope to see you soon. Insha'Allah
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having read all the reviews on TripAdvisor we were very excited and full of expectation. We weren't disappointed. Everything that everyone says on TripAdvisor is right. Christian and Isabelle are very welcoming. Christian took us around the square to help us to get familiar with our surroundings - definitely something we valued as it's quite daunting when you first arrive. Following the advice on TripAdvisor we arranged for transportation via the Riad which was perfect - made our arrival very smooth.

We travelled with Voyage Prive but even if you book via the Riads website, the value is still excellent. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. Breakfast is plentiful and it was great to have my regular Green Tea every morning.

We ate in the Riad for dinner on the second night - I definitely recommend this. The food is excellent and it's fun to talk with Isabelle and Christian about their lives as hosts of the Riad and their top tips for purchases and eating out.

We did find some of the sights we went to see a little disappointing with very little attention to providing history and facts in English. The main square is great fun and full of life. The photography museum is a must for lunch - well worth the walk.

I would recommend walking everywhere - even to the Majorelle Gardens. Its a great way to get to know the city and we felt very comfortable. Christian will show you where to change your money into local currency - this was a great tip and saved us the high charges in the airport.

Foodwise - we didn't really discover any really nice restaurants outside of the Riad, since returning home I've heard a lot of recommendations, so it's well worth doing your research before you go.

The weather was glorious and perfect for sight seeing - definitely recommend travelling in March/April for the best weather.

The Riad is perfectly located - right by the Badi Palace and from looking around the local area I couldn't see any other Riads as well located as this one. It's not far from the airport and you are in a lovely quiet road away from the chaotic buzz of the Medina. But it's just a few minutes walk away.

If you ever want somewhere to stay in Marrakech - look no further, this is perfect in every way.

Room Tip: I can't remember the name of the room we stayed in, but it was one of the larger rooms with spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments following your recent stay at Riad Badi.
We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay in particular the location suitable for your needs, welcome, our advices, room and dinner.
Thank you for recommending Riad Badi to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at Riad Badi for two of the four nights we were in Marrakech. The riad is a wonderful combination of original Moroccan architecture and design with many modern flares. The owners, Christian and Isabelle are wonderful! Welcoming, friendly, genuine hosts! Upon your arrival, you will be greeted with the customary mint tea and and some delicious pastries. Christian will show you the surrounding area on a map and then actually take you out for a short walk around the surrounding area so that you can get your bearings!

Some great benefits of this Riad include the wonderful roof deck which has space for sunning yourself, as well as a wonderful shaded seating area. This is a great place to relax and unwind a little after a day of hustle and bustle in the medina.

I had read several TripAdvisor reviews about the wonderful food at Riad Badi. Since we were at the tail end of a two week trip through Morocco, we were getting a little tired of "eating out" and were craving something more home made. Lucky for us, Riad Badi has a fantastic chef. Eating at a riad can be a great way to taste what home cooking is like since most riads are very small and the staff is local. I can honestly say that we had some of the best authentic Moroccan food of our two week trip, at Riad Badi! Superb lamb tagine with almonds and apricots, a delicious appetizer (forgot the name) and a lovely assortment of orange based desserts. We loved the food so much that we decided to eat there on our second night as well! It was funny, when we told Isabelle, she seemed a little surprised that we didn't want to try one of Marrakech's famed restaurants! For us, however, after having been on the road for about a week and a half, the home cooking of Riad Badi was just what we needed! For the second dinner we had a delicious kefta tagine with a sampling of Moroccan salads as an appetizer and Isabelle's delicious chocolate mouse for dessert!

Overall, a great stay with great hosts. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ponarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Owner at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Greetings from Riad Badi,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to take your time to write a such comment.
We are pleased to know that you and your family found our wonderful riad and our services excellent . It was indeed a great pleasure for us to be your host. We are also glad to read that you recommend the Riad Badi.
Your comments are valuable to us and our team was overjoyed to share your feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Thank you Christian and Isabelle - from the moment we arrived your hospitality was outstanding. The quality and cleanliness of the accomodation was better than any luxury hotel. Breakfasts were amazing amazing, all home cooked traditional fayre, fabulous! Not to mention dinner, again amazing quaility and outstanding value. Christan's tour of the square, souks and local landmarks on our first day was must needed and very much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble. A truely memorable stay in a first class Riad ..... We cannot recommended highly enough .... thank you, Anne & Jacki ....
P.S. we will definately be back, either with our families next time or just us again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnenMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Owner at Riad Badi, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Anne and Jacki,
Many thanks for leaving your lovely feedback following you recent stay at Riad Badi. I was really glad that you enjoyed the amazing service we provided you with during your stay. I do hope that you can come again in the near future to enjoy another great stay with us. I have, as I always do, passed on your kind words to my great team.
My kindest regards and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the time we started communication for bookings till the end the experience with Isabelle and Christian was just wonderful. They were very prompt and very helpful about evrything. On the first day Christian was kind enough to show us around the Medina. For the rest of the stay they made sure we were comfortable and at home. The room was spacious, beautiful, well decorated and clean. Thank you Isabelle and Christian for making our stay wonderful. We would definitely love to return back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi2963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle J, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for this excellent advice and for this stay.
It is always a great joy for us to receive newlyweds on honeymoon. And we are delighted that you have chosen the Riad Badi and we have contributed to the success of your first days of married life.
Your sympathy, our exchanges on the terrace and the patio and the smiles we already.
We wish you a nice and enjoyable life together. The whole team renews its best wishes for happiness.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#5 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#11 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#3 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Property: Riad Badi
Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing