We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Badi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Badi
56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Marrakech's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Riad Badi is not just a bed and breakfast. This is the house of gracious hosts Christian and Isabelle. Upon entering its big door, all we could say was, "Wow!" We were astonished and speechless as to how lovely this place is. The pictures posted on this site is how you see it. We booked the turquoise room and we loved it. The room was wonderfully decorated. It was very clean. There is a heating system which was very comforting since our trip was during winter. The toilet was clean as well. Coffee and the local mint tea were offered to us, which we both enjoyed.

Christian showed us around the square and the souks. He gave us tips on how to be street wise in their area. He advised us on how to maximise our stay by identifying which destinations we should prioritize.

What we found really touching was when Isabelle gave us a cold pack for my girlfriend's massively swollen ankle. For us, it was a kind and caring gesture. We felt like we are not just guests. We were valued guests, perhaps like close friends or even family.

Thank you for welcoming us to your abode, Christian and Isabelle. We will definitely come back and visit you some time in the near or far future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks Ted for having chosen the Riad Badi for your first anniversary and thanks for taking your time to write the VERY nice review.
You organized yourself your Moroccan trip and you wanted to see as much as possible. You stayed two nights at Riad badi before leaving for your great tour: Casablanca, Ouzazate, Merzouga and Fez. The marvelous views of Atlas mountains, the hike along the Sahara desert and the sunset at Erg Chebbi are unforgotten.
We were delighted to meet you and to have contributed to the success of your trip.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
375
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just arrived back home, loved everything about Riad Badi, Christian and Isabelle were delightfull, very accomodating, warm & friendly hosts.
All the other reviews really say it all, accomodation perfect, finishing touches really count if you are looking for somewhere special.
Thanks again Christian & Isabelle for a fantastic stay

Alison & Stuart

Room Tip: Hibiscus, has a fantastic bed and great walk in shower, fab decor too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 541AlisonT541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks Alison and Stuart for the wonderful review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Riad Badi and the whole team is very proud: you work in a hotel and your eyes of specialist give more importance to your comments.
Why not another stay in Morocco with your children?

Thanks a lot again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a visit to Marrakech.

Firstly Christian and Isabelle were really helpful before we'd even got to the Riad, contacting us via email and answering any of our questions very promptly. I would recommend getting the taxi organised by them for transport to and from the airport, as I think it would have been a nightmare trying to find the Riad without assistance.

When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Isabelle and Christian who told us everything we needed to know about Marrakech; recommending places to visit and how best to get there. As others have mentioned, Christian gave us a short tour to Jemaa el Fna and the souks which was the ideal introduction to the busy city.

The whole Riad is beautifully decorated and you can see the effort that has gone into making the place a real oasis away from the mayhem of the medina. Our room was impeccably presented with little touches such as petals and local pastries showing a real attention to detail.

Breakfast was perfect with homemade yogurt, breads and pastries which really hot the spot for the long days out in the medina on foot! We also ate at the riad one evening and the meal was gorgeous - 3 courses of local dishes with Moroccan wine.

I would thoroughly recommend this as the ideal place to stay if you want to visit Marrakech - great location, warm, friendly and helpful hosts and perfect rooms and food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Riad Badi. Thank you so much for your very nice and complete review. During your short stay you have visited the medina from morning to evening: your shoes and your feet still have to remember.
We will pass your compliments to Soukaïna for the dinner and the breakfasts.
We are delighted to have received you.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The Riad Badi is run by a lovely French couple, Isabelle and Christian. They make you feel very welcome. Christian took us for a walking tour of the medina and souk and recommended a good restaurant and money exchange office. This was very helpful for first time visitors to Marrakech. Although we ate at quite a variety of places in Marrakech, the best meals we had were at the RIad Badi. The breakfast is really good too. I can thoroughly recommend this Riad as a great base for a few days in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royvmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Riad Badi and thank you so much for this great review written by a top contributor.
Marrakech is a real change of scenery for guests who discover it for the first time. Therefore, the presentation of the city from a map and the visit the surroundings of the riad are useful elements to go back easily to the riad and quickly be in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and avoid some traps.
In spite of the rain you have able to visit the red city Marrakech. You have eaten in some restaurants renowned. You have spent two evening in the riad: after the dinners prepared by Soukaïna you enjoyed playing scrabble.
We have forwarded your compliments to Soukaïna.
Take care of yourselves.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Last week we stayed in Riad Badi in Marrakesh, we had a great stay. When we arrived Christian and Isabelle gave us a warm welcome and having never been to Morocco before, they we so helpful and gave us lots of useful advice. Christian showed us around the medina - were we would have almost definitely have got lost without him! The Riad itself is beautiful and a real sanctuary away from the busy town. The breakfast is delicious! Thanks Christian & Isabelle - we will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Chris,
Thank you for choosing Riad Badi for your first stay in Morocco and for having written the very nice review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at Riad Badi and the whole team is very proud: you are the manager of a famous guesthouse in Chamonix for several years and your eyes of specialist give more importance to the comment.
During your stay, we were able to share our experiences.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We got our deal through Voyage Prive and stayed here for 4 nights. Riad Badi is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are well decorated, with rose petals everywhere (even in the loo :)) and Isabelle and Christian make a real effort to make your stay special. It's well situated, with a short walk to the main square, but you have peace and quiet away from the intense streets.

Breakfast was amazing, fruit, yoghurt, cake, cheeses, pancakes or other local breads/pastries etc. We had breakfast on the sun terrace and enjoyed soaking up the last rays of sun we might see for a while!

I would definitely recommend this Riad to friends and would definitely go back!

My suggestion is to book the taxi that is offered on the website, as finding the Riad for the first time is tricky, but once you have found it the first time its fine!

At the Riad there are recommendations of where you can visit, they have connections with a Hammam spa and suggest places to eat.

Go - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewarbs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for your stay at Riad Badi. Thanks for your very nice review. Thanks to recommend Riad Badi to your friends.
We are pleased you enjoyed these few days at Riad Badi: we receive our guests as we would be received; we serve hearty breakfasts and varied and we try to make you discover Moroccan specialties.
It was a real pleasure to receive you.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed 4 nights at the Riad Badi and had an excellent time. Isabelle & Christian work very hard to make your stay wonderful. The first night we had a traditional dinner at the riad, a very nice kefta tajine served with Morroccan wine. The riad is stylish decorated and spotless clean, the rooms are comfortable and romantic. And quiet....it is amazing that you hear really no sound from the hectic medina outside. In the morning we had our breakfast at the roof terrace with stunning views of the stork birds. Isabelle & Christian are always around to help you, for example to book a trip. We decided in the morning to go to the Ourika valley and they arranged quickly a guide/driver for us. This trip we can really recommend, it was beautifull in the mountains. They also booked a massage for us at 5 Elements spa, but we would not go there again, the massage was average. We also went to Hammam Ziani, and that was a great experience for a much better price.The riad has a good location, with some nice restaurants around like Dar Essalam, Le Tanjia and the Kosybar for some drinks. We heared that we were the first guests from The Netherlands, so we hope many more will follow. It is difficult to choose from all the riads in Marrakech, but we are very glad that we went to Riad Badi. Thanks again for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbadi, Propriétaire at Riad Badi, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks Marjon for your stay at Riad Badi and for your very wonderful review.
You are the first Dutch guests. In spite of the rain you visited many places , ate in nice restaurants and went to the Ourika valley.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Badi and are delighted that you keep a nice souvenir of Marrakech.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#5 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#11 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#3 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Badi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Badi

Property: Riad Badi
Address: 56, derb Touareg Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Badi is a guesthouse situated right in the old centre of Marrakech. Most of the city's main attractions such as the Palais Badi, the Palais Bahia and the Saadiens tombs are within walking distance. The famous Djemaa El Fna Square is just at less than 10 minutes walk away.Riad Badi accommodates guests in seven spacious and comfortable rooms. The rooms are double, twin or triple with reverse air conditioning and safe box. They provide en suite bathroom with shower, towels, toiletries and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Badi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing