We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem!!!!!!!!!!! Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #37 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hidden gem!!!!!!!!!!! Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I feel in love with this amazing, beautiful, stunning place since i walked through the doors. We Had the most wonderful greetings from the owner , who made us feel welcome straight away his people skills are just excellent. The staff where so great, kind, lovely and made sure that we were well catered for. The rooms we stayed in were so beautiful, spacious, clean and well maintained, they were cleaned everyday. The deco and artwork was absolutely spot on, every room was different from the next. The food is cooked to perfection, from breakfast, lunch and dinner and service you get is just simply wonderful. The spa treatment was divine, they have good stuff that do great massages, it was relaxing and soothing experiencing the Hamam for the first time. I would recommend this villa to everyone to visit because it was an amazing experience for me and my sisters. I would absolutely go back to Villa Makassar again, it can be my second home and was such a refreshing visit.

I want to say a great thank you to the owner, staff and the manager who made us feel welcome and made our experience even more overwhelming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nubianprincess09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    60
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
346
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

i have never posted a review on tripadvisor but always used its services but upon returning from this stay in villa makassar i felt i must share my experience so others will hopefully stay at this place is so amazing

Having just returned from this riad /villa i can only say what a special place this is in marrakesh From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like royalty the service from all the staff and owner is second to none we were greeted with such genuine warmth and interest
Such a nice surprise after a early flight from gatwick
its was lovely to stay in a absolutely stunning property with such a attention to detail to the art deco era .
This place is massive its about three or four riads together so it feels like you have it to yourselfs i think its only has 10 rooms and suites
The owner Fruad (fred for short )was so passionate about the riad giving us a tour of every area
It was so nice to meet someone so passionate about his riad and making his guest's feel totally at home and explaining where he had sourced all the beautiful furniture from around the world was amazing, everything had a story attached to it .
The spar was amazing with the hammam and massage being probably one of the best treatments ive ever had
the location is great 15min walk to the main square and souks .
Fred arranged everything for us with no pressure we had a excellent day trip to the atlas mountains to see berber villages waterfalls mountain walks and lunch .
He recommended us a restaurant for saturday night his recommendation was spot on just what our group wanted .
i can honestly say that there is not many hotels i would go back to just for the fact that its good to try different hotels but i would definitely go back to villa makassar and hope to very soon such a amazing place and only 3.5 hours from london

Thanks Fouad for this special trip i will never forget your special riad in Marrakech

Room Tip: all rooms are excelente
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank star-glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have just returned from a four day break in this beautiful villa. I researched the villa on the internet before I arrived and the place really is as stunning as the photographs. The owner Fouad has excellent taste and each area has been furnished to a very high standard. It is a truly peaceful haven to come back to after all the bustle of this very busy city. The staff really couldn't do enough for you and I must give special thanks to Ismael and Rabii. The food was excellent with lovely freshly cooked breakfasts. A cocktail on the roof terrace is also to be recommended!! I would certainly come back to this lovely villa. Thank you for making my stay so special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have just returned from a short break in Marrakesh and I normally do not write reviews but this time I can't help myself as I believe that everyone should know about this gem in the middle of a busy city!
Villa Makassar has every possible comfort, beautiful and tastefully designed rooms and relaxing surroundings that made our return from the busy Medina, like walking into a man-made paradise!
It was my pleasure to meet the owner, Fouad who made our stay very special and his personal attention and care was very much appreciated.
His staff is carefully selected and I feel obliged to name Ismael and Rabii who were so nice, helpful, "VERY GOOD SINGERS" and genuinely lovely people and made our stay very special. Thank you guys!
There is no other place I would stay if I went back to the amazing Marrakesh! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all fantastic and individually designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elide1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I went to the Villa Makassar with my 16 year old daughter and we had a fabulous time. The hotel and staff were second to none. They looked after us so well and made the holiday spectacular. They helped us with trips and maps and told us about places to explore. The hotel is beautifully furnished and really luxurious. A real treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We don't usually go back to the same place let alone the same hotel but Villa Makassar in Marrakech has proved the exception and for very good reasons. Morocco is a relatively short flight to a warmer climate and our last visit in June 2013 to Villa Makassar was such a treat we decided to return this year in April. Once again we were not disappointed. The standards of service and accommodation met all our expectations and the overall atmosphere of the Riad was peaceful and relaxed despite being fully booked.

There was a change from last year but a change for the better. The new chef has introduced an extended menu adding international cuisine to the existing Moroccan dishes. We ate in the Riad's restaurant 4 times this visit and on each occasion the food was of the highest quality and beautifully presented.

As other recent reviews have stated the staff, the owner and the setting are all perfect and its location in the old part of Marrakech means it is in easy walking distance of all the historic parts of the city that visitors would want to visit. For those that want to travel further afield then the staff will make all your arrangements for you with a minimum of fuss. We went on a day trip to the Atlas Mountains and that was very special with excellent guides and booked by the Riad at a really reasonable price.

We are already thinking about our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, cool and quiet. If you can go for a junior suite double rather than the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay! The riad, the decoration, food and service! An oasis in the middle of the buzz from the Medina. The owner, who is super nice, is the cherry on top of the cake. Recommended 100%. It was our first stay with them and definitely not the last!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fonziag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#43 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Property: Villa Makassar
Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing