We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, good location, beautiful building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Makassar to your Saves list
Villa Makassar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good location, beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a beautiful place; the Riad was absolutely stunning, the finish was excellent and the whole place is very well maintained.

Location: The Riad is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main square and the souks; it's not very far away and it's a nice walk. The location itself is near the old city wall and quiet.

Service: The service here was excellent, I mean really above and beyond what you would expect. The manager spent some time with us coming up with places to go, drawing where they were for us on the map and talking us through how to get there and what to expect. Additionally all those working here were very helpful and courteous. When we had dinner the waiter took the tables outside as it was a nice evening.

Rooms: The room we had was the most basic room and I have to say it was a little small BUT having said that, it was n't tiny and it was very well appointed and maintained. I really like it.

Spa / Pool / rest of the hotel: The pool of the hotel is it ground level and is generally shaded, also somehow the water is freezing (as it's meant to be) which is a refreshing, it's a nice area. The hotel also has a Hammam which also contains a jacuzzi which is more the size of a swimming pool. It's really refreshing and a great place to relax after going out for the day.

All-in-all this is a great place to stay, I know people have a tendency to rate place more highly that already have a high rating but this really was an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and taking time for such a detailed and positive feedback.

You perfectly pointed and measured all the efforts made by the whole team to please and satisfy every guest at Villa Makassar.

We are involved on a daily basis to keep on improving the quality of our services and bring the passion in every single detail.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Villa Makassar.

Kind regards,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 3 nights at this beautiful restored art deco themed Riad.Our room was exceptionally large, a suite. The bed very comfortable with soft linens.Staff were always ready to help without being asked.No one was intrusive.Breakfast offered everything we wanted. The location was within the Kasbah where got the sensation of "this is Morocco". One small thing there are very few toiletries offered ie shower cap.We did make this suggestion to the management.
We recommend Villa Makassar if you want to experience staying in the Kasbah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a relief when we arrived at La Villa Makassar.The beauty of the place , the kindness of all the staff and the impeccable service..Coming from Thailand ,we get used to a 5 stars treatment and we got the same feeling in this somptuous Riad .Decorated with an excellent taste,all the confort in the room.The spa and the hammam are a must .Wonderful breakfast that you can take any time and any where in the Riad.It was so peaceful that we did not want to go out .
It was my first experience in Morocco and I did definitely the right choice for our stay .
Will recommend this gem to anyone who want to see the real Moroccan hospitality .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasipa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, Directeur général at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is such an achievement for us to be able to share the Moroccan hospitality.

Being compared to asian high standards is a great compliment and we would like to thank you.

Indeed, we aim guest satisfaction in everything we do, and we take as exemples best hospitality pratices worldwide.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindly,

Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

On entering Villa Makassar, it is immediately obvious that you have chosen well. It is an oasis of calm and tranquillity. The bedrooms are stylish and the bed and bed-linen is luxurious and comfortable.

As with the majority of reviews for this property, I would agree the service is excellent - not obtrusive in any way but every need is carefully catered for. Breakfast is served wherever you would like it and at whatever time you would like it - how often is that the case? Usually breakfast is served at the convenience of the hotel not the guest..

I have no doubt that Villa Makassar will quickly become one of the in places to know and visit, a lovely experience and one I would not have any hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souheil H, General Manager at Villa Makassar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for sharing your very positive experience at Villa Makassar.
Indeed, at Villa Makassar we deliver a custom made service to our guests, to exceed their expectations and make their stay the best possible.
We will be pleased to have the chance to welcome you again, and share a little bit more of Marrakech and Morocco delights.
We wish you all the best.
Kindly,
Souheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights of our 7 night trip to Morocco here.

Above and beyond any other praise I can give was the service we received. I travel a great deal to some very exclusive hotels/resorts and never have I experienced such outstanding service. The manager Souheil Hmittou is exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble.

From start to finish. His advice was superb on all aspects of our stay from shopping, bargaining, places to avoid, things to see. His recommendations were accurate. He went above any beyond even organising all our restaurant bookings for the remainder of our trip after our departure from the Riad. He organised the same taxi driver to stay with us all week and negotiated the cost. When the jacuzzi didn't work in out room we were given complementary hammam and scrubs. Honestly I have never seen service like it. Always with a heart warming smile and such efficiency. He is an asset to Villa Makkassar and makes your the maze that is Marrakech that little bit easier.

The Riad itself is in an easy to find street in the Kasbah area and felt very safe. Only a 10/15 min walk to the main square. The decor is lovely and it's a tranquil calm space within the chaotic Medina. They even have a small outdoor pool as well as a wonderful roof terrace to soak up the sun.

Our scrub in the Hammam was truly amazing and I would recommend to anyone staying there.

Overall, a great place to stay with service that you rarely find these days. Thank you Villa Makkasar. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollylou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed for a long weekend with some friends, what a beautiful villa, rooms were lovely and had all amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful, I could not have asked for more. Would recommend anyone to stay here, it can't be faulted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SA35123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My first short break in Marrakech with my daughter and we found Villa Makassar to be the perfect Riad to stay with. Located just within the medina walls close to all the exciting hustle and bustle of Morrocan life and famous sights. The Riad was tranquil, peaceful and welcoming. The mint tea we were given on our arrival was delicious as was all the food that was prepared for us.
I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to everyone I know.

Room Tip: There are ten rooms that are all different. We chose the only twin room which was lovely and met wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#17 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#78 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#57 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing