We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #37 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My first short break in Marrakech with my daughter and we found Villa Makassar to be the perfect Riad to stay with. Located just within the medina walls close to all the exciting hustle and bustle of Morrocan life and famous sights. The Riad was tranquil, peaceful and welcoming. The mint tea we were given on our arrival was delicious as was all the food that was prepared for us.
I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to everyone I know.

Room Tip: There are ten rooms that are all different. We chose the only twin room which was lovely and met wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    60
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
346
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is surely for you if you like Art Deco. The owner is a collector and "displays" his collection in the hotel and in the rooms. The hotel has just got professional management and soon could be THE place to stay in Marrakech as for the moment it slightly lacks liveliness. It is in the medina, but not too close the bustle. It's staff is fantastic. The only downsides are the pool: which you should use in the morning if you want sun too and the price - try to negotiate. There is also a spa, but we have not used it...

Room Tip: All rooms are different, choose your style/colour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisutazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Villa Makassar is a beatiful calm Art Deco-type hotel that really takes your breath away. It's a secret little hideaway from the busy streets of Marrakech. The rooms are iconic, the service is excellent and the staff is very generous, friendly and service minded. Make sure you ask them for recommendations on restaurants and bars, because they really know the top spots of the city. They sent me and my girlfriend to La Salama by horse(!), and we had the best meal we probably ever had. Go go go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This boutique hotel (Raid) is absolutely one of the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. The service is 1st class and no amount of money could buy how well we were looked after.
Throughout our stay every little detail had been taken care of by the staff at Villa Makassar.
We stayed from Friday 22nd March to Monday 25th March for my hen weekend and when deciding where to go we were looking for something reasonably priced but a place that was special and we could feel spoilt.
We were definitely spoilt from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Everything we needed or requested help with was taken care of. The rooms and every area of the hotel decor is stunning. When you arrived all you could see was a wall with a wooden door but when the door opened you felt like you had just walked in to the secret garden, a magical place that nobody knew was there.
We had breakfasts and two evening meals at the hotel, the food was gorgeous and the service outstanding.
The Villa Makassar and all the staff made my hen weekend very special, happy memories that will last forever.
I would highly recommend this Raid to anyone wanting to stay in Marrakech.
Thanks to everyone at Villa Makassar

Room Tip: We upgraded and the rooms were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was very suprised to find this Art Deco hotel in Marrakech, it was like stepping into another world, unique rooms with all details designed to perfection. Very helpful staff who even advised me to a fantastic restaurant, thank you Juliette!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sumynona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wow..Villa Makassar was above and beyond our expectations!!
The service provided by Souheil and his team is just excellent,its precise and custom made.They helped us with organizing,tours with private guides,amazing choose of restaurants,shopping and everything was so "right on the spot of what we like".
Souheil and his team treated us like they known us for several years and knew exactly how to make hour stay in Marrakesh an outstanding experience!
I have to highlight that you can have your breakfast,lunch and dinner when and where you want at Villa Makassar...the crepes for breakfast is just the best I have ever tasted.
We are already planning the next visit.

F & F

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F_K_F_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Villa Makassar exceeds expectations from the moment you walk through the door from the busy narrow Morrocan street. We were greeted with mint tea while the manager provided information on our location and local attractions followed by a tour of the Riad, our home for the next three days. The property is exquisitly decorated, each room uniquely furnished. The staff and service were second to none, nothing was too much trouble. I would also recommend the Spa services.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#43 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Property: Villa Makassar
Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing