We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Calm Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #36 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Calm Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Villa Makassar is a lovely hotel with an Art Deco theme. Each room is different. I had a standard room and found it very palacial. Souheil and his team couldn't do enough for my group. Everyone was so helpful and kind. The hotel is situated within a 20 minute walk to the main square. I hope to revisit it again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC79960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    60
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
346
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Riad with it's warm friendly welcome should not be missed. We were given a very friendly welcome to our "home" for 3 nights by the Manager Souheil. This was my first trip to Morocco and I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the high standard of comfort and furnishings, all very art deco. My room was amazing and the hotel was calm and the staff were very attentive. A big thank you to Souheil and his team; I had the very best time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boothsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at Villa Makassar on my very first trip (of undoubtedly many more) to Marrakech. If there is one word to describe this hotel it would be have to be cool. Great deco, no two rooms could have been the same. I had the feeling like I was staying in a really cool friend's house. Staff is fabulous and friendly. Had a great a tour of the city with Nuhudeen (sorry if I misspelt) who knows the city inside out and taught me the secrets of an authentic tangine and a wonderful hammam scrub in the spa where the lady even washed my little chemise without any prompting which was incredibly touching. At the end of my stay the owner, Fouad, even gave me a bigger basket for my hand luggage so that Ryanair would not charge me 20 euros per kilo of excess luggage - I did not pay a penny more! Finally, being from Nigeria I was really reminded of how hospitable Africans are here - everyone makes you feel so welcome and valued. Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weyinmi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Villa Makassar was the perfect venue for a recent short break where a number of friends and I stayed. Just a short journey from the aiprort and located in a quiet road off the main busy routes,but still a pleasant walk to all the main sites. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and "at home" - nothing was too much trouble. My room was beautiful,very comfortable and the bathroom exceptional, just a little more light and it would have been perfect.Breakfast was a real treat and varied each morning. Souheil the Manager and all off his staff made our visit memorable,so friendly,always had a smile for you and very professional. This Riad is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MC11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed in Villa Makassar with a group of girlfriends, as soon as we walked into the Riad we were impressed. It was our first time to Morocco and we couldn’t have stayed in a more perfect place.

We were met by the Manager Souheil with mint tea and Moroccan pastries. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Throughout our stay the level of service was excellent, all went out of their way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

We had dinner on the first night in the hotel and the food was delicious.

Souheil organised a day tour to the High Atlas mountains and our guide Noureddine was extremely knowledgeable and an excellent guide.

Whilst at the hotel we had a traditional Hamman in the hotel spa – not to be missed.

The Villa Makassar was a beautiful peaceful place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a surprise trip from my girlfriend, and what can I say....this Riad is amazing.
The staff are very attentive - but not overly so that its annoying. The rooms were great and the décor is incredible. On arrival they talk to you about the owner and the décor - and its a great story. This was great for both of us, and at times it really felt like our own home - as we would sit in the court yard and not see any other guests for ages......very relaxing. The pool was great, the rooms great, service great.....no wonder everyone else has given it 5 stars!
We went for 4 days - and we plan to go again but for longer. If you want to go and relax - but enjoy the hustle and bustle of the square in the evening - this is your place.

P.S Try the Hammam Spa too.......amazing!!

Room Tip: Junior suites were a pretty standard size hotel room - but the big suites looked amazing (we had a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjumanji2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed the most wonderful holiday in your stunning Villa. It was our first time to Morocco and we couldn’t have stayed in a more perfect place. Everything about your hotel was perfect and it felt such a privilege to be surrounded by so much beauty. The staff are all so wonderfully helpful and special thanks goes to Souheil, the manager, who went out of his way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niyakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#42 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#20 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#44 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Property: Villa Makassar
Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing