We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco paradise”
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #35 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Fouad & his team are excellent hosts. Pack 1 hammam and massage is nearly 2 hours of pampering! And all for about £ 43 .....
Remember to bring your camera as the Art Deco attention to detail is stunning. The bedrooms are individually styled and make staying here very memorable

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Villa Makassar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 680 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to Marrakech. I couldn't have been more delighted with the villa he chose. It is a true diachotomy of serene accommodation and exciting chaos of the city. What a beautiful place to return to after a day of climbing the Atlas Mountains or shopping in the medina.

When we first arrived at the villa on a flight from Spain, it was nearing midnight in Marrakech. The evening clerk greeted us with such warmth and said "Come in, you are home now. It is late and we will take care of the paperwork tomorrow. You must rest now." At first glance we were in love with this special place.

Foud and the staff are amazing and most accommodating. From the attention to detail in the decor, to the amazing meals (thanks to the fabulous chef), to the special spa - hammam treatment, and the roof-top deck...it is spectacular. In the mornings you wake to the enchanting sounds of call to prayer. I cannot say enough...

We will be back again to visit our friends at Villa Makkasar. There was only one problem. It ruined us for other hotels.

Deb & Brad - BC Canada

Room Tip: The entire villa was an oasis, although some room were much more spacious than the one we had.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Villa Makassar is surely one of the most prestigious and original Riads in the Medina. The luxury of the art-deco Mamounia combined with the intimacy and charm of a real Riad. Each room is an original creation, draped in luxury, and the Spa is really something to see. Also, very conveniently located for the Medina; there is always a taxi outside. A perfect Marrakech retreat!

Room Tip: All rooms are plush and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elan_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location in the Kasbah, in the centre of it all but with easy car access to the rest of the city andthe souks. The staff at the riad is extremely helpful and the food amazing. It is done to order and picked up daily so, give the kitchen a few hours warning to get meals ready. We had many delicious dinners at sunset on the terrace. Every suite has a different design and the common area mixes Moroccan and art deco design. That made for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time staying at this villa, it was so peaceful and beautiful, plus the attention to detail against it's '20s design was amazing - even the teapots were art deco!
The thing that stood out for us the most though was the helpfulness and the friendliness of the staff there. They couldn't do enough to help us and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable and would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Marrakech!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restlessindeptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I do not know where to begin as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Makassar. My first experience was with Fouad, the owner, who responded to every email request quickly and thoroughly. When we arrived, the staff was very welcoming and the atmosphere was serene. We had the good fortune to have a chance to meet Fouad on our first night - it was a pleasure to speak to someone who loves what they do and takes pride in their business. The attention to details in the riad were incredible with absolutely everything thought of to make it the perfectly 'Art Deco' themed escape. Our food was delicious and massages were divine. I have been to Marrakech 6 times and would definitely return for a stay with Fouad and his staff. It was very well located to anywhere we wanted to go and we could not have asked for more attentive service. We went to Marrakech this time for a special occasion - my partner's birthday. Fouad had the kindness and generosity to upgrade us to one of their nicer rooms. Do not miss a chance for an unforgettable escape at Villa Makassar !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParisGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I were after a short but unique break, and that is indeed what we got! Stepping inside the unassuming front door you are transformed in to the 1920's and thats where you stay. Every detail is thought of and lovingly put together by the owner. The staff are funny and attentive and so helpful. The food was the best we tasted in Marrakech! The delights of the basement spa ensured we came back to the uk feeling like new people, so relaxed after such a short time! Every last detail is taken care of, the mirrors, the cabinets, the silver tea pots, the deco cutlery, the beautiful lamps and artwork. This all leads to the amazing ambience created. I would most certainly go back, and would most definitely recommend this riad to anyone looking for a unique place to stay. With only a small number of rooms, it ensures you feel valued and welcomed and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: All the rooms are uniquely designed with indiviual 1920's furniture so whatever one you get will...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,245 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#70 of 502 in Marrakech
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
351 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#15 of 502 in Marrakech
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $150 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing