We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Brillant day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faim d'Epices

Faim d'Epices
Book In Advance
$60.03*
and up
Farmhouse Cooking Class from Marrakech
Ranked #1 of 23 Food & Drink in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cours de cuisine à Marrakech Cooking class in Marrakesh. We pick people up to their location about 9:30am and drive them to our building in the fields,20 min from city center.In half a day They learn to make a complete Moroccan dish,including bread,salads,and a main meal changing every day, trained by our two Moroccan cookers.They prepare their own meal and eat it on our terrace looking at the olive trees...
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brillant day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Absolutely brillant day. The staff were really fun, passionate and attentive. We really enjoyed eating our food at the end of the day and they even gave us a glass of wine and a posh dessert to go with our cooking. I was extremely impressed with the service and Michael even contacted us after the day with photos/recipes which was a lovely touch. Many thanks for a great day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    78
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Make this a priority during your stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The madness of Marrakech can be overwhelming and if you only spend your time during your visit doing the touristy things, you can miss out on great experiences such as a day cooking Moroccan cuisine at L'atelier Faim d'Epices. My wife and I arrived on a Thursday, contacted Michel that same day by email, and by days end had booked our day with him and packaged it with a traditional hammam experience at Mythic Oriental. The cooking class was amazing. You are treated warmly by Michel and his staff from the moment you arrive. A different meal is made each day of the week. My wife and I got to make beef tagine with pears and candied orange. In addition to preparing that dish, we also got to make traditional Moroccan bread and witness cooking demonstrations on making other traditional side dishes. You also get to learn about the variety of spices used in Moroccan cooking through a blind smell test, and then at the end of the day, sit down and enjoy your meal outside on the patio overlooking the tranquil garden. It is money well spent and a day you won't soon forget.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a fuss-free and unforgettable day out on the farm with Michel and his wonderful team. So nice to escape the heat and hustle-bustle of the Medina to this cool, calm and quiet area just outside of the city. The farm provided smiley transport to and from our riad which was comfortable, safe and punctual. Michel himself is larger than life with a huge smile and we really enjoyed his company and learned about so much more than just Moroccan cuisine. The day was very well organised but still had a very relaxed feel. The facilities on the farm are top notch and the cooking lessons made us feel like we were Michelin star chefs! Very thankful for such a fun day, and such unbelievable value for money. You won't regret it. Not to be missed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katelouisecud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good, but eat a lot for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our day learning to cook Moroccan cuisine. The food was delicious and very easy to make. However I was not expecting that we would only eat anything at 3pm - by this time we were absolutely starving. I didn't really enjoy the last hour because of this-so would recommend a large breakfast or to take snacks.

Other than that, very relaxed and fun experience

Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayeukeul, Propriétaire at Faim d'Epices, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Hi Amy
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your cooking course. It's a good advice to inform people to take a breakfeast in the morning, the lunch is, usually between 2:30 and 3:00 pm.
However, I just want to point out that we offer drinks and snacks (dry fruits, bread with olive oil, crepes) during the course and helping our guests to wait until lunch.
Wish you the best
Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Well organized from the convenient hotel pick up, through the demonstrations, hands-on cooking, and delicious lunch (including wine!). Really enjoyed Michels sense of humor; his hand drumming was a nice accompaniment for when we got down to work. We got a very good introduction to Moroccan herbs and spices, and learned to make flat bread, salads, Moroccan-style 'crepes' and a beautiful chicken tagine with lemon and olives. Best part was enjoying it all on the terrace at the end of the day. Very nice way to spend a day in Marrakesh.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danskind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faim d'Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Faim d'Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing