We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hot kitchen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faim d'Epices

Faim d'Epices
Book In Advance
$62.76*
and up
Farmhouse Cooking Class from Marrakech
Ranked #1 of 23 Food & Drink in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cours de cuisine à Marrakech Cooking class in Marrakesh. We pick people up to their location about 9:30am and drive them to our building in the fields,20 min from city center.In half a day They learn to make a complete Moroccan dish,including bread,salads,and a main meal changing every day, trained by our two Moroccan cookers.They prepare their own meal and eat it on our terrace looking at the olive trees...
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were not sure what to expect but the day started well when we were picked up on time.The "school" was down a dusty road but a lovely kitchen training area awaited us. Here we were introduced to Michel and his team, we were given a brief exolanation of what the day would consist of and it was straight into the blind smell test. Our group was of mixed nationalities and as we were all in the dark it made us all come together quickly. The whole day was one of laughter and i am sure none of us expected our efforts to turn out so well as we were not really taking it too seriously. A lovely day that i would recommend to everyone no matter what their culinary skills may or may not be.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,270
    75
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a fantastic experience in Marrakech, and if you are visiting for a few days I definitely recommend you book a space. Michel is a great host for the day and really makes you feel at home. The experience is a whole day from about 9am to 4pm including hotel pick ups. The day incorporates a spice class, and then cooking Moroccan bread and the days tagine from scratch. Unfortunately you only get to watch as the cook makes the sides and desserts. Ideally it would be great if they could let guests make these as well, as there is plenty of waiting around on the day. Be prepared to take lots of breaks and soak up the sun in their beautiful fruit garden. The staff are absolutely lovely. There is no pressure to buy anything like everywhere else in Marrakech. Thank you to Michel and his amazing team for a fun day that we will remember for years to come.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank smarti_arti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The spice of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked a cooking class with Michel and his team after reading good reviews on trip advisor. We were picked up on time and taken out of the city to a very well appointed cooking room located on a farm. Michel greeted us and proceeded to make our experience very enjoyable. He used the blind spice smell test as a method to explain the use of different spices in Moroccan cooking. We were shown how and also prepared our own Moroccan bread as well as a Chicken Tajine and Moroccan pancakes. A great day well recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“loved this class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We took this class on our last day in Marrakech. What a great way to end a trip. We learned so much about Moroccan food and had such a great day. It's a bit outside the medina but well worth the trip and of course the food is great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cinzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you only get to do one thing in Marrakech, make it this!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Myself and my family read reviews on Faim d'Epices and being self confessed Foodies we decided to give it a go...
It was the best decision we made in a while.
From the moment you are picked up from your hotel to the moment you are dropped off you get the joy of experiencing Michel's exuberant personality, his drumming skills, get to knead out Moroccan bread, learn the tricks of the trade in identifying spices and get to enjoy the most amazing meal you created for yourself.

This is brilliant value for money and not an experience you should miss.
I couldn't rate it highly enough!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BKeane91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faim d'Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Faim d'Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing