We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First class dining in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Des Orangers - Restaurant

La Villa Des Orangers - Restaurant
Ranked #99 of 788 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class dining in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Exceptional. We came here for dinner on our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The environment is beautiful, the service exemplary, and the food exquisite. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank musicdogandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    23
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hugely overpriced mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant a few days ago. The food was utterly unimpressive, the worst being a dessert which had been out of a freezer and into a microwave non long enough...
And the bill was outrageous. Avoid

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We splurged one evening in Marrakech and had a celebratory dinner in this beautiful hotel. We arrived without reservations and too early for dinner but were shown to a beautiful lounge where we ordered drinks and were given delicious munchies. This intimate restaurant is really beautiful, having a big fireplace (like the lounge) and gorgeous decoration. The tables are spaced well apart. We had very good food and a very decent red under the label Mogador (produced in the region not far from Essaouiria). The staff were kind and courteous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7dayweekend_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charmless beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

If only the beauty of the place would be reflected in the attitude of management.The bar is off limits if you are not a registered guest,thats how I was told,although accompanied by elegant friends from Florence;who wanted to have a look.I have eaten in the Villa.Great service ,great food,high prices,but my friends booked elsewhere,royal suite,royal treatment,welcome at the bar.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful but very overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The restaurant is in a beautiful setting by the pool, when we visited there were about 10 tables of which 6 were occupied so it's small and quiet. Service was attentive and efficient, perhaps a bit quick but we do like to take things slow so it may suit others better.

First things up, drinks. The wine was overpriced - we ordered a branded bottle that is available in other restaurants and hotels in the city and it was almost twice the price, which seemed a bit unreasonable.

Food. Its a set price menu for 2 or 3 courses, typically french style. We had the lobster ravioli and foil gras terrine to start both of which were really excellent. The steak as a main was also excellent, but I had the scallops and It came with 3 of them... admittedly they were reasonably sized and very tasty but this was a starter portion not a main. So overall I felt mine was overpriced for what it was, but my partner's was actually quite reasonable.

Back to service. When they'd cleared the plates they just gave us the bill ... Felt like they just wanted to try and get rid of us, even though there were 2 other parties left in the bar. And to top it all off the deputy manager came out and after a nice enough chat tried to sell us into staying at the hotel, he said he'd bring us the brochure and we asked not to have it brought to the table but we'd take it (out of politeness) on our way out, and then some other waiter brought the brochure anyway with the bill. Literally speechless! It left a slightly sour taste to the night which was actually a birthday celebration. We hadn't said anything as we don't like fuss for these things but my belief is they should treat everyone like it could be, just in case it is. Shame.


overall - worth a visit if you like a serene setting and don't mind a gamble on portion sizes. Food is better value than the wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KT_1000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Des Orangers - Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Villa Des Orangers - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing