We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Remember!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dubai
Ranked #398 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip to Remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 day (4 night) trip to Morocco during which we spent 3 nights in Riad Dubai in Marrakech. I want to thank everyone at Riad Dubai (especially Said, Mustafa and Hassan!) for making this one of the most incredible holidays we have ever had!

The Riad itself is beautiful and since it's quite small (approx 6 rooms), it feels very homely and special. We stayed in the Joumana suite which was beautiful and though i can only speak for this room, im sure all the other rooms are equally as lovely with their authentic Moroccan design. The riad has a very nice roof terrace which we frequently used for breakfast, dinners and early evening drinks. It was a little cold during November but I think that's fair enough and it was nice enough that we still sat up there in the evening and the team will bring you whatever you need. But if you prefer there's a small lounge with a fire in winter next to the gorgeous courtyard which the Riad centres around. In terms of food, the quality was excellent and as other reviewers have mentioned, Mustafa and Hassan are superbly attentive to your needs and will happily cook whenever you require. wine and beer is also available at reasonable prices.

The best thing about this place is the friendly and helpful service. We had opted to do a Saharan desert excursion (2 day/1 night) during our trip which we booked through the Riad and I had planned to propose to my girlfriend (now fiance!) on the trip. Having spoken to Siad about it via email beforehand, he had arranged to have the room decorated with roses and have a bottle of champagne ready chilled in the room for when we arrived back. It was a great touch to end an already special trip. They are also really helpful in terms of helping you get your bearings. The Riad is about 15 minutes away from the main square and is somewhat hidden in little windy streets although

it's well signposted from one of the main gates and we never got lost, but the team will happily come and get you if you call them and on the first few outings will offer to walk you to a main junction and point you on your way. Really reassuring and you can take a mobile number for emergencies.

I would also recommend the trip over the Atlas Mountains to the desert though it's a long drive they do stop quite a lot - if you don't like slightly rickety old minibuses though it might not be your style but it was so worth it for the scenery and the wonderful night in the desert with the Berbers - the 'tents' are very solid, electric lighting, clean decent toilet facilities and lots of blankets on proper mattresses so don't think English camping style - but it still feels peaceful and special.

My only negative memory was that our planned transfer arrived late to pick us up from the airport which was slightly un-nerving. We called the Riad and someone arrived within a few minutes which was great but its probably worth double checking the transfer and flight times with the Riad beforehand. They hadn't forgotten though so just give it a bit of time before you worry.

Overall the trip was fantastic and was made even more special through the efforts of Siad and the rest of the guys working at the Riad and therefore would happily award it 5 stars and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    73
    23
    14
    14
See reviews for
45
168
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at Riad Dubai in April this year for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Said the owner arranged our airport transfer for us and Mustapha who works at the Riad came to meet us to help us with our bags and direct us to the Riad (you cannot drive directly to the Riad, but once you have been directed once from the road it is very easy to find your way). On arrival Said greeted us with mint tea and was extremely helpful with information on Morocco and Marrakech and also had breakfast ready for us on the beautiful roof terrace. If you email the Riad directly in advance Said can organise trips for you or you can book these when you arrive. Mustafa and Mohammed who work there were really helpful with any information we needed to explore the city and nothing was too much trouble. Riad Dubai is a great base to explore the city away from the centre but close enough to be able to walk to Djemaa el-Fna and feels like a home away from home. Thank you to Said, Mustapha & Mohammed for making our time there so wonderful. I would love to return at some point in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SL_Travels2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Said and his people (Hassan in particular) made it a wonderful stay for us. Very homely and great food. Said arranged a free pickup form the airport. He was also very helpful with information and help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiddMoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

An auction voucher for Riad Dubai was the start of what eventually turned into a 2,5 week trip around part of Morocco.

But, as stated in the title, be aware that there are two properties from the same owner that both go by the name Riad Dubai. The overflow riad as I now call it where we stayed is not the Riad Dubai of which most pictures are posted here and most reviewers refer to.
Said, the owner, recently acquired the riad where we stayed and which is only a few alleys away from the "original" Riad Dubai of which he is also the proprietor. Both go by the same name and I am not aware of plans of giving this second riad another name.
I realised the fact that there are two riads by the same name and owner when on our first night we got sort of lost when we returned after a day in the medina, and when asking people for Riad Dubai we ended up at the original riad where Said, whom we had not met until then, also happened to be. He gave us a tour of the riad and then I started to recognise areas where some of the pictures on the internet were taken.

Now, don't get me wrong, the riad where we stayed was very nice. But it is not as lushly decorated (yet) as the original riad. E.g. on the rooftop terrace there were only a few garden chairs and two tables, and no comfy couches or anything like that.
Our room on the ground floor was comfortable, but taking a shower was a bit tricky without a light.

The berber boys managing the riad were doing a good job, although one of them was a little bit too friendly at times if you know what I mean. There was definitely a language barrier though: one of them only spoke a few words of French, the other a little better and a few words of English. They will say they understand what you've said or asked but you soon realise they haven't.

Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and the arrangements with transfers from/to the railway station were flawless. Just be aware that if you book Riad Dubai based on the pictures you see and the reviews you read your experience might end up somewhat different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
said b, Owner at Riad Dubai, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Riad Dubai is always full due to the service and behaviour of the staff and nice prices, to satisfy our customers we add another riad next in the same neighbourhood, it is called
Dar Dubai, it is also beautiful and nicely decorated just as Riad Dubai, the terrace will be similar with a Berber tent as the one in Raid dubai, they are two twins with different names one RIAD Dubai and second DAR Dubai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I chose this riad after reading the other reviews on Tripadvisor and my partner and I weren't disappointed. Said (the boss) organised our airport transfers for us and when we arrived at the riad we were introduced to the staff that were there and given some basic advice about Marrakech. We were quickly shown our lovely room and left to settle in before getting more advice in the morning before venturing out. Said explained the simplest way of walking into the centre of the town and recommended we took that before exploring the back streets. It's a 10 or 15 minute walk into town. As for food, we ate at the riad a few times in the evening and the dinners and breakfasts were always good. The roof patio area is a lovely place to chill out. There's a real homeliness about this place. We would certainly look to stay here again if we get back to Marrakech in the future sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Exceptionally attractive and hospitable Riad with a great location relative to and within easy walking distance of the old city ! And easy to find on one's return from the old city !
The proprietor Said is a very amusing guy and most knowledgable with a very good command of the English language and the staff namely Hassan and Mustapha are both very pleasant guys who also speak English and are also generally helpful !
We would recommend the Riad highly.
Our visit was fairly recent during early September 2012.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have spend a week in Riad Dubai in September. It was a quite an eye opener for us arriving in the evening through the gate & narrow street. We were led through the street by Mohamad to Riad, greeted & welcome by Said & offered mint tea and pastry. Said explained about excursion & do's & don't about Marakesh how much to pay for photo and so no. We pre order our meal for arrival which was delicious chicken tagine with lemon.

The location is an ideal to explore the Kasbah and Djema el fina. Our room was downstair it was abig room with bath/shower. We felt at home there staffs are marvellous. The breakfast or dinner can be had downstair or at the terrace. The tea & juice can be ordered any time. Mustafa, Hasan & Hadija are there to see all your needs and Said is also there morning & evening. They are all very helpful, first time come with you to show the way & tell the taxi charges as well, very useful.

The Saadian tomb is 15 minutes from riad as you walked out to the main on your right goes towards Kasbah & on your left towards main gate leads towards main square. While one side is traffic other is more enjoyable path watching locals doing shopping. There are shops, restaurant, bakery it is pleasant walk, also there is fixed price shop which is very busy with tourist bus & Saadian tomb is right opposite. It is an experience looking around in fixed price shop, evrything in the shop. It is 20 to 25 min walk to Djema al fina or taxi 20dhiram & 30dhiram to guilez new town. We had a meal in Djemaa twice both were disappointment, once in the square 2nd Aqua cafe which had a certificte of exc of trip advisor. The best meal was in Riad dubai & in Guilez cafe 16 & Bistro T romain tasty food.

It has been an great experince staying in Riad with care & personal service of Said, Mustafa, Hasan & Hadija thank you all & we enjoyed flat pancake which kindly given to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjanakap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.7 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#467 of 512 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#147 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fatouma
Riad Fatouma
#429 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Boutouil
Riad Boutouil
#197 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.1 mi away
Riad Qodwa
Riad Qodwa
#67 of 266 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras
Las Palmeras
#792 of 1,187 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dubai

Property: Riad Dubai
Address: 41, derb amezmiz - kasbah-bab ksiba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dubai 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Kasbah of Marrakech is our beautiful Riad Dubai, 5 different beautiful suites with every comfort, air conditioning, safe, bath & shower, mini bar, SAT TV, internet wifi. Said the owner will prepare a special Moroccan cuisine for you, a terrace is waiting for you to relax and unwind, we organize all kinds of excursions in Marrakech and Morocco, a shuttle service to all airport transfers. Said and his wife Malika are waiting to offer you a pleasant and impeccable holiday . "Welcome to Riad Dubai" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dubai Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing