We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best restaurant in Marrakech for real Moroccan food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Libzar

Libzar
Ranked #7 of 770 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Marrakech for real Moroccan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great restaurant where we ended up eating there several times. All the facilities were good including the rest rooms which is always a concern. Thouroughly enjoyable food and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmirK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    141
    40
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in marrakech!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went here on out city trip to marrakech. The restaurant looks beautifyl inside and out. Unfortunatly the restaurant was not full when we were there, probably because it was during ramadan. Apart from that our experience with libzar was great! The food was amazing, and the staff was friendly and verry professional.

Its not cheap (for starter, main and sone drinks about 70 euros) but we would definetly recomend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janneke1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Level Contributor
355 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Typical of Marrakesh restaurant dichotomy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The food was fine, albeit expensive. In Marrakesh it seems you either pay peanuts for a basic eating experience in places where the locals hang out and which never serve alcohol. If you want something in a more upmarket in setting and licensed you will pay considerably more and probably not eat anything better. This place falls in the later category. Service was fine but we were the only ones in the place until shortly before leaving so there was zero atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a girls long weekend break with my sisters and neice, we went to this restaurant on our last evening in Morocco. It was quiet when we went in but a few more tables filled whilst we were there. I have to say it was the best meal we had whilst we were away. We ordered a variety of dishes between the 6 of us and shared them all. The food was really special, the outstanding dish for me was the Chicken tagine with jelly tomatoes. The owner spoke to us on the way out and we all said how much we had enjoyed the meal. I asked her about the chicken tagine dish and she was generous enough to give me the recipe (with the help of her brother who assisted with translating some of the recipe).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank binc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Doublecheck your bill before you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant following some good reviews on TA but we were quite disappointed. The quality of food is good although the portions are ridiculous, specially for a place like Marrakech where portions are usually huge. The problem started when we asked for the bill and they were charging us some food we haven't ordered. The waiter came three times with the wrong bill and it wasn't a matter of understanding as I speak fluent French. At the end the got the bill right and we could leave. The service had been unfriendly from the beginnig so I wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ESCARZAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libzar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Libzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing