We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very clean, friendly hosts but noisy!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ghemza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Ghemza
Ranked #227 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Valence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly hosts but noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Riad is clean, the hosts are friendly and extremely helpful.

Our problem with the Riad was the noise level. If you want a good nights sleep, this is not the place to stay as the couple have young twins who are fairly vocal.

Having said that, the breakfast is lovely and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Namibia_20112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadGHEMZA, Propriétaire at Riad Ghemza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your compliments concerning the welcome and the help we bring to our guests.
Regarding the noise at night, I want to specify that having come with your three-year-old child, you go to bed every evening at 7:30 pm and require that there is no more noise from this hour. Luckily, in the period you came the other guests went to bed early and there was not noise anymore at about 10:00 pm but one evening, you even asked the hosts who discussed quietly in the patio at 9:00 pm to keep silent and who, surprised, left going to bed. You will understand that it is difficult to impose your requirement to the other customers, knowing that the riad is a meeting place.
As for our twins, they slept at night. Another time when they played and when it disturbed you, it was at the end of the day. It is moreover the first time when a host complains about the noise, the riad being always estimated for its peace.
Be sure that we put all our heart for the biggest satisfaction of our hosts; all the wonderful comments which we receive confirm this is the good choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
103
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I went with a friend to Marrakesh for a few days and we stayed in Riad Ghenza. It was a great experience! We felt really comfortable in our rooms, that were beautiful and extremely clean, a mix of Moroccan and modern style. Also have to say that the Riad is special because of Laurence and Fabien that were always extremely friendly, honest, helpful, and nice. Really cosy atmosphere. Miss the Mint tea in the breakfeast and the chats with Lawrence after visiting the Medina!
By the way, great location, really close to the best restaurant in Marrakesh, Le Fondounk and you can do everything walking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 854Karol854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The riad is very nice, new, clean and decorated in a tipical moroccan style.The staff speaks english and is very helpful. There is a nice home atmosphere in the riad and the breakfast is great. Would stay here again.

It is located in the medina(which is good, very close to the centre and the souks ) but it's really hard to find since is located in the passage that is so easy to miss and there is no any kind of signage. But after one time you get the hang of it and you know your way home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duskam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Ghemza for two nights, the first just arrived in Marrakech and the last before returning to Italy. The house is very nice and well maintained, and the owners are absolutely delicious, friendly and always ready to give information or support for any need.
The riad is ideally located for exploring the medina and the rooms are well appointed and very quiet. Very pleasant as an experience, to recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maumau123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not only is the location of the riad in the heart of city with easy acces to most sights, Fabien and Lawrence are so kind, and so hospitable that it doesn't feel like we were very far from home at all! They always went out of their way to help, Fabien by drawing us maps for guidance, and Lawrence actually walking with us through the routes.
The rooms were very beautiful as well- really, really worth the money we paid! And they have the cutest twins ever! (:

Truly exceptional service, I would recommend readily to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haniiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We choose this riad because of the rating and the comments that he got in TripAdvisor, and in fact it is so good has the people say.

It's extremely clean (witch is difficult to find in Marrakesh), and the owners Laurence and Fabien helped us in everything we need to "survive" in Marrakesh. Fabien draw us a map, that took us from the Riad to the square, witch its more helpfully than the tourist maps. If you have any doubts he will take you himself. When we arrived, it was late hours but Fabien booked us a restaurant for us to eat if we wanted.
The breakfast was really good and complete.
Have internet in all the riad.

Highly recommended for everybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TavaresJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Owners Laurence&Fabien are kind and helpful. Tasty breakfast. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barabari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.4 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#90 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#158 of 502 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Property: Riad Ghemza
Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing