We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The riad!”
Review of Riad Ghemza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Ghemza
Ranked #362 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The riad is very nice, new, clean and decorated in a tipical moroccan style.The staff speaks english and is very helpful. There is a nice home atmosphere in the riad and the breakfast is great. Would stay here again.

It is located in the medina(which is good, very close to the centre and the souks ) but it's really hard to find since is located in the passage that is so easy to miss and there is no any kind of signage. But after one time you get the hang of it and you know your way home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duskam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Ghemza for two nights, the first just arrived in Marrakech and the last before returning to Italy. The house is very nice and well maintained, and the owners are absolutely delicious, friendly and always ready to give information or support for any need.
The riad is ideally located for exploring the medina and the rooms are well appointed and very quiet. Very pleasant as an experience, to recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank maumau123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not only is the location of the riad in the heart of city with easy acces to most sights, Fabien and Lawrence are so kind, and so hospitable that it doesn't feel like we were very far from home at all! They always went out of their way to help, Fabien by drawing us maps for guidance, and Lawrence actually walking with us through the routes.
The rooms were very beautiful as well- really, really worth the money we paid! And they have the cutest twins ever! (:

Truly exceptional service, I would recommend readily to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haniiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We choose this riad because of the rating and the comments that he got in TripAdvisor, and in fact it is so good has the people say.

It's extremely clean (witch is difficult to find in Marrakesh), and the owners Laurence and Fabien helped us in everything we need to "survive" in Marrakesh. Fabien draw us a map, that took us from the Riad to the square, witch its more helpfully than the tourist maps. If you have any doubts he will take you himself. When we arrived, it was late hours but Fabien booked us a restaurant for us to eat if we wanted.
The breakfast was really good and complete.
Have internet in all the riad.

Highly recommended for everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TavaresJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Owners Laurence&Fabien are kind and helpful. Tasty breakfast. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barabari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at this Riad from 23rd May to the 25th May 2012. Although we were only with them a short while Laurence & Fabien were superb hosts. To begin with we arrived just after 9 on the first day and Fabien was happy to chat to us about the sights and sounds of Morocco as it was our first trip. The riad was a refreshing break in a fantastic location right in the heart of the Medina. Fabien then escorted us to a restaurant so we woudnt get lost. The next day we were greeted with a fantastic breakfast and Fabien drew us up a map of places to visit and how to find our way around, Laurence then took us to our first destination. On our last morning Fabien came out with us to find us a taxi to our next destination.

Although ive mentioned we were just with them a short time we really would have been lost without their help. The riad itself is amazing, a quiet haven within the packed Medina. Would really recommened this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I would definitely recommend to stay at Ghemza. Right inside the Medina walls, this is a very cosy Riad, with 3 different rooms you can choose from (all inspired by Marrocos). Tip: The owners are very very pleasant and have a deep knowledge of all the Marrakesh area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
2,134 reviews
2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 499 in Marrakech
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#271 of 499 in Marrakech
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#60 of 499 in Marrakech
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Riad Ghemza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing