We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The riad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ghemza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Ghemza
Ranked #234 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The riad is very nice, new, clean and decorated in a tipical moroccan style.The staff speaks english and is very helpful. There is a nice home atmosphere in the riad and the breakfast is great. Would stay here again.

It is located in the medina(which is good, very close to the centre and the souks ) but it's really hard to find since is located in the passage that is so easy to miss and there is no any kind of signage. But after one time you get the hang of it and you know your way home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duskam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
103
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Ghemza for two nights, the first just arrived in Marrakech and the last before returning to Italy. The house is very nice and well maintained, and the owners are absolutely delicious, friendly and always ready to give information or support for any need.
The riad is ideally located for exploring the medina and the rooms are well appointed and very quiet. Very pleasant as an experience, to recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maumau123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not only is the location of the riad in the heart of city with easy acces to most sights, Fabien and Lawrence are so kind, and so hospitable that it doesn't feel like we were very far from home at all! They always went out of their way to help, Fabien by drawing us maps for guidance, and Lawrence actually walking with us through the routes.
The rooms were very beautiful as well- really, really worth the money we paid! And they have the cutest twins ever! (:

Truly exceptional service, I would recommend readily to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haniiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We choose this riad because of the rating and the comments that he got in TripAdvisor, and in fact it is so good has the people say.

It's extremely clean (witch is difficult to find in Marrakesh), and the owners Laurence and Fabien helped us in everything we need to "survive" in Marrakesh. Fabien draw us a map, that took us from the Riad to the square, witch its more helpfully than the tourist maps. If you have any doubts he will take you himself. When we arrived, it was late hours but Fabien booked us a restaurant for us to eat if we wanted.
The breakfast was really good and complete.
Have internet in all the riad.

Highly recommended for everybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TavaresJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Owners Laurence&Fabien are kind and helpful. Tasty breakfast. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barabari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at this Riad from 23rd May to the 25th May 2012. Although we were only with them a short while Laurence & Fabien were superb hosts. To begin with we arrived just after 9 on the first day and Fabien was happy to chat to us about the sights and sounds of Morocco as it was our first trip. The riad was a refreshing break in a fantastic location right in the heart of the Medina. Fabien then escorted us to a restaurant so we woudnt get lost. The next day we were greeted with a fantastic breakfast and Fabien drew us up a map of places to visit and how to find our way around, Laurence then took us to our first destination. On our last morning Fabien came out with us to find us a taxi to our next destination.

Although ive mentioned we were just with them a short time we really would have been lost without their help. The riad itself is amazing, a quiet haven within the packed Medina. Would really recommened this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I would definitely recommend to stay at Ghemza. Right inside the Medina walls, this is a very cosy Riad, with 3 different rooms you can choose from (all inspired by Marrocos). Tip: The owners are very very pleasant and have a deep knowledge of all the Marrakesh area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#12 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#86 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#298 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#83 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#74 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Property: Riad Ghemza
Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing