We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Riad Ghemza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Ghemza
Ranked #333 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We choose this riad because of the rating and the comments that he got in TripAdvisor, and in fact it is so good has the people say.

It's extremely clean (witch is difficult to find in Marrakesh), and the owners Laurence and Fabien helped us in everything we need to "survive" in Marrakesh. Fabien draw us a map, that took us from the Riad to the square, witch its more helpfully than the tourist maps. If you have any doubts he will take you himself. When we arrived, it was late hours but Fabien booked us a restaurant for us to eat if we wanted.
The breakfast was really good and complete.
Have internet in all the riad.

Highly recommended for everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TavaresJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Owners Laurence&Fabien are kind and helpful. Tasty breakfast. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barabari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at this Riad from 23rd May to the 25th May 2012. Although we were only with them a short while Laurence & Fabien were superb hosts. To begin with we arrived just after 9 on the first day and Fabien was happy to chat to us about the sights and sounds of Morocco as it was our first trip. The riad was a refreshing break in a fantastic location right in the heart of the Medina. Fabien then escorted us to a restaurant so we woudnt get lost. The next day we were greeted with a fantastic breakfast and Fabien drew us up a map of places to visit and how to find our way around, Laurence then took us to our first destination. On our last morning Fabien came out with us to find us a taxi to our next destination.

Although ive mentioned we were just with them a short time we really would have been lost without their help. The riad itself is amazing, a quiet haven within the packed Medina. Would really recommened this as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I would definitely recommend to stay at Ghemza. Right inside the Medina walls, this is a very cosy Riad, with 3 different rooms you can choose from (all inspired by Marrocos). Tip: The owners are very very pleasant and have a deep knowledge of all the Marrakesh area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The riad is in a good location in the heart of Marrakech. Fabien and Laurence went out of their way to assist us in finding everything safely and telling us what to do (and what not to do). Every morning there was a nice breakfast for us whenever we woke up and twice we shared a bottle of red wine with them. I would recommend this riad to anyone going to Marrakech as it is run very well and by very warm and friendly people.
thanks, Hugh/Martine

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed at Riad Ghemza in April 2012. Once I had booked, I had an email from Fabien the owner of the Riad, who sent me directions and also offered to organise a taxi from the airport, (which I would recommend). The Riad is down a small alley and would have been very difficult to find without help. On arrival we were welcomed by Fabien with mint tea and biscuits and given advice directions to places of interest to visit.

The Riad is lovely, very clean and comfortable. Fabien and his wife were extremely helpful and friendly. Not only did they book restaurants for us, but also walked with us to show us where to go. Fabien organised a driver for us when we wanted to visit Essarioua for the day. They could not have done more to help us during our stay. I would recommend this Riad and would also return for another visit myself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Having arrived by pre-organised taxi (€15), our luggage was taken by hand-cart through a busy market and into an alley, then into a narrower alley, where a heavy door hid the Riad. From the hustle and bustle outside, we passed into the peace and quiet of the Riad.

Very clean and modern in an understated way, we found the Riad, a great base for exploring Marrakech. On the less touristy side of the souks, it is a good 15 minute walk to the Jemaa El Fna and has fewer options for dining and nightlife than the more lively area around and to the south of the square.

Fabien recommended two or three restaurants nearby, all of which were nice. Take advantage of his maps too.

The Medersa Ben Youssef is around 300m away, the Tanneries 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thenumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
2.4 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#206 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#249 of 502 in Marrakech
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing